We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just had coffee but hey the gift shop was brill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smashed Pipi

Smashed Pipi
40 Moir St, Mangawhai, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Mangawhai
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“just had coffee but hey the gift shop was brill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

we only came for coffee in the courtyard which was charming but we spent quite a bit of time in the gift shop with lots of art from local people which was excellent

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tasty food in a cosy, relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a lovely meal in the Smashed Pipi over Easter weekend and would be very happy to return on our next trip. The restaurant area felt warm and inviting. There were some cosy couch areas suitable for anyone just wanting a coffee and to unwind and plenty of tables with surprisingly comfortable wooden seats for the diners.

We started our meal with a portion of kumara fries which tasted good but at $9.50 was quite steep. That would be my only critcism though as the rest of our experience was excellent.

For the main course, my husband had the seafood chowder ($18) and said it was one of the best he's ever had. I had the vegetarian canneloni ($24) and was pleased when the restaurant agreed to swap the salad for roasted vegetables for no extra charge. My meal was delicious and we both felt the portion size was just right. The mains also better suited our budget than the much more expensive establishments in Mangawhai Village and Mangawhai Heads.

I look forward to dining here again on my next visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Pleasant courtyard and cosy atmosphere inside. Good coffee and lovely fresh muffin but felt the BLT was overpriced for the quantity and presentation of food. Should have gone to Bennetts as planned.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

After appalling experience at the local Mangawhai Tavern, the Smashed Pip was an absolute pleasure. Relaxed and very friendly and attentive staff, great pizzas, value prices for drinks and good indoor/outdoor areas to enjoy a good social gathering. Multiple TV's to watch sport.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A wee bit of everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

With a quirky art and craft gallery attached (and particularly good glass craft), the restaurant has a ready made clientele for its home baking (try the savoury muffins) and the best coffee in Mangawhai. I especially loved with tiny cups of milk with a hot chocolate whisk and marshmallows for the kids - just before they went off and played in the cubby house.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smashed Pipi also viewed

Mangawhai, Northland Region
Mangawhai, Northland Region
 
Mangawhai, Northland Region
Mangawhai, Northland Region
 

Been to Smashed Pipi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smashed Pipi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.