We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price For The Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Ahoy Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ship Ahoy Motel
Save
You added Ship Ahoy Motel to your Saves list
Southport, Route 238, Southport, Southport Island, ME 04569   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Southport
california
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Price For The Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We got a room that had a balcony with a great views. The rooms were clean although the bathroom had issues which we were told could not be fixed but would try to do their best. The toilet seat was very floppy and the bathroom facet was not screwed down properly. The beds not so comfortable. We loved the location about 10 minutes from Boothbay Harbor.THe coffee shop was a 5 min walk at the hotel. Everything was 1.00 so if you wanted ceral that was a 1.00 then milk was another 1, toast 1.00 , butter 1.oo.coffee or juice 1.oo so for all that you might as well go to Boothbay and get a breakfast special for the same price and alot more food. There are no clockes,coffee maker, kleenex, etc in the room.For the money it was dulable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    9
    4
    11
See reviews for
21
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My best friend and I made a supr of the moment trip to Maine when we found out our Labor Day trip to New Orleans was cancelled due to a tropical storm.

We didnt know anything about Maine but we saw Boothbay Harbor on a map and saw a review of the Ship Ahoy online and decided thats were we were going to go...we couldnt have been happier. The rooms are so cheap and we even got one night of offseason prices. We stayed at the main rooms that are on the top of the hill not directly in front of the water but there is a poarch with chairs and a table that you can sit out on and you can see the water from there. The room had two beds and it looks like something out an old movie but it was exaclty what we needed for 2 nights. The beds are ok but we brought our own throw blankets so we didnt mind.

Its about a 5-10 minute drive to downtown Boothbay but there is also a very delisious restaurant 2 minutes down the road where you can get good seafood and cocktails. The people who run the motel are very nice and helpful. There is even a little coffeeshop if you want a cup of coffee before you head out for the day and everything is only $1.00! I would definetly suggest the Ship Ahoy Motel to anyone heading to Boothbay. It was a great place to stay for 2 nights!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The rooms seem to not have been renovated since 1960 and the beds could be more comfortable. That's the bad news. The good/great news is that the views are about as good as it gets and the value is spectacular. They have in-season rates between $59. and $79/night depending on the view that you want to wake up to. Two of the three buildings are water front with views into the harbor and a spectacular sunrise. There is no coffee maker in the room so next time I'm taking my french press, and the TV gets only 18 stations, but who goes to Maine to watch television? It's a great family owned/operated place. I look forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: I think second floor rooms would give the best views. That's what I'm asking for next trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Very nice place on Southport Island in Maine. Love the quiet of not being right in town of Boothbay. View was beautiful and room nice and clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goffstown, NH
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We left one day early and did not receive a refund! The room was very musty. Luckily it was warm enough for us to keep all the windows open. The bathroom had no hand towels. My daughters sheets had crusty, yellow stains on them. Unfortunately, we did not notice the dirty sheets the first night but changed them the second night. After a sleepless night because of not being able to breath and my skin crawling because of the dirty bed, we decided to check out in the morning. The clerk told me that since I did not tell her the night before we were leaving early, she could not offer us a refund. Needless to say, I would not recommend this motel to my worst enemy!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southport hotels

new england
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The weather was picture perfect. The motel rooms are very clean. The views are amazing as are the prices. The staff are helpful and pleasant. We stayed on business and are returning for a weekend leisure trip soon. So good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

My wife and I have had the pleasure of staying at the Ship Ahoy Motel twice. There are many motels and hotels in the area, but we've found this one meets all our needs in pricing, hospitality and cleanliness. And what a spectacular location! Whenever we're in the Boothbay area, our first choice will always be the Ship Ahoy Motel. This motel won't be featured on the HGTV's show " Divine Design", but if you want affordable rates with a beautiful view of a Maine harbor, this is it.

Ben&Linda

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ship Ahoy Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Ahoy Motel

Address: Southport, Route 238, Southport, Southport Island, ME 04569
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Southport Island > Southport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Southport
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Ship Ahoy Hotel Southport
Ship Ahoy Motel Maine/Southport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Ahoy Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.