We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what it says on the tin” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Didim Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Didim Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Didim Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Parlamenterler Yolu 3, Altinkum, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Altinkum
warrington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not what it says on the tin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

hotel looks very grand but thats where it ends has dogs roaming about the hotel some ugly looking brutes at that. crapping every where food was ok asked for a low floor on booking so they put us in the attic did move us to its sister hotel the elegance into a box room with a window into the shower from the bedroom didim not the best beach in turkey by any means you have to watch where u sit as the dog crap is under the sand only seen thomas cook rep once in two weeks and then she was about as much use as a chocolate fireguard when we asked questions we were told end of season what ever hotel was cleanish could have been cleaner tho waiters only cleared table when they were running out of glass,s and cups overall not a very good holiday and like a lot of other people we spoke to we could not wait to go home

Room Tip: book some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    412
    265
    173
    179
See reviews for
789
255
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Overall great holiday sept 19th - oct 3rd 2013 Stayed here with my husband and two children
aged 16 and 9 arrived early hours of the morning checked in quickly and went to our family room which was comfortable plenty of room . the maid cleaned every day and left clean towells daily .
the grounds of the hotel are lovely there is a main pool area where they have the dolphin pool which was very busy lots of families with young children . they have an entertainment team to keep everyone busy the music can be a bit loud but if you want to get away there is a relax pool for adults only which is lovely and has great views out to sea .the private beach is small but ok you would need to get up early to get a sunbed there is also a jetty you can sunbathe on which is lovely but you do have to pay extra to use it which is a shame .the food was nice lots of choice always chips avalible for the kids and the mash potatoe is lovely .not sure why there are so many complaints about the food you are in turkey is bound to be different however still couldn't belive how greedy some people can be plates piled high with food and a lot was wasted .there was also a snack bar where you could get burgers and chips and salad from 12-5 my youngest ate there a lot .ice cream was avalible for the children once a day between four and five oclock .I was a bit disappointed with the welcome meeting wasn't told about the kids club found out most things from other guests .it took us 4 days to find out where to get the kids free icecream .the night entertainment wasn't great but you can catch the bus from outside the hotel and go into the main town where the bars have breakdancing shows this isn't until about ten oclock . the staff here overall are friendly and are always busy .be careful on the slides as had heard of an accident before we went and did see a man who badly injured is leg while we were there .
overall had a great time and would go back .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A big Disappointment!!!
I would like to say before giving details of my review, my partner and I went to our travel agent with a specific budget around 4 months before we wanted to travel, we advised what we wanted out of the holiday and she recommended the Didim Beach resort. Looking at the photos on line it looked amazing but in hindsight we should have done more research, read more reviews on the hotel ourselves, as we really think this was the wrong hotel for us, more for families. However I personally would still rate this hotel 3 star at best.
We had a 4 ½ hr flight then a 2 hour transfer to the Didim beach, combined with check in time at our home airport, the free for all queue at the Visa and passport control and waiting for our suitcases, then a 30 minute wait on the transfer coach waiting for other passengers it had been a very long day!! We arrived at 2.30am only to meet another queue at reception, were asked by the unfriendly, unhelpful reception staff to fill forms which were very confusing! A porter helped us take our cases to our room, when we got in the room it was a tiny room with 3 single beds, which I think must have been the promo room which the travel agent originally booked for us. However we paid £50 extra to get a standard double room. So we rang reception and were told to go to reception in the morning and they would sort it then! We weren’t happy with that response, so we headed back to reception. Reception checked our booking on line and said yes you should have a double room, (so why were we given the other room!!) They advised us the double room was in the next building ( the Elegance) and given our card key. We were then left to our own devices to get over there with our luggage by this time 3am. The only entrance we could find in the dark had no ramp just steps, so struggled with cases etc. The reception area of the elegance is beautiful but not a sole around, no one on reception, so my partner then had to search out which floor we were on. The room we were given was a double room, a separate living area big bathroom and balcony. There were 2 flat screen tvs, 2 fridges some drawers and a tiny wardrobe with a few hangers! The pictures of this room online were obviously taken just after they had been redecorated as the wear and tear was showing now including the cigarette burn on the sofa.
All meals are in the main restaurant apart from al a carte which is in the Elegance, there is also a snack bar a beach bar and a lady making pancakes which were probably the most delicious thing I ate at the hotel! Again the online pictures make the restaurant look very nice, however it is nothing more than a canteen. The waiters are there only to clear tables as fast as they can for the next people to sit at. You had to walk around to try and find a table as you were never sure if they were in use or not. If you did find a table you didn’t dare leave it or the waiters would have it cleared before your eyes. The food, I found edible, just, but very limited & Bizarre choices, Chips for breakfast? Boiled chicken? Lots of macaroni! When you did find something you might have liked it was luke warm or cold. The cooking stations did grilled fish, chicken etc but there was always a queue, if you like to sit and have a meal with your partner thats no good as one would be finished by the time the other was served. I have also never seen so much food wasted, certain nationalities had their tables full of plates overflowing with food. Most of the time they would walk away leaving half the food not eaten. The snack bar has very basic food chips, burgers, salad. We booked the Al a Carte hoping for a lovely meal but it was a disaster. We were first to arrive at the restaurant we were shown to a table which had the starters already on the table! We were offered a drink then the restaurant started to fill up. After finishing our starters we noticed others had their tables cleared and were getting their main meals, We also then received our main before the starters were cleared away. The waiters were running around trying to serve people but it was just total chaos. We asked for another glass of wine 3 times which was to eventually arrive after we had finished our meal. The food was ok but nothing special. We ended up eating out 3 times overall which was an expense we hadn’t reckoned on... being all inclusive! Even the restaurant we went to said ah yes after 3 days sick of food at Didim beach!
For some reason this hotel seems to attract large groups of people, extended family’s etc all of whom seemed to like the main pool area near the bar where they could get their first alcohol of the day at 10am!! After working hard for this holiday we wanted some peace and chill out time so headed for the relaxation pool we got sunbeds ok although most had towels on, and then the peace was shattered with kids jumping and diving in the pool and screaming at each other. Apart from this being the “relaxation” pool there were 2 notices up stating no children allowed in the relaxation pool!! After searching everywhere our only option was to go to the jetty. This attached to the beach has a bar and the most comfortable sunbeds, however you have to pay 10 lira each per day, another expense we weren’t expecting however it was worth every penny to have peace and quiet, we spent the rest of the week there!
Other noticeable issues were, the public toilet's always ran out of toilet roll, the coffee machines were always breaking, the staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful apart from 2 I could count. If you asked for water in your fridge it was in a glass jar and it looked yellow so we bought our own from a nearby shop! No dress code in restaurant especially on an evening, I don’t want to see other peoples body’s while i’m eating.
So If you don’t mind unhelpful, unfriendly staff, constant noise, lying on a sunbed 2 inches away from the person next to you, chips for breakfast, boiled chicken and cold pasta, and spending more than you need to as its not that all inclusive, then this is the hotel for you!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here back in June with my female friend and my 5 year old son. I can't really fault it on anything; the hotel is beautiful, plenty of sun loungers, loads of entertainment throughout the day with pool games and music, turkish spa was good - made use of it twice infact!

