We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pub food and experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Halfway House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Halfway House to your Saves list
The Halfway House
Upper Gelligroes | Blackwood, NP12 2HT, Blackwood NP12 2HT , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Blackwood B&B and Inns
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Gorgeous food - the best battered fish n chips and scampi I've ever had (maybe!). Lovely beer, lovely service, great location. Little on the pricey side - £11 for Fish n chips but lovely. Definitely would recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
10
17
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
high wycombe
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Chose to stay here for 2 nights after reading the reviews and was fairly disappointed. The rooms are fine but they're missing some serious attention to detail from the staff. Not usually fussy but a few things jumped out during our stay...

- Had to ask for an extra towel (only 1 provided, despite 2 of us staying)
- Handwash bottle was completely empty
- Shower was very weak and temperamental
- Masses of obvious dust under the bed, would have been so easy to hoover up
- Not forgetting the SLUG in our room - welded to the floor and dried out....obviously been there a while!!
- Water left in kettle from previous guests, could have been there weeks
- Room 'refreshed' and bed made up late in the day....after 3pm at least, so still a mess when we came back briefly at lunchtime.
- Used teabags and milk cartons not replaced or even removed from the night before - mugs left dirty.
- TV was spectacularly small - about the size of an ipad mounted on the wall.

The pub has 3 rooms and we were the only guests, so there's no real excuse for the lack of effort. In all fairness the staff were friendly and breakfast sizeable, we didn't eat at the pub but menu looked ok.

We came back at lunchtime on the Sat and the place was overrun by the local Mountain Biking Club (so there was absolutely nowhere left for us 'guests' to park). They were also pretty noist on the Sat morning and woke us up at 8am - it's fine if they're going to meet there, but the pub should ask the mountain bikers to respect their paying guests.

Wouldn't recommend it unless you just need somewhere convenient for the night. Won't be going back ourselves.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I booked a table here for my wife and family for Sunday Lunch. The restaurant was recommended to me by a friend who has eaten here several times.

I booked the table via email and following conformation I emailed again to ask for specific directions, this email was never replied to.

The decor is typical of the olde worldy pubs, lots of brass and pots and pics and paintings, an old wind up gramaphone was my personal highlight. If you like modern, spacious pub/restaurants this is not for you.

Our table was small, round and with mismatched chairs, situated on the upper level. Nice enough if tight.

The menu was made up of 4 starters, either chicken, lamb or beef dinner, plus deserts.

Between us we ordered each of the starters and all opted for beef.

I ordered the homemade Brocolli and Stilton soup. Laughable to call it homemade as it was grainy and had the odd spot of powder in it, also it was warm when it arrived and cool soon after.

My wife had the breaded mushrooms, standard bought frozen and deep fried.

The pate and prawn cocktail seemed to be ok for my daughters.

Then came the main course.

Tthe beef was cold, mass produced i'd wager. Yorkshires were either empty and brittle or full and claggy. But worst of all was the potatoes. They were not roasted, but deep fried. And by the taste, in oil recently used for deep frying fish. The veg was ok, cauliflower cheese was nice. But the main ingredients were poorly prepared and fishy potatoes not a flavour I cared for.

The best I can say is that there was no argument about the quality of the food and I wasn't expected to pay for it. Only what we ate, the starters.

Really poor showing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We needed an overnight stop not too far from Tredegar and, based on Trip Advisor comments, this seemed to fit the bill. The reviews are certainly accurate: this is good value, comfortable, friendly and easily accessible from the main roads. Despite that, the hotel is very quiet.
Positives: Well kept real ale, good food, very comfy bed, friendly staff, easy parking and a lovely breakfast.
Negatives: very few - the inn doesn't open until 6pm and the bedrooms need just five minutes TLC.

We were particularly grateful that we were able to telephone our evening meal order through and have it served when we arrived quite late after a rehearsal 20 minutes away, even though the place was fairly empty (due to an away fixture for the pool team!) and the chef could surely have finished early. All the staff that we met were friendly and couldn't do enough to help. We would certainly stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fourquevaux
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Very friendly place, welcoming staff and local customers.
The rooms are comfortable, nicely decorated and very clean.
The food was very good and reasonably priced. All in all, service, food, atmosphere and people were beyond our expectations.
The french lost at Rugby but we still had a memorable week-end.
Would love to repeat the experience for our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Lovely old inn, very quaint and interesting. Bedrooms decorated to a high standard with very comfy beds. Staff very welcoming and friendly, lots of choice to eat and drink, quiet location yet easily accessible from main routes in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

The people and staff were exceptionly friendly, the rooms are very clean and decorated to a high standard and the bar meals were fab!! The only advice would be to put more milk in the rooms for extreme tea drinkers like myself. I would deffinatly reccommend and stay again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Halfway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halfway House

Address: Upper Gelligroes | Blackwood, NP12 2HT, Blackwood NP12 2HT , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Caerphilly County > Blackwood
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Blackwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Halfway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halfway House Hotel Blackwood
The Halfway House Blackwood, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Halfway House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.