We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added Alpha Rise to your Saves list.
Kitchen through to dining
Kitchen through to dining
Kitchen through to dining
Welcome to Alpha Rise
Master Bedroom
Alpha Rise
Dining through to Lounge
Gilsland
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
StellaW36...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house gret asking country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We went to walk Hadrian's Wall, we did it all, it was lovely, especially coming home evey night after a long day's walk to Alpha rise.Lovely comfortable stylish and quiet. We al had a great time . The owners were very helpful , kind and thoughtful, with some lovely touches in the house
Would definitely. Go again.
Thank you.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments we are pleased you found Alpha Rise relaxing and comfortable after a long day walking Hadrian's Wall.Keith & Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jecat
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed for three nights in the cottage. It was very well equiped and decorated to a high standard. Keith and Sue greeted us on our arrival and made sure we were comfortable.
It is an ideal base for exploring the surrounding area, very close to Hadrian's Wall.
We would definitely recommend as a base for walking and exploring the area.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Alpha Rise thank you for your comments.Keith & Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Joanne B
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Very comfortable, very smart house - had everything you might need. Very friendly and helpful owners. Great location, too - just minutes away from Hadrian's wall, 15 mins from some of the major sites like Vindolanda and Housesteads, 25 mins from Hexham, 1 hour from Newcastle. We had a great trip.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Very high standard of accommodation, very comfortable
Liked least: Wifi not great - but I guess you can't expect it to be great in a countryside property.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
AngieATri...
Leicestershire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very clean and contemporary home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

What a lovely surprise to find a lovely clean home from home with everything you would need for an enjoyable experiance. We arrived with everything we would need for our stay with friends(6 of us in all) and found the open plan lounge/ dinner/ kitchen lovely. It meant that no-one missed out on the gossip whilst cooking or getting a drink.
It is on a hill with lovely views, and a short walk to the pubs (2 in the village but both very quiet). You do need a car for the shops. Just a tip, dont go with an 02 mobile as there is no signal!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: how clean and tidy it was and the layout
Liked least: heating kept going off and poor wi-fi.
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$711
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Keith W
44 016977 47477
Speaks English
Listed since : Jan 2012
Response Rate: 80 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 5 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing