We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and ale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wetherspoon, The John Fielding

Wetherspoon, The John Fielding
1 Caradoc Road | Cwmbran, Cwmbran np441pp, Wales (Formerly The John Fielding, JD Wetherspoons)
+44 1633 833760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 64 Restaurants in Cwmbran
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Donauworth, Germany
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food and ale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Typical Wetherspoon's . Good service and friendly staff. Convenientt for a break during the shopping. Good offers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torfaen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Good pub grub !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Tuesday is steak night here and for £6.99 you get a very flavoursome steak and a drink of your choice. Service is pretty good once you get served - the bar always seems busy. In fact, the whole place was busy so that must be testament to both the food and the drink. We did have a hiccup with our order; they had run out of Aberdeen Angus steaks. The manager, Marcus, came over and apologised and dealt with the situation very efficiently-we cheekily asked for more chips and he cheerfully obliged. The food was really tasty-lovely smokey flavour on my sirloin and the Shiraz was good. Contrary to a previous review, I do find it a bit dark inside and noticed the tables around the windows were all full, but, you get used to it.
So, I will definitely be going for steak night again-see you there ???

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“not family friendly, and rude staff at cwmbran.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

a nice evevning so decided to walk to wetherspoons in cwmbran, 3 mile walk to get there to be served with only one alchoholic drink, because we had our 7 year old son with us. staff there told us we are not allowed anymore alcohol because of the child. we was then told, that if we ordered a meal for every person on the table, which would of cost us around £40 to £50 for the party, we would be allowed to have more alcohol..... this apparently is thier policy...NEVER HEARD OF THIS PATHETIC EXCUSE IN ANY OTHER PUB OR RESTERAUNT I HAVE BEEN TOO. anything to get you to spend more of your money there. so if you have children and decide to stop off at wetherspoons after a day out you will only get served with one drink. no other pub in cwmbran does this, and are all family friendly... UNLIKE WETHERSPOONS. definatley not a family pub, more like spend your money in here or leave.... this seems more like thier policy....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good value food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nice open plan Wetherspoon pub. Small free car park right outside the door. Excellent value and well presented food. Lots of friendly, helpful staff so no need to wait for a long time at the bar to get served. Definitely will be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“best modern nicely lit wetherspoons around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

as a regular customer of wetherspoons all over the country I found this one fantastic, lovely well kept bushes and flowers outside kept immaculate. clean and tidy and i love the lightening in there which is abit darker than norm but sets more of a restaurant atmosphere. staff very friendly, food always good. and even though my order came to the table slighlty wrong they were straight on changing it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wetherspoon, The John Fielding also viewed

 
Cwmbran, Torfaen
 

Been to Wetherspoon, The John Fielding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wetherspoon, The John Fielding, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.