We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“manila standards; setting good quality standards of hotel in Lipa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Corona de Lipa

Hotel La Corona de Lipa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Corona de Lipa to your Saves list
Hotel La Corona de Lipa
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Km. 84, J.P. Laurel Highway | Pilahan, Sabang, Lipa City, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Lipa City B&B and Inns
1 review
“manila standards; setting good quality standards of hotel in Lipa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

we are very particular with quality of hotels esp in provinces and it's somewhat a surprise that this hotel provides a similar service and experience as those u get in manila.

room is comfy and spacious, even have provisions for extra bed. complete toiletries and room essentials. i admire their effort in providing toothpaste, shampoo, soap and water every day of our stay; which is not always present in hotels in provinces. air con is functioning well and temp can be regulated. bathroom is clean and spacious as well. the tiles are well-chosen for aesthetic purposes, complete with HCG installations/structures.

their room service and housekeeping provides full service, showing signs of thought-out effort and courtesy. the front desk attendant is always there even late in the evening of early morning and assists even the not so common requests (2cups of salt for our experiment #scienceteachers) concierge service is also admirable, it would almost make u feel bad not to give a tip.

an added bonus is it is a few steps from SM and 5min away from another commercial location near Robinsons. It is also a quick ride from city hall. we absolutely loved the comfort of having to just cross to get to the mall and most of the things we need are there.

we stayed here for 2 nights c/o our generous host from Lipa Academy. and we will definitely recommend and come back here every time we are in Lipa. Thank you! Great job!
~len

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
9
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

After an hour and a half traveling by bus from NAIA airport I reached hotel Corona de Lipa, situated just across the road from SM mall in Lipa city. Since I already booked, check in went fast, I went to the room, located in the back. The room was clean and looked very nice, so was the bathroom. Unfortunately no water cooker, but ordering a tea or a coffee at all hours is possible. The free wifi was inclusive, so was breakfast. Breakfast is simple but reasonable, makes you going for the day. Staff is, as always in the Philippines, very accomodating and friendly. I would definitely come back here again on my next business trip.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quiet, but my guess is the whole property is. although situated near a highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a nice place, an excellent value for the money! Staff is great, they have a car and driver that can pick you up at the airport for 4000 pesos or take you where you want to go, and is right across the street fro SM Lipa mall, so you can shop or eat whenever you want. Very friendly staff, very clean rooms. Pool is nice, has free Wifi, and also free breakfast is very nice. Highly recommend...been there 2 times already.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lipa City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The hotel is located along a national highway in the city's main business district where a lot of establishments surround. One particular establishment is the SM mall just across the hotel traversible by a footbridge in front. For this, I think, the hotel is ideally located.

The hotel's lobby is small and good only for short waits but welcoming and clean. The staff are friendly and accomodating providing customers with good service with warm smiles.

The room we took is just at the landing of the stairs on 2nd floor. I noticed the floor's hallway is very small and yes, I thought, hallway noises can be heard from the room. Lucky for us though, we heard no noises from the hallway during our stay (it could be because no guests were talking while walking the hallway during that time).

The room we stayed in is clean and spacious enough for a couple. A welcome drink (Iced tea) is ready. The room has a cable tv, a fridge, and a hair blower (which made my wife thankful for). It has a balcony offering a good view of the hotel's driveway below, the highway outside and the mall across. The balcony is complete with table and chairs and good accent lightings. We thought of it as a perfect place for a drink and chat so we bought some drinks and chat until late night. It was fun. Though our room is located fronting the busy highway, you can not hear the noises outside at all, so we were able to rest well.

The next morning, we went to the hotel's restaurant, just beside the reception lobby, for the complimentary breakfast. The restaurant is beautiful and has a homey Filipino appeal. You can choose between Filipino and American breakfasts for your meal. I chose Filipino and my wife chose American for us to have a taste of both meals and compare. The Filipino breakfast consists of rice, beef tapa (a Filipino viand of specially marinated beef chunks/strips boiled or fried till cook) and egg; while, the American breakfast consists of simply 2 or 3 loaves of bread with butter and jam with some side dish. These of course comes with a choice of drink. The food was good and we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Better choose a room with balcony overlooking the outside, ideally the roadside, for you to fully en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati City, Philippines
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Its a pretty old hotel, the first one in Lipa City. The small pool is freezing even in summer and while it's clean, I,don't see anyone swimming, ever. I frequent the place as I have business interests in Lipa. I have not only stayed overnight, I use their coffee shop as a meeting place because location is so very central.

The coffee is good, Batangas local bean but nothing else much is as good. The so called breakfast buffets is pretty sparse. Only scrambled eggs and bacon and toast and fish. Buffet because it's all you can eat. Phew.

They allow smoking in rooms so it's hard to find one that doesn't smell of stale smoke. It's for ths reason that I now stay elsewhere,,there Are two brand new hotels just a few hundred meters away and these are newer, nicer room facility.

Service at La Corona is good. In this, long experience in running a hotel does show! But overall, it's run down and with new competition, is ready for a huge renovation. Their rates are the lowest for this type of inn so they still do ok. Mi personally would chose the newer kids on the block.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

My sister and I stayed for 4 nights in this Hotel in February 2012 and the service was fantastic. We stayed in one of their Executive Suite and it was so roomy and very clean. The cost was $60AUD per night and even discounted on weekdays. The staff provides you everything you require and we loved the room service breakfast with a choice of either American or Filipino breakfast. Although on our first stay here ten years ago the quality of breakfast was much better then. We loved that you can just go across the overhead footbridge to SM Mall and enjoy the luxury of an awesome shopping center. I will definitely stay here again when I visit Lipa City again. Thank you for the hospitality of the Filipino staff.

Room Tip: Executive Suite 102 and much better if you can get Suite 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Located across the Lipa SM Mall, Hotel La Corona de Lipa is a standard local establishment in a standard small Filipino ‘city’ in the Batangas Province (city is an overtly overstated word in the Philippines). The Mall can be accessed via an overhead footbridge that is located right in front of the hotel (not pretty). The employees are friendly, eager and try hard to please but not always easy to communicate with, and the establishment is clean and tidy. However, sitting beside the busy J P Laurel Highway, with no distinguishing character or service, it has little to offer to patrons seeking leisure and pleasure, and probably attracts customers who are in Lipa City on business. The standard rooms are small (others not inspected) and have the tiniest bathroom imaginable. Basically a small cubicle containing a tiny sink, toilet and shower (no curtains/enclosure), with no room to move (the toiletries are placed on top of the toilet cistern)- certainly not one for the claustrophobic, and the architect/designer was obviously not one. One cannot take a shower without giving the whole ‘space’ a good wash and that is not a good feeling- could vie for the tiniest bathroom contest (and probably win) if there were one.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Corona de Lipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Corona de Lipa

Address: Km. 84, J.P. Laurel Highway | Pilahan, Sabang, Lipa City, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Lipa City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lipa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Corona de Lipa 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Batangas hotel’s 38 air-conditioned rooms are basked in a quiet, intimate ambience, made even cosier with the presence of modern amenities.Each room is furnished with cable TV, mini-bar, stereo, telephone, and dryer. The room also comes with a private toilet and bath with hot and cold shower.At this hotel in Lipa City, Batangas, newspapers are delivered daily to rooms, while ironing boards can be requested. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Corona de Lipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Corona De Lipa Lipa City, Batangas, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Corona de Lipa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.