We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Gate Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Gate Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Gate Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Ocean Gate Road, Southport Island, Southport, Southport Island, ME 04538   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Southport
Indianapolis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We found Ocean Gate by accident 6 years ago and have been coming back ever since. The views from our rom are excellent (we always stay in the Cedar building). The grounds are beautiful. If you have children, lots of activities for them. We always go canoeing. The breakfasts are plentiful. We tried the lobster bake this year and it was wonderful. Can't say enough good words about Ocean Gate. If you are looking for a nice place with waterviews and canoeing and/or kayaking included, this is a GREAT choice. Give it a try. You will love it!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with the Cedar Building. Second floor gives you a more private balcony. Views fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    63
    22
    9
    6
See reviews for
82
120
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boonton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were very happy with our recent stay. We stayed in a king room in the Ocean Ridge building, which sits back a little from the main area. We had a great view of the inlet from the window and balcony(which is shared but worked fine). They are still upgrading buildings and rooms and they are on right path, our room was updated and had mini-fridge and pleasant tile bath and was a nice size room. There are kayaks, canoes all available at dock for free and we used them everyday, what a treat going out on the water and seeing the area. The outdoor pool is getting a little run down(vinyl liner needs replacing) but was swimmable and the hot tub was hot and worked fine. A decent buffet style hot breakfast is included everyday and welcome. They also have a decent fitness room and a few holes of mini golf. The staff was friendly and helpful. All in all we were happy and would return.

Room Tip: We liked the Ocean Ridge building for a little more secluded feeling. The Cabin building right next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanGate, General Manager at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your visit with us! I'm glad that you enjoyed your room in our newly renovated Ocean Ridge building. The shared deck is especially popular with groups travelling together, providing them a great opportunity to enjoy each others company while enjoying the great view. It sounds as if you had a nice time on the water with the use of our complimentary canoes and kayaks. Nothing beats the view of the water and islands from your own boat! We look forward to seeing you again!

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

View was stunning but the room was barely 2 star. Very disappointed. Breakfast brunch was soso.
Offered a Twin lobster bake for $32 a head when the excellent Robinson's Restaurant down the street had twin lobsters and the fixings for $16. Paid too much for a fair clean room with a view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanGate, General Manager at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. Although I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the spectacular view, I'm sorry that you did not fully enjoy your room. Regarding the Lobster bake which has been a guest favorite every summer, I believe it is important to do a fair comparison to our authentic outdoor Lobster Bake and that of the lobster dinner at a local restaurant. It appears from your comments that you did not join in our event. I think you would have found that the twin lobsters, steamers and fresh corn on the cob prepared over an open bonfire and combined with a fresh garden salad, rolls and butter, homemade blueberry cake and included beverages to be a much better value than a steamed lobster, an ear of corn and a small dish of cole slaw which was part of the "special" that you described. I'm confident that when most of our guests compare the complimentary offerings here at Ocean Gate including the free hot breakfast buffet, canoes, kayaks, heated pool, hot tub, mini-golf and more they find it to be an exceptional vacation value compared with their other choices. One guest recently commented to us that we should discontinue all of our free, value added amenities as it would give others less things to be disappointed with! :) Although the point was well taken, we'll stick to our philosophy of adding great value to each our guests' vacation budget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our stay at Ocean Gate Resort will be something to remember. The pet-friendly room gave us beautiful views of the bay and wonderful sunrises. We went canoeing around the different areas with our dog and enjoyed the scenery.

We loved the efficiency room and amenities.

The best part was the lobster clambake on Wednesday. The guys who ran it were professional and accommodating. It was delish!

The town of Boothbay was quaint the the people were very friendly. All the stores were pet-friendly and even supplied water dishes for the dogs.

My husband purchased the Lobster Claw Bracelet, which I will always treasure.

We plan to return next year for an extended trip so we can try sailing and cruise boats.

The Dugre's

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanGate, General Manager at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
It was great having you as our guests! I was happy to hear how much you enjoyed the Clam Bake. Jeff has been doing this every summer for us for several years and he and his Lobster Bake are always a crowd favorite.

See you again soon!

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the Ocean Gate in early August 2013 and had an excellent visit. Like other reviews claim, it is a short drive into downtown Boothbay Harbor which is convenient. My girlfriend and I enjoyed the fact that we were not in the middle of Boothbay and got a chance to enjoy a more "nature-centric" experience in Maine (while still having immediate access to Boothbay).

We stayed in the Pine View (we had our dog with us) and the room was fine - nothing extravagant but spacious and well kept. My parents stayed in another building and had a beautiful deck that had a great view of the water.

The pool and hot tub are a bonus and the grounds were beautifully maintained, adorned with flowers. The breakfast was only so-so but did the trick and was certainly plentiful. I also used the gym which (again) was nothing too extravagant but did the trick.

Service was excellent on all fronts - helpful, courteous and down-to-earth folks.

Overall - we enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Pine View rooms are dog friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Staying at Oceangate was great! We loved the view, service and the breakfast was very good. We enjoyed the hot tub and pool and the kids played basketball daily and went out kyaking with Dad. They also had miniature golf, tennis, and ping pong. While on the dock money accidently came out of my pocket into the floorboard of the dock and Cheryl and especially Daria went above and beyond to retrieve it. Thanks

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanGate, General Manager at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. Cheryl and Darja were both quite proud of their accomplishment in helping you to retrieve your money that had fallen between the slats in the dock!

We look forward to having you back!

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Beautifully updated room in Cedar building with great view overlooking inlet. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Manager present every morning at breakfast. Kayaking right off dock was fun. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for an remodeled room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Gate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Gate Resort

Address: 70 Ocean Gate Road, Southport Island, Southport, Southport Island, ME 04538
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Southport Island > Southport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Gate Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Gate Resort is a 45-acre oceanfront resort surrounded on 3 sides by tidal inlet and less than 3 miles from Boothbay Harbor. The nine buildings are nestled among the majestic pines and perched on the rocky coast line of Maine. All rooms include a full breakfast, refrigerator, coffee maker, A/C, cable TV. On-site free amenities include a heated pool, canoes, kayaks, fitness room, mini-golf course, tennis and basketball court, playground, and stocked fishing pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ocean Gate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Gate Hotel Southport
Ocean Gate Boothbay Harbor
Ocean Gate Resort Maine/Southport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Gate Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.