We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brookside Villa B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brookside Villa B&B to your Saves list
Brookside Villa B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hadrian's Wall, Gilsland, Brampton CA8 7DA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Packed Lunch
Ranked #3 of 7 Gilsland B&B and Inns
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My partner, dog and myself have just spent the most enjoyable weekend at Brookside. From the moment we arrived Denise was on hand to offer advise and help as to places eat, local attractions and places to go with the dog. The rooms are just the right size with functional furnishings and flooring, and smart en-suites. Breakfast is an absolute delight with a wide choice selection from a full breakfast to continental. My partner in particular commented that the scrambled eggs were among the best she has ever tasted. All in all Brookside and Denise are just about as close to the perfect B and B as you will find. If you are thinking of staying in this part of the world then this should be your first choice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    18
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
73
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

What can you say about a B&B that's thought of everything to make your stay and your walk so totally relaxing. From the booking when Denise only had 4 of the 5 nights we wanted so she arranged another B&B in the village for us to booking us into the local pub for two evening meals when we couldn't eat at Brookside. Then there's the brilliant breakfasts, stupendous evening meals, great packed lunches, comfortable beds and great showers, Brookside does it all. If that was it that would rate a 5 but then there's the extras, the lifts along the wall with Gerry who has so much local knowledge which helped us to see sites that we might have walked past, gave us brilliant advice on what was and wasn't possible and the most accurate weather forecasts (courtesy of the local RAF base). The downside? After this review we might have difficulty getting booked in for our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOOTON, Owner at Brookside Villa B&B, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks - and it was great having you stay with us. And (not) sorry that we beat you 4 - 1!! - but we did let you score first. Hope to see you again with partners. Denise and Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Brookside was lovely and the proprietor was friendly. Breakfast was delicious and really I like the option of making my own toast...I could have as much as I want but really I liked knowing I wasn't going to be served to much and letting the extra slices go to waste. The rooms were well appointed and I appreciated that there was no carpet in the rooms! So often you drag in mud and dirt from the walk (even if you lose your boots at the door) and uncarpeted floors just feel cleaner. The absolute best part of Brookside was the showers. Big showers, lots of hot water, and great pressure. I can't say how much I loved the shower I had there after a day of walking. Highly recommend Brookside for Wall walkers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were booked in here for the evening of our longest day walking the wall - 21 miles. I'd contacted Denise a few weeks before to book in for dinner but due to the length of our walk and the 7pm seating for dinner Denise booked us a table at the local pub. We managed to get to the Brookside just before 6pm and were therefore in time for dinner. The B&B is easy to find from the wall being about a 10 minute walk (although after 21 miles I wish it had been a bit closer). The room was well appointed, spacious and comfortable. The visitors lounge and honesty bar is a really nice touch and nice room to spend some time in. Dinner was really nice - the best garlic mushrooms I've had in a long time! Breakfast was great too. Denise was a really welcoming host and I felt really looked after.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is an attractive Victorian stone building on a quiet country road just outside the small village of Gilsland, and just a small walk from the Hadrian's Walk Path. I found it very clean, and very bright - an enjoyable place to be in. The hostess seemed genuinely concerned that your stay here be satisfactory.

The room I was in, a double en suite, was spacious, with large windows, and splendid views of the garden, the trees along the stream, and the hills beyond. The bathroom was attractive and functional, but it could have done with a small shelf to hold personal items, and the shower water was not as hot as it could have been - tepid at best. Oddly, the hot water from the sink tap was, indeed, hot.

Breakfast included a good range of choices, both hot and cold. The cooked full English breakfast I had was excellently prepared and tasty. They will also do dinner here, and the only seating for dinner is at 7. There is a good selection of menu items to choose from. The Indian style roasted vegetables and chickpeas was quite good, and mildly spicy, as it should have been.

I suspect the problem with the water is of a temporary nature. If that is so, then this would be a good choice for accommodations when in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOOTON, Owner at Brookside Villa B&B, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review. Ref. the hot water - We have a note in all rooms saying "please let me know immediately if anything is not working as it should, and we will get it fixed". We also take the 1st opportunity to check verbally that everything is as it should be. I'm sorry you didn't ask - we would have been happy to show you how to work the temperature control on the shower- we can't help if you don't tell us about an apparent problem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Denise made sure we had everything we needed for our great family break. The Breakfast was tremendous, such great bacon! The evening meal was very tasty. Everything we asked for for our little ones (2 and 4) was provided for. The location was perfect for adventures to the Roman Forts and up to the East Coast. In the evenings, the kids slept and we watched the stars for the gardens at the front! Thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOOTON, Owner at Brookside Villa B&B, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. It’s great to get your feedback when you’re with us, and very special to us that you take the time to write a review once you’re back home. Lovely to meet you all and your little pirate/roman soldier/mountaineer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a spacious room to share with our teenage son. Delicious breakfasts, packed lunches and dinners. You have to be well organised in advance about what you want for meals, but that's fair enough because Denise has a house full of guests, many of whom only stay one night. Denise was very helpful in advance with suggestions about sections of the wall to walk for people of our ability and always offered to collect us should we get stuck at the end of the day. Because of the brilliant AD122 Bus Service along the road nearest to Hadrian's Wall (you do need to know the timetable which Denise provided for us), we didn't need to take her up on her offer but were glad it was there. It's because of this bus service that we were able to walk three sections of the wall but stay in one place. Fortunately we weren't heavily rained on, but there is clearly good provision for drying wet clothes and boots overnight.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the large one at the front but still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookside Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Villa B&B

Address: Hadrian's Wall, Gilsland, Brampton CA8 7DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton > Gilsland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gilsland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookside Villa B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning B&B, combining style and elegance with tradition, at the heart of Hadrian's Wall Trail. Five bright, fresh bedrooms all with contemporary, compact bathrooms in a Victorian villa set in a peaceful hamlet outside Gilsland village. Enjoy a glass of wine or a local ale in the garden with great views toward Hadrian's Wall or in the comfortable lounge in front of a log fire. Then enjoy an exquisite home-cooked dinner in our lovely dining room. Designed with walkers and cyclists in mind, we are less than 10 minutes walk from the Trail. We provide packed lunches, drying room, boot and cycle racks, overnight laundry - and everything else you might need on your walking or cycling holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Brookside Villa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Villa B&B Gilsland, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookside Villa B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.