We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great brunch & cask ales” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cross Oak Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cross Oak Inn
Save
You added The Cross Oak Inn to your Saves list
Penmaen Road, Blackwood NP12 0DJ , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Blackwood B&B and Inns
Uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great brunch & cask ales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have visited this pub twice - the first time, during early lunchtime, I enjoyed a great 'brunch' and the second time, during the evening, I thoroughly enjoyed very well kept cask ales.
The surroundings are very comfortable and the landlord and his staff are welcoming and courteous

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Cross_Oaks, Owner at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thanks ADM120, we very much appreciate your feedback, look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
11
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

First time visit to this pub. A warm welcome and good service from start to finish. Good choice of roasts, plus an interesting veggie option. Food was fine - typical pub grub for starters and mains, but the home made desserts were fabulous. Creamy rice pudding for me, my husband had a chocolate torte which he reckoned was one of the best he'd ever had. Sat in the garden afterwards, a great asset and the new owners are making improvements. Would go again to try the weekday menu.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Cross_Oaks, Owner at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thanks for the positive feedback, really appreciate your visit and comments, look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We popped in for a bite to eat and weren't disappointed. The food was excellent and there was plenty of it! I can recommend the chicken tikka and gammon. If you still have enough room for dessert, there's a large choice of both homemade and bought-in - the treacle tart was superb! The staff were very friendly and attentive and although there was a slight delay with our meals, this was explained to us when we ordered. The delay was absolutely minimal and we wouldn't have noticed if they hadn't told us! A refreshing change from some restaurants I've eaten in. On the whole, excellent service and food and I'd definately recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Cross_Oaks, Owner at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear melliemels,
many thanks, really appreciate your feedback.
Dave, Lesley and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I have been going to the cross Oak for over 10 years and have seen it change hands three times. Over the years the food has always been very good, and we enjoyed many happy times and family meals there. However I went a few weeks ago and was not impressed at all with the food. The staff are great and extreamly friendly however I will no longer be eating there due to poor food. The food a few weeks ago (steak) was not very nice at all. I always have my steak Medium and it came tuff as old boots. There was no flavour and it was VERY well done. I put this down to it being a little busy so I went up there for sunday dinner the week later to give the place another chance, after all I have ate there for years. The sunday dinner was the worse dinner around. The gravy had a strange taste to it and the dinner itself was a joke. You got the following, Meet on plate with 1 roast potato. Then Cauliflower cheese, which I dont like, Sprouts, which I dont like and Cabbage. Yes that was it. Wheres the potatos you ask? I dont know. Carrots and Peas?? who knows. And its not cheap neither for the 3 course!! I went away hungry and drove straight to kfc

Would I recommend? Sadly not any more.

Note to new owners.. New Sunday dinner and New cheif

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Cross_Oaks, Owner at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear danzy100,
We apologize for the two occasions on which you have visited us and our meals have not been up to our usual high standards. We continually receive positive feedback for our steaks on which we are very proud, and we are very sorry that on this occasion that it didn’t meet your expectations. I am also sorry to hear that you found our Sunday lunch disappointing. As standard every meal comes with your choice of three meats, roast potatoes, boiled potato, Yorkshire pudding and a selection of fresh vegetables (normally peas, cabbage, carrots, swede and cauliflower cheese) as well as extra gravy. We also ask guests if they’d like more gravy or veg and unfortunately this didn’t appear to happen on this occasion, for which again I apologise. Unfortunately personal preference of veg is out of our control but we try to offer a wide selection to suit all pallets. On his return from holidays, I will also ask the chef how you were served sprouts with your sunday lunch as these are only served on our Christmas fayre menu. We appreciate your feedback and I hope you will be able to come and give us another chance to impress you and change your opinion of us.
Many Thanks,
Dave, Lesley & All The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

food was 1st class, staff very friendly, cant beat a bit of home made rice pudding. thanks all for the welcome.

selinaphillips

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Cross_Oaks, Owner at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear selina429,
Thanks for your comments, your feedback is greatly appreciated!
Hope to see you soon!
Dave, Lesley and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAERPHILLY WALES
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have visited the Cross Oak Inn at least 20 times in the last year. The Landlord and family are welcoming, friendly and cannot do enough to help! Food is of a very good quality with good sized portions- the steak pie is a favourite! Sunday lunch is also very tasty and not like the mass produced food you get in pub chains- traditional home cooked lunch!
A large beer garden ensures that the children are happy and you can easily keep a close eye on them from the conservatory.
Word has spread how good the food is so it's wise to book a table or you'll be disappointed!
A refreshing change to find a traditional family run pub.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Cross_Oaks, Owner at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear NINJA01,
Thanks for your positive feedback!
We really appreciate your comments and we hope to see you soon!
Many thanks,
Dave Lesley and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

The friendly smile and cheerful greeting of the landlord as we walked through the door of the Cross Oaks in Oakdale made us feel that we had made a good choice for a lunch time visit. We were shown to a table and given a menu with an excellent choice of food. My husband chose 'Whale of a fish' a large portion of cod served with chips and peas, I chose home cooked ham, chips and peas, served with fresh pineapple, instead of the eggs which were on the menu, both meals were freshly and beautifully cooked. To follow I chose White chocolate and raspberry cheesecake, it was from the homemade menu and absolutely delicious.
The friendly staff, atmosphere and good food and drink make the Cross Oaks well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Cross_Oaks, Owner at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear vivienne c,
Thanks for your positive review! We really appreciate your feedback!
Many thanks,
Dave, Lesley and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cross Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Oak Inn

Address: Penmaen Road, Blackwood NP12 0DJ , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Caerphilly County > Blackwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Blackwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional pub with a warm friendly atmosphere. A menu with a wide variety of meals both British and from around the world. Large beautiful gardens to relax in with our real ales and exquisite food. Along with bed and breakfasts at reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cross Oak Inn Blackwood, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cross Oak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.