We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Impasse du Temple

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added L'Impasse du Temple to your Saves list
L'Impasse du Temple
Impasse du Temple, 09600 Leran, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Leran B&B and Inns
sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this B&B after recommendations from several friends and good reviews on tripadvisor but found some aspects disappointing. The rooms and garden are lovely and everything is very clean. People thinking of staying there need to be warned that there is absolutely nothing else in the village to do so unless you just want to sit and read a book be prepared for a fair bit of driving. There are lots of great things to visit within a couple of hours drive so you definately need a car. The other problem is that there is only one bar in the village which serves food and it was closed for the whole 3 nights we stayed so there is no where else to eat. The nearest town with restaurants is half an hour away so bad luck if you like to enjoy a bottle of wine with dinner! The B&B advertises that they provide dinner on request any night however we discovered this was not true. The first night we had prearranged dinner and it was provided for us and another couple. The other couple advised us they had been offered dinner each night of their stay but when we spoke to the owners the next morning they said " oh we weren't intending on cooking dinner for you tonight and tomorrow night is choir practice so we won't be cooking then either" .After returning from a full day sightseeing we then had to drive to the next town where only 2 restaurants were open! for dinner each night. Be warned don't expect that just because they advertise dinner on the website that they will bother to provide it if they have something better to do! This is a lovely part of France with lots to see and do and there are much more interesting villages to stay in so avoid this one!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We recently had a big two day wedding in the Ariege in southern France and on the second day we decided to have a BBQ at L`Impasse du Temple for about 70 people in their beautifal gardens. The hosts John and Lee-Anne excelled themselves and presented an immaculate venue and sublime cuisine. The gardens were well tendered and was the perfect back drop to our special day. The BBQ was organised superbly by the hosts and the cooking was of a standard expected in some of the top restaurants of the region. All guests agreed that it was one of the finest BBQs they had experienced and all the credit goes to John and Le-Anne.

We stayed in the Gite for two nights after the wedding and it provided the perfect relaxation after the busy preceeding days. The Gite is homely, cosy yet spacious and provides all the facilities to be a home from home. Although we only spent two days there, it would be a perfect base to explore the region for a longer stay. We highly recommend it.

As if that wasn`t enough we also had a family meal for 10 on the Monday night in the main building of L`Impasse du Temple, again the food was fresh, inventive and cooked to a very high standard.

We cannot speak highly enough of our hosts, they provided a perfect venue for our once in a life time event. There openess to our demands and expectations was never ending and we both thank you greatly.

Room Tip: The Gite is fantastic, right next to the swimming pool. Perfect for a family holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We recently arrived back from a few days stay with John and Lee-anne and wanted to say what a great time we had. We where warmly welcomed on our arrive and all our needs catered for. Even 4 umbrella's to get us back from the bar for our evening meal, delivered by our barefooted host. We particular want to thank Lee-anne for looking after Shirley's gluten free diet at every meal. We thoughly recommend a visit. We wish them well and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We booked L'Impasse B&B for a week, needing a completely relaxing break, and it was perfect. John and Lee-Anne are lovely-getting just the right balance between being friendly and attentive and yet in no way intrusive .The art of synchronised table waiting has arrived ! We felt so cosseted, having a delicious meal served to us on the first night in their gracious dining room, but with no formality.Candle light and soft music added to the romantic atmosphere. Lee-Anne is an outstanding cook, using fresh local ingredients and creative recipes. John's wine selection is good too. Breakfasts are wonderful and served at a time to suit the guest-everything from fresh melon slices, rhubard compote, mueslis, croissants, rolls, ham, cheese, etcetc all very fresh. Excellent coffee too or any manner of tea! Evening aperitifs were served in the fascinating old courtyard( which was once a temple) with tasty nibbles. Dinner can be booked in the morning for that night and are well worth it if you want a full 4 course meal including coffee. Alternatively there is the Rendezvous Bar across the way which offers good value lunch and evening meals, as well as great live music evenings from time to time.
Our ensuite room was large and airy, double aspect with classic french decor to suit this historic house. The big bathroom enjoys the luxury of a fabulous deep bath and a separate shower and always loads of hot water. What makes this place stand out is the attention to detail-cosmetic pads and tissues in the bathroom, a little bowl of sweeties on the mantelpiece,chairs and a table by a window, a comfy bed, gorgeous towels, smart bed linen, tea and coffee stuff (fresh milk on request). There is masses of tourist info, books to read and use of the computer, although they have wifi anyway. Outside, there is a large garden with herbs and flowers and tall trees so one can find shade or sun; not forgetting the lovely salt water (no chlorine) pool. Just writing about it makes me want to go back-and I'm sure we will.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My wife and I spent 3 wonderful days at L'Impasse du Temple, Leran and now place on record our delight. Beautiful, friendly, attentive, warm... We will return! We recommend it as a place of peace with kind and thoughtful hosts and a delicious breakfast.. Many thanks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Just back from a couple of days in Leran. We have stayed in many, many B+B's all over Europe and this is up there with the best ! Can not fault it. Superb hosts, great food and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

The accomodation is very good. The Chef is brilliant, and the waiter, come odd-job man, is excellent (Our Hostess and Host Lee- Anne & John)
We were lucky to be able to eat dinner outside within the walls of the old ruined chapel amongst the flowers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Impasse du Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Impasse du Temple

Address: Impasse du Temple, 09600 Leran, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Ariege > Leran
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Leran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Impasse du Temple offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation in a beautifully restored maison de maitre (1850) in the lively village of Leran. Perfectly situated for visits to Cathar chateaux, walking, riding or driving through the Pyrenees, or just to discover this gem in a hidden corner of France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Impasse du Temple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Impasse du Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.