We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nonsuch House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingswear
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nonsuch House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Church Hill, Kingswear, Dartmouth TQ6 0BX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Kingswear B&B and Inns
gloucestershire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

A one night stay which was very nice indeed for us. The room was excellent in terms of the view and the extremely comfortable bed and bedding which meant a very good night's sleep. Unfortunately it was not on a night when we could have enjoyed Kit's cooking at dinner but taking the short ferry trip to Dartmouth for dinner added to making it all a memorable and different sort of stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Lovely to meet you two too. Hope that you will come again and taste Kit's cooking - which I have to say is fantastic - and that comment comes not just from me but lots of other guests!! Glad you enjoyed this glorious bit of Devon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
102
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Godalming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Kit and Penny - just to say thank you for a most enjoyable stay last week at Nonsuch House, the view from our room was breathtaking as has been said before. I have to say the meal on our 2nd night was absolutely delicious, sadly you were unable to offer us a meal on Brian's birthday the day before, as unfortunately the restaurant we chose wasn't up to your standard! We would defintely recommend your establishment to others, which is more than can be said for our visit to Greenways out of season, there hangs a tale!! A special mention has to be made to all the people who helped us in our hour of need especially the staff at the Ferry Boat Inn and the staff on the Dartmouth Steam Railway and Riverboat company.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
It was lovely to meet you both too and do hope it won't be too long before you return. Sorry too we could not cook on the Wednesday of your stay, especially as it was Brian's birthday, but the chef had a meeting and could not get out of it! So glad that the meal on Thursday more than made up for it. You did make us laugh with your story about your trip up river - it might be worth writing an article for a magazine on your adventures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I cannot thank Kit and Penny and their staff enough for the fantasatic break my daughter and I had at the Nonsuch recently.

Having had to cancel my booking last year, because of a bereavement, Kit and Penny honoured that booking and let us stay this year. They did not have to allow us to re-book and it was greatly appreciated. The food was fantastic and they could not have been more accommodating and friendly. The breakfast was the best I have had in a long while. The rooms are vast but homely. and spotless The information provided in the guest handbook was really comprehensive, including wifi password information and breakfast times etc.I also opened a cupboard on the landing which, to my delight, housed a myriad of books.

The views from all rooms are spectacular. I would recommend the Nonsuch as a relaxing environment and a definite place to stay. I will be going back next year without a doubt. Thank you once again Kit and Penny.

Room Tip: All rooms face the bay and are equally as clean and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Lovely to welcome you and your daughter here and I am so glad you were able to make it - quite a brave decision to make. Also so pleased you enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcoming you back with or without the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and had a very enjoyable and relaxing time. The room had a fabulous view and was very comfortable. We had a Sunday evening meal. It was excellent, with the pears and pancetta salad being a real treat. It was great to be sitting inside in the beautiful conservatory while outside "The Big Storm" raged. Kit and Penny make great hosts, giving guests just the right amount of attention. Kingswear is also very well placed for lots of activities. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. We did enjoy having you both to stay and hope you will come and visit again. Kit has been reminded about the pears and is busy preparing them again - so glad you enjoyed them. The conservatory is as you say a fantastic place to eat whatever the weather - the view is to die for and we never tire of it - but particularly dramatic and warm in a storm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Absolutely fantastic location with stunning views. The hosts , Kit and Penny (and staff) were superb and the home cooked breakfasts were a highlight of the day! The room was extremely comfortable with views over the harbour - it was just so relaxing watching the boats coming and going - we could have sat there for hours! We even forgot we had the car for a couple of days! You can get to most places of interest on foot, by ferry or boat, or even steam train! Thanks Penny , Kit et al for a lovely stay. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending Nonsuch House!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and do hope we see you before too long - remember our Winter Warmer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

There really isn't anywhere like Nonsuch and we travel extensively. Kit and Penny just get it right in every way, we stayed here for our longest visit this time and we still cannot fault a single thing. We are not the only people who have found this place and keep coming back time and time again, nothing is too much trouble, breakfasts are great and dinner is a real treat.

Room Tip: Whichever room you choose they are all different but all have a fabulous view and all are beautifull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Loved having you both to stay as usual - twice in one month - here's to celebrating a few more anniversaries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just got back from another lovely relaxing stay at Nonsuch House. Great location for exploring this lovely area. Kit and Penny make you so welcome and we just love the room at the top. Views superb, room charming and Kit's cooking beats many of the local restaurants by far. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, General Manager at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Cant wait to see you both again - don't make it too long! Can't promise you the eyrie but there is always a warm welcome for you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nonsuch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch House

Address: Church Hill, Kingswear, Dartmouth TQ6 0BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Kingswear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kingswear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nonsuch House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch House is situated in a sunny and warm spot perched on the side of a hill with magnificent views over the River to Dartmouth and out to sea. Award winning accommodation, Nonsuch offers a warm welcome on arrival and a fond farewell at the end of your stay. Beautifully situated for the amazing restaurants and shopping in Dartmouth, for long walks straight from the front door or for sitting comfortably in the conservatory or on the terrace watching the world go by on the river, Nonsuch has to be the place to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nonsuch House Hotel Dartmouth
Nonsuch Hotel Dartmouth
Nonsuch House Kingswear, Dartmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonsuch House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nonsuch House to your Saves list