There was a huge variety of food choices, lots of salads, freshly made bread and food cooked fresh outside at every meal time, waiting staff work their butts off and are very attentive, we had our favourite table outside saved for us a few times with our regular drinks already on the table!

The best things about this hotel are the animation team and Thomas cook kids club. They all made this holiday for us!

The rooms were cleaned and even tidied daily!

Overall it was just amazing for the money. I've paid more to stay in so-called 4star hotels in spain at half the standards of Didim beach.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forfar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

we are a family of 4, first time in turkey. hotel was fantastic, staff were fab but the food. well i wouldnt even feed most of it to my dog. spoke to a few people that had been going to the hotel for years and they said they would not be going back either because the food was that fab. didnt cater for the brits. i do recommend the marina pub along a wee bit from the hotel and the shop as the staff could not do enough for you and really friendly. will defo go back to the area but not the hotel. this was our first time all inclusive and it will be our last.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Im going to give this hotel an honest review regardless of my own experience there.

Been to turkey for the past 10 years however only ever been to icmeler. We decided this year we would try somewhere different and the pictures on the net looked lovely so booked from 19th septemeber till 3rd october.

Bar staff extremeley friendly especially Sinan who would go above an beyond for you. Entertainment staff lovely and did there best to keep the guests entertained, however, I think the hotel management need to look at the entertainment plan as there was Bowls, Darts, Water polo and aqua gym every morning and afternoon. During this period, (roughly an hour) they played decent music but the rest of the day the low volume music was terrible (not quite opera but not far off), this drove me round the bend . The evening entertainment consisted of a kiddies disco at 9-10 and then adult entertainment from 10.30-11.30 quite poor adult entertainment which was cancelled a couple of times because they had staff shortages.

If you wanted a sunbed you had to be up at the crack of dawn to get your towel down.

The hotel has a private beach however the steep incline back up put us off visiting very much also the beach isnt a beach it is all rocks and no good for kids.

The pier which is advertised as part of the hotel, is infact not part of the hotel and you have to pay to get on it.

Food: I am a picky eater so no matter what was put on I was never going to like, however my husband will eat absolutely anything, all i can say is if you like chicken and chips everyday then this is the place for you.
The snack bar has chicken burgers and chips throughout the day and there is also a pancake bar which is down near the adults pool, never sampled them myself but was assured that they were amazing.

Rooms are very basic but to be honest they are only used to shower and sleep. The maids did fantastic figures made out of towels a few times which were beautiful.

Due to the lack of entertainment we found it necessary to catch the bus into altinkum a few times, the bus stops right outside of the hotel and costs 2 lira per person. You need to ask for Dolphin Square as this is where all of the restaurants and shops are.

To sum the holiday up: We spent the first week moaning that we were board however we met some people on the second week and had a great time. I guess the holiday is what you make of it yourself.

General appearance of the hotel is lovely however the rooms could do with updating.

I am not saying that I would never go back however the entertainment matters a great deal to me.

If you are looking for a quiet relaxing holiday this is the place for you.

I certainly dont think that the terrible reviews are justified re the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

If you want to see Brits behaving badly with kids in tow this is the place for you. We stayed for a week after 2 days we had to eat out the food was dire we tried to book the al a cart menu but again after the 5th time gave up as the lady was never there to be able to book. The noise from the hotel opposite is over powering their open air disco closes around midnight so don't on getting any sleep before kids are left to run riot throughout the day as parents too busy throwing the cheap lager down their necks from 1030am as for the room you are supposed to be able to shower and change in before your flight forget it the hotel staff weren't interested so had to change in toilets in reception area they were filthy and extremely dirty and smelly I changed with my shoes still on so I didn't have to touch the floor never again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Didim Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didim Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Parlamenterler Yolu 3, Altinkum, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Altinkum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Altinkum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Didim Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Didim Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didim Beach Hotel Altinkum
Didim Beach Resort And Spa
Didim Beach Turkey
Didim Beach Hotel Turkey
Hotel Didim Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Didim Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.