We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nonsuch House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingswear
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nonsuch House
Save
You added Nonsuch House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Church Hill, Kingswear, Dartmouth TQ6 0BX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Kingswear B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at the Nonsuch House with a group of nine golfers and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hospitality of Penny and Kit is remarkable; we felt at home from the very first minute. Kit prepares a great breakfast in the morning (which is served in a beatiful room with a magnificent view across the estuary) and showed us his culinary expertise last Thursday when he spoiled us with a three-course dinner made from fresh, local, tasty and delicious food.
The house and the rooms are impeccable and very tastefully decorated; all rooms share the wonderful view. And the outside terrace turned out to be a perfect place for a nightcap.
Do we recommend Nonsuch House? You bet!
Thank you very much, Penny and Kit, for a truly memorable time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We so enjoyed having you all to stay here and do hope you will come and stay again - we have some wonderful golf courses we can recommend for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
128
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bruton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Less is more - so few words are needed...... We have come every year for 14 years for a bit of winter rest & recovery, & sometimes in the summer, and it has never failed us for comfort, quality, informality, assistance when needed, flexibility, etc. Kit & Penny, and the support staff, have always gone the extra few miles. It really is 5 star. It really is excellent

Room Tip: They are all good - altho the very very top room has a low ceiling (made up for by the very, very be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Lovely to see you again and do hope it won't be long before we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at Nonsuch House for 2 nights and we could not have been looked after any better by Penny and Kit, they were excellent hosts. Even though we were early, they welcomed us with tea and coffee and advised us on sites to visit etc. We dined at Nonsuch House on the last night and the food, service and ambience were superb, we were well taken care of and we would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone. It felt like a home from home and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The room we had, had an excellent view of the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Lovely to meet you both and to exchange lots of ideas. Hope to see you before too long and welcome you back to Nonsuch - hope the journey back was not too bad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The magical location of this b&b gives superb views from all the rooms, across the Dart estuary to Dartmouth and out to sea. The room was clean & fresh with a very comfortable bed. The owners, Penny & Kit, did everything to make our stay enjoyable & this is somewhere we definitely intend to visit again. If there is a downside, to get to the view, you have a steep climb up the hill from Kingswear quay - but nobody was complaining once inside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments on Nonsuch - do hope your foot is recovering and let's hope that by the time you return we have persuaded Devon County Council to have opened the South West Coast footpath again which is a much gentler meander up the hill to the house! Of course being on top of the hill is what gives us the stunning views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torquay
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

All the previous highly rated reviews are correct.Penny and Kit are superb hosts.The food is top notch and the accomodation is 5 star.Although we live nearby in Torquay we were able to rediscover the beauty of the River Dart and Dartmouth itself.The holiday was a birthday gift from our children, and turned out to be a great treat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you before too long - if you are passing by do drop in for a cup of something - it would be lovely to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had booked Nonsuch after reviews on Trip Advisor and weren't disappointed. The room (Lundy) was fantastic - immaculate cleanliness wise, bright and airy..the views were amazing. Kit and Penny are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are fantastic - Kit is a great chef. We will be returning and have already recommended Nonsuch House to friends