We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay away from the crowds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgopetra

Borgopetra
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mascalucia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borgopetra
Save
You added Borgopetra to your Saves list
Via Teatro, 9, 95030 Mascalucia, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Mascalucia B&B and Inns
Guildford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A great place to stay away from the crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Borgopetra and didn't want to leave. We stayed in Orchard House and loved the place - it was very comfortable and we made a lot of use of the roof terrace for lunches bought from the local shops. The swimming pool area was lovely as were the wonderful Sicilian breakfasts. Nothing was too much trouble for Christina and we enjoyed some lovely meals at restaurants in the area that she recommended. We will go back!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canenero, Proprietario at Borgopetra, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you, Sally.
We are always glad to hear that guests feel comfortable in this old house and that our presence here helps foreigners to move with more confidence on this peculiar territory.
Sicily is an amazing place, a "hyper-Italy" so to say, and things can be rather chaotic...We travelled a lot too (and still do, whenever possible) and we know how a good mixture of independence, insiders' hints, chance and encounters can turn a stay in some kind of experience.
Quiet and interested guests like you (you are among the few ones who boarded the Circumetnea railway!) are very welcome.
Hope to see you in Sicily again,

Cristina & Toto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed 3 weeks in August, we were looking for a quiet and nice place it have some rest and visit Sicily, Borgopetra is exactly what we were looking for.
First of all, the house is beautiful , clean with a lot of space. In addition, Cristina and Toto are the sweetest persons ever, they were taking very good care of us , they know very well Sicily and we had a lot of good addresses with their help. The breakfast is just fantastic. Even visitors were well-behaving and not like tourists you don’t want to meet during your holidays ;-)
The area of the swimming pool and fitness facility is separated from the house which is good for the noise , we enjoyed our time there.
The website describes the area around really well, we didn’t experience any bad surprise. We knew in advance that sand beaches were far from the location but rocky beaches are 15 to 20min from Borgopetra
Exceptional place and exceptional hosts.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This beautiful family house makes an exceptional place to spend a few days recharging your batteries and exploring Sicily. The staff are friendly, the villa beautiful and so restful. On our last morning we had to wait a while for a family member with the car to return to pick us up. Christina, the owner, came out to sit with us in the courtyard, brought us coffee and chatted with us about Sicily and life as if we were old friends. It was a million miles from those soulless, lifeless, modern business hotels which seem to be taking over the world!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We have just come back from a 2 week trip in Sicily, where we travelled fairly extensively around the region. Our last five days were spent with friends, staying at Borgo Petra. After 10 days of travelling, staying there felt like coming home to a little piece of heaven. We took the Orchard house, which was absolutely perfect for 2 couples - two large bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Christina and Toto were wonderful hosts, with just the right balance of guidance and interaction, without making us feel that we couldn't come and go and easily and do our own thing. The Orchard house was brilliantly kitted out, making self-catering really easyand the roof terrace perfect for our sun-downers drinks each evening. Borgopetra's breakfasts were amazing, and we loved lounging at the pool. All round a perfect blend of luxury and homeliness - a very special place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We have just returned from a blissful week in Sicily and Borgopetra. After a short time we felt we were in the company of friends rather tan guests. Chistina, Toto and Marzia (and Marco for one day ) made us feel like the center of their world. I cannot say enough good things.

Breakfast was substantial and delicious often negating the requirement for lunch. Rooms were spacious, comtortable and serviced daily. Common areas were welcoming and relaxing.

We sample all the local restaurants recommended by Christina and were not disappointed by any.

In summary I would say these people care, really care, about your holiday.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
french/aussie in Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Borgopetra exceeded the reviews. Staying there has helped us to understand what Sicily at its best is about. Generosity, history and feel for the terroir. A class act.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We have just returned home from a truly wonderful experience at Borgopetra. We found it through Alastair Sawday, and not knowing Sicily, we were unsure what to expect. We arrived on a Monday (Italian bank holiday) and Christina was kind enough to tell us in advance that nothing would be open, and booked us into a sweet tratoria in a nearby village. Without this advice, we would have gone very hungry. Christina and Toto could not be better hosts, giving advice on where to go during the day, and good restaurants to visit. They went out of their way to make sure we had a good time - even offering us their telepass as traffic in Sicily during August can be bad!
The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, and the courtyard was so quiet, a lovely palce to sit and read or have a drink. Breakfast is amazing, with masses of choice from homemade biscuits and jam to fruit from the garden. The area has some good restaurants and is well placed for the east coast. We loved our stay, and one week was just not long enough. Thank you to everyone at Borgopetra for making it such a memorable holiday.
James and Tania

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgopetra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgopetra

Address: Via Teatro, 9, 95030 Mascalucia, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Mascalucia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Mascalucia
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Borgopetra Mascalucia, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgopetra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.