We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great efforts at renovation, but one problem remains...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Gate Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Gate Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Gate Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Ocean Gate Road, Southport Island, Southport, Southport Island, ME 04538   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Southport
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great efforts at renovation, but one problem remains...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at the Ocean Gate Resort on our vacation in Maine. We were very impressed with the renovated ocean view room overlooking the water (in the Cedar building). Everything in the room was new and well cleaned. The bathroom was small, but very clean. Overall, the grounds, the pool, and the recreational facilities appeared well maintained. My husband and daughter enjoyed the kayaks and ping pong. We didn't use the pool, but we saw that it was clean, and many other guests were enjoying it.

Breakfast in the pavilion is a very relaxing experience! What a beautiful setting. The breakfast itself was ok. The eggs were disappointing; perhaps they were powdered eggs, but they were rubbery and watery at both breakfasts. Otherwise, there was a good selection of breakfast items.

HOWEVER - there is one defect that I hope the owners will fix, and that is the septic system. I noticed the septic smell as I sat on our balcony, and it was overwhelming at times. I walked down the lawn, and noticed what I believe were septic pipes just before the lawn area. I could smell the septic smell all the way down to the dock, where it was overpowering. From the end of the dock, I could see a cement box, and a smaller one. I could hear a gurgling sound from the rocks, and noticed a stream of water from a small pipe. Seems like the septic water drains right into the ocean. I don't know if this can be remedied, but the odor was quite noticeable our entire stay. I hope this is on the list of capital improvements for this otherwise nice resort.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanGate, Owner at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Hi Kathy,

I'm glad that you and your family enjoyed the amenities that are all offered complimentary including the canoes, kayaks, mini-golf, heated pool and hot tub. Of course, we are also always happy to hear when our guests make note of the cleanliness and comfort of the guestrooms and attractive grounds. I've passed along your comments to the staff members who work so hard at maintaining the Resort in top condition for your enjoyment including the one regarding the odor so that we can investigate further. We look forward to having you back when your plans again bring you to our area.

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    63
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
82
120
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gladwin, Michigan
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

the rooms are somewhat oudated but clean. Some repairs need - i.e. screen doors didn't close. there are many activities if you are with your family - pool, putt putt golf, tennis. breakfast is average. They do have some dog friendly rooms. some of the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanGate, Owner at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks for your comments. A few of our "economy" rooms are still on the list for renovation including the 4 rooms in our pet friendly Island View building as well as the only non-waterview building, Pine View. I might suggest that you consider trying one of our brand new rooms in the Ocean Ridge building with all new furniture, carpet, drapes, pillow top mattresses and 40" flat screen TV's. Our other buildings have been updated as well with out largest building slated for new beds and televisions early next month. We are constantly re-investing in our property for your comfort and enjoyment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Ocean Gate Resort is family owned and when you stay there you truely appreciate the owners efforts to provide their guests a pleasurable stay. They are very friendly and accomodating. The flower gardens are beautifully maintained and the scenery is fabulous. The availability of kayaks and canoes were the highlight of our stay. We stayed in the recently renovated Overlook Building and were pleased with the linens and furnishings. The breakfast was wonderful too. If you perfer a somewhat rustic, quiet setting outside of the busy tourist area then I would highly recommend Ocean Gate.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanGate, Owner at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
WOW! Thanks for taking the time to write such kind words about your visit with us here at Ocean Gate. Fortunately, your sentiments have been oft repeated and we take great pride in receiving note of the effort that our team puts into making each visit an enjoyable and memorable one for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing, tranquil get-away, this is the perfect place.The experience begins as soon as you drive into the welcoming, tree-lined roadway to Ocean Gate Resort. The owners and staff are always available, friendly and willing to help with your every need. My husband and I spent 5 nights at Ocean Gate relaxing in the pool and hot tub and enjoying the well kept grounds and spectacular view of the bay from our private balcony in the Cedar Building.
Our full complimentary breakfast was another added bonus which we enjoyed each morning in the outdoor pavillion.
We highly recommend this resort for your next relaxing get-away.
Janet & Dave Trefry

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson valley-ny
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

A very attractive setting in the BoothBay area of Maine. Unfortunately the rooms need updating. There is a lack of insulation in the bathrooms which leads to much noise from the water running, musty smells in the rooms and no microwaves. Since only breakfast was served, this proved to be very inconvienent.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms had nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanGate, Owner at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We appreciate the comments about your recent visit with us while attending the spectacular waterfront wedding recently. I hope that you enjoyed the great food, beverage and entertainment provided down at our gazebo and framed by the scenic Maine coastline. You might have noticed that in order to eliminate food odors in the guestrooms we have provided a complimentary microwave at our Pavilion along with plenty of seating for guest use. Additionally, I hope that you found the full, hot complimentary breakfast buffet to be filling and satisfying. We are continually re-investing in our facility with an ongoing capital improvement and renovation program. In fact, we are excited to report that your building is slated for all new Simmons Beautyrest pillow top mattresses and 40" flat screen televisions to be installed in the next few weeks. Our goal is to provide the most comfortable accommodations at the most reasonable price for all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

First time in Maine. Went to a wedding at Newagen Inn but stayed at the Ocean Gate Resort. The Ocean Gate Resort is much nicer with not only TV but air conditioning (which you don't need much in ME). It has a quaint and rustic location. It is very quiet and at times you feel like you are the only one there. Very peaceful and relaxing. It is also very clean. I cannot say enough great things about the owners, Bernie and Cheryl. They are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. If there is anything you need, all you have to do is ask. They are very accomodating. They work very hard and are genuinely interested in their guests. I believe that the Ocean Gate Resort is the best kept secret near Boothbay Harbor, otherwise it would have been very touristy.

Room Tip: The waterfront lodge on the second floor has the best view of the water and is very quiet. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanGate, Owner at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thanks! Sometimes our guests wonder what to expect as they travel down the quiet entrance road but they soon discover, "It's the Maine They Came For"!

See you again soon!

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ocean Gate Resort for three nights in early July, 2012. Our room was on the second floor of the Waterfront Building, and the view of the water was spectacular. The room had a balcony from which we could sit and enjoy that view. There were two queen size beds, which were quite comfortable, and a small refrigerator, which came in handy. My wife has a bad back, and we had asked for a bedboard on one of the beds when we made our reservation over the internet, and the bedboard was waiting for us when we checked in. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was excellent. The facilities included miniature golf, which we enjoyed, an outdoor pool, canoes and kayaks. The resort was about a ten minute drive from Boothbay Harbor, which is a nice town with lots of shopping and some excellent restaurants in which to enjoy lots of lobster. This is a resort which we look forward to returning to in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Gate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Gate Resort

Address: 70 Ocean Gate Road, Southport Island, Southport, Southport Island, ME 04538
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Southport Island > Southport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Gate Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Gate Resort is a 45-acre oceanfront resort surrounded on 3 sides by tidal inlet and less than 3 miles from Boothbay Harbor. The nine buildings are nestled among the majestic pines and perched on the rocky coast line of Maine. All rooms include a full breakfast, refrigerator, coffee maker, A/C, cable TV. On-site free amenities include a heated pool, canoes, kayaks, fitness room, mini-golf course, tennis and basketball court, playground, and stocked fishing pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ocean Gate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Gate Hotel Southport
Ocean Gate Boothbay Harbor
Ocean Gate Resort Maine/Southport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Gate Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.