We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My "Happiest Place on Earth"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Gate Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Gate Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ocean Gate Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Ocean Gate Road, Southport Island, Southport, Southport Island, ME 04538   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Southport
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“My "Happiest Place on Earth"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Who says Disneyworld has to be the "Happiest Place on Earth"? The Ocean Gate Resort is MY Happiest Place! When planning our trip to Maine, I was a little nervous to book outside of my "Marriott Hotels Comfort Zone". Driving up to the resort down the very secluded and heavily wooded road, I was pleasantly surprised to find a well maintained and beautifully landscaped resort. BIG sigh of relief!

The gal in the office was extremely friendly and pleasant, and actually walked us back outside to show us how to drive to our side of the resort. I was very impressed that she didn't just draw it on our map and point "turn over there". IMPRESSIVE!

The trail to our room was a little tricky to manuever our luggage over the steps etc, but we now know to pack lighter for our return visit. Walking into our water-front room, we were both highly impressed by the VERY spacious and EXCEPTIONALY clean room. The view was superb and we couldn't take ourselves away from the private balcony. PEACE AND QUIET!

I am not a "buffet lover", but I have to say, the breakfast provided was quite nice. Everything from fruit, yogurt, 2 types of eggs, biscuits/gravy, and cereals. Plenty of choices for brekfast lovers and non!

We didn't take advantage of the on-site activities, but I am sure if you stay here for more than 2 days, they definitely are a great idea for families and such.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with local directions and ideas of things to see/do. We had no idea some of the things we were hoping to see were so close to the resort! Once you are in the resort, you feel like you're worlds away from the hustle and bustle, but you are only a short drive away from the Boothbay shopping/dining areas and a very short distance to lighthouses and a small beach.

I can not wait to bok my return trip, and I am 100% confident that I will book this resort again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    61
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
79
114
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed in the newly renovated Cedars building - the room was large, spotless, and the view of the water from the balcony was stunning. The whole resort was clean and first rate. Breakfast is served in a lovely dining room and the choices were great. The staff has pride in their resort and personality. The young wait staff at the breakfast room were a pleasure. A real feeling of Maine among the pines and water views. Good opportunities for using resort's canoes and kayaks onsite.

Room Tip: Recently renovated Cedars building is a good choice with balconies over looking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at this resort to relax, and it was wonderful. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. Our room was waterfront with a balcony that we enjoyed relaxing on, watching the boats and birds. We even saw a few minks at the edge of the water below our balcony. We brought our own kayaks to paddle the ocean for the first time. We got to see the lobstermen work their traps as well as mussells and clams in the shallow waters in the coves. The free breakfast buffet had everything you would need. The hot tub was nice as well as the pool.
It would be nice if the resort had a restaurant as well, as we had to leave in the evening to get dinner. The resort is very close to Boothbay Harbor and the Maine Aquarium, so there is always things to see and do. Definitely would stay here again:)

Room Tip: The second floor waterfront rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Quaint and charming locale. The rooms and amenities are not upscale, just basic. Beautiful views but the place mildly needs some updating, such as the putt putt course. Very rustic. Nice breakfast in a large lodge room. No complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We came in August... fair warning - I don't think it ever really gets hot in Maine - at least not near the coast. Having said that, this was a great experience. Let me drone on, and bore you with my review:
1.) They were accommodating - we spent 2 nights with 2 adults and 1 child and added a 2nd child on our 3rd night (she was there on a U-Maine excursion) - and they let us do that and didn't charge us for 4 people except for the last night.
2.) We spent hours canoeing - and had a great time - and saw lots of local birds
3.) My son and I had a major ping pong tournament
4.) We had an ocean view room - at the water's edge - well... at high tide. At low tide - big difference - and enjoyed sitting on the back porch and taking it in.
5.) No one can really come there unless they are staying - it is far enough off the main road that you feel a world apart.
6.) We used the pool everyday. Remember, August, right? Highs of 68 degrees outside. Maine. Brr.... The pool water was warmer than the outside. And the hot tub was great at night.
7.) Every morning we just did activities at Ocean View until around lunch time - when we ambled into town to get food. And that was late. Breakfasts were as filling as you wanted.
8.) They are continuing to spruce up and upgrade

We could have spent more time there. I wish my daughter (the older one who only came on the last night) could have had time to enjoy - but we were only there because of her college trip. Just don't expect a fast pace. This is a place to get away from the crowds (and in August, Boothbay has crowds).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staff was great and made us feel at home. As an informal, woodsy retreat, the resort has a lot to offer for the nature lover and the adventurer, while featuring comfort and sparkling cleanliness and access to a variety of ammenities. The ariel photo may lead you to think that the island is surrounded by a white sandy beach. But instead, it is really a "white" granite rocky coastline that is off-limits on foot, and mostly covered with seaweed in the p.m. at low tide. But look past that, and you will enjoy interesting views all around, and perhaps a radiant afterglow of the sunset, By morning, the tide quietly rises and it's a stunningly beautiful series of coves and islands teaming with wildlife, including an osprey in her nest, a variety of pleasant birds calling, and a harbor seal bobbing his head with a fish. It was fun to watch the kayakers, occasional lobster boats, and sailing craft navigate the waters near and far.
In the old fashioned lobster bake we paid extra for in advance, the seafood was more flavorful than any lobster we have ever eaten beacuse they are steamed with natural seaweed over a wood fire- 2 good sized lobsters each, a doz. steamers, corn on the cob, rolls, salads, lemonade, and delicious wild blueberry cake. Mmm- what a feast!!
We truly enjoyed the clean, fresh water pond. Jim fished while I took out the paddleboat. The blooming water lilies, soft shorline grasses, and interesting protrusions of rock formations I photographed have made artistic scenes for paintings or greeting cards.
The breakfast was good, and hearty, like brunch. But, even though it was included in the price of our room, we elected to have breakfast 2 out of 5 days in town where we had heard of
certain restaurant specialities, and so we could be with the locals.
We would love to come back again, and perhaps bring our son's family when the grandchildren are of school-age. It is also a great home-base for other excursions
of the Boothbay Harbor region.

Jim and Kathie from Rochester in upstate New York.

Room Tip: Lower waterfront bldg. rooms are more handicapped accessible, but you need to drive up to the Pavill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We found Ocean Gate by accident 6 years ago and have been coming back ever since. The views from our rom are excellent (we always stay in the Cedar building). The grounds are beautiful. If you have children, lots of activities for them. We always go canoeing. The breakfasts are plentiful. We tried the lobster bake this year and it was wonderful. Can't say enough good words about Ocean Gate. If you are looking for a nice place with waterviews and canoeing and/or kayaking included, this is a GREAT choice. Give it a try. You will love it!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with the Cedar Building. Second floor gives you a more private balcony. Views fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Gate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Gate Resort

Also Known As:
Ocean Gate Hotel Southport
Ocean Gate Hotel
Ocean Gate Boothbay Harbor
Ocean Gate Resort Maine/Southport
Address: 70 Ocean Gate Road, Southport Island, Southport, Southport Island, ME 04538
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Southport Island > Southport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Gate Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Gate Resort is a 45-acre oceanfront resort surrounded on 3 sides by tidal inlet and less than 3 miles from Boothbay Harbor. The nine buildings are nestled among the majestic pines and perched on the rocky coast line of Maine. All rooms include a full breakfast, refrigerator, coffee maker, A/C, cable TV. On-site free amenities include a heated pool, canoes, kayaks, fitness room, mini-golf course, tennis and basketball court, playground, and stocked fishing pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ocean Gate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Gate Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.