We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super takeaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ambala

The Ambala
Station Road, Ebbw Vale NP23 6TN, Wales
01495 370053
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Ebbw Vale
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
ebbw vale
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“super takeaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Don't letThis very austere looking building put you off.
The new owners have transformed it from a dismal shabby hotel/restraurant/bar/ into a thriving Indian restaurant /bar/hotel.
There takeaway menu is great,you can order online, and prices are pretty much the same as other places in the area BUT.....the quality of the food, after my third meal from them, is excellent,best takeaway Indian food within 5 miles, yes I have tried them all,

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    23
    9
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent waiters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Had a birthday meal here and have to say the food was great ... The waiters were fab ... Especially the two Tredegar boys! Only disappointment was that the tips left for staff went straight into the tills!!!! Will definitely come back as food is fab and so is the location!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales U.K.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Visited for the first time on a Friday, 9 of us in our party. The service was very friendly and efficient, Food was very good too and did not have to wait that long from ordering to being served considering it was so busy. It appears to be very popular and had heard excellent reviews before our visit. Would definitely visit again however would try a different night as it was extremely noisy as it was so busy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“fab food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

great place very friendly staff, a warm welcome as soon as we walked through the door. showed to our table which was in the conservatory great view over the garden festival. order a prawn bhuna for myself,lovely! my husband loves a hot curry and usually orders a phul but didnt have it on the menu so we asked if they could do it and after explaining how hot it would be they made the phul no problem, my husband has had many curries but he said it was the best phul he has ever had.the only little quibble i would have is they have french fries not proper chips.going back again soon!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best indian restaurant around!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I have visited the Ambala on several occasions and every time it has been fantastic!

The food is gorgeous and of a very high quality and is served very efficiently.

The staff are very professional, polite and friendly.

Each time we have visited we have gone through to the bar area after our meal where there is a fantastic atmosphere with people of all ages!!

I would definitely recommended this establishment for a meal or just for a drink!!
Thank you all for your fantastic service ;-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ambala also viewed

Ebbw Vale, Blaenau Gwent
Ebbw Vale, Blaenau Gwent
 
Ebbw Vale, Blaenau Gwent
Ebbw Vale, Blaenau Gwent
 

Been to The Ambala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ambala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.