We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, bad reception” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aux Bougainvilliers

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambalavao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aux Bougainvilliers
Save
You added Aux Bougainvilliers to your Saves list
Antsinanamanda | Face Gare Routiere Antsinanamanda, Ambalavao, Madagascar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ambalavao
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good hotel, bad reception”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel is centrally located and has a nice garden. The rooms are large and clean.
The restaurant serves tasty food and the service is friendly. The problem with this hotel
is the reception. If you come with a problem or ask for an advice they will not even look at you
and give you the impression that you are not welcome at the reception desk.
If you need some advice try the little travel agency just in front of the entrance of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    18
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here at short notice, as we failed to reach our destination in the Anringitra mountains. We arrived at 7.30pm in the dark, and left before breakfast in the morning, so we can't comment on the breakfast, but our dinner was absolutely fine-nice chips (for when you're fed up of rice!). Our room was absolutely fine, quite basic, but the bed was comfortable, and we slept well. We did wake up at 6am to the sounds of a choir singing, and never did work out where it came from, but it was quite pleasant. The lighting was of course poor, as with most places in Madagascar, so always take a head-torch or book-light. The bathroom was quite basic, and I have to admit that we forewent the shower, so we can't comment on that. The hotel itself was set in some gardens with Bougainvillea trees (hence the name) and poinsettias, so it was quite pretty. The paper making 'factory' (just a few lean to's around a courtyard) is worth a short walk around, and the gift shop is nice for a few souvenirs.
It's a perfectly adequate budget hotel, just don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
230 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We spent a couple of night here on our trip through the highlands. We chose it for its central location and based on recommendations from a friend. It is indeed very central, only a block from the main street through town. The hotel sits within a walled compound, no views but a pleasant enough courtyard inside, a peaceful oasis in a chaotic town.

The room was very basic but clean. Our room was very dark, both day and night – not many windows and low watt lights. Not really very welcoming rooms. The bathroom was also very dim with just one small low watt light and no place to put toiletries. The shower was warm but had ridiculously low volume – just a trickle of hot water. The locks on our door were faulty and it would have very easy to break in. There was no daily cleaning service, no TV, no AC, no fridge, but there was a fan. There was a barking dog somewhere nearby that kept us up during the night which was a real nuisance.

The hotel staff really weren’t all that friendly or helpful. The restaurant service was really slow and inattentive, however the food was excellent when it actually did come out.

For $22/night, you can’t complain too much, but we felt that this hotel was fairly average and we’d probably look around for something else next time around.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We only stayed for one night at the Les Bougainvilliers hotel as part of our Voyages Jules Verne tour of Madagascar. The hotel was not great but equally there were no major problems.

We occupied one of the bungalows. There were four in the terrace with a communal area outside where you could sit and enjoy a drink whilst the sun went down. The bungalows are a reasonable size and are clean however we did have trouble finding an electric socket so that we could recharge our cameras. In the end we found one solitary socket hidden behind a bed, so we had to move the furniture and take it in turns to charge our cameras and video camera.

The restaurant food was not inspiring at dinner time, but nor was it of poor quality. The malagasy red wine on the other hand was the worst that we tasted during our two week tour. This is definitely a place to drink beer of soft drinks with your dinner. I would strongly recommend that you take a torch with you to dinner. We suffered a power cut whilst we ate and it took a short while before the staff came around with candles.

Breakfast was a simple affair. They did not even turn up to serve us until after the allotted time and, by the time tables had been laid and crockery and cutlery put out, it was some 15 minutes late before even the first of the food had turned up.

The on site paper factory is fairly interesting if you have not seen it done before but is nothing to write home about.

All in all this is an okay hotel. If you are looking for a convenient break whilst travelling along the RN7 road then this is about as good as you are likely to get in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Complexe agréable avec des chambre propre et rénauvée.
On bon rapport qualité prix.

Room Tip: Better to be there by day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

The correct name of this place is Hotel aux Bougainvillees and it is located near the center of Ambilivao, almost across the street from the taxi-brousse station. It is a clean, comfotable place to stay and probably the best option in town. The rooms are reasonable, fairly clean and quiet enough. The on site restaurant serves a decent breakfast and dinner, there are not too many other options around town. This area is known for Zebu cattle, so I would recommend ordering it at this place. There is also a gift shop and paper factory on site, which is popular with tour groups that tend to stop here for lunch during the day, but generally do not stay overnight. The hotel is only about 12kms from the Anja Reserve, so the hotel is a good option if you are visiting this private park.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

The room (we had a bungalow) was fine, as was breakfast, but dinner of poor quality (though we didn't have to wait a long time, as others report). My husband's Zebu steak was OK, my spaghetti and 'tomato' sauce nasty - a large plate of spaghetti, topped with a small dollop of a vaguely reddish sauce, which may or may not have ever seen a tomato (perhaps a particularly nasty brand of tinned condensed tomato soup, undiluted?). The 'Chinese soup' was pot noodles with some omelette strips as garnish. Our Bradt guide lists several other hotels with restuarants - if I ever went to Ambalavao again, I'd try to eat dinner at one of them.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aux Bougainvilliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aux Bougainvilliers

Address: Antsinanamanda | Face Gare Routiere Antsinanamanda, Ambalavao, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Fianarantsoa Province > Ambalavao
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ambalavao
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "Aux Bougainvillées" is located in Ambalavao Tsienimparihy on the National Road 7, 56km from Fianarantsoa. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aux Bougainvilliers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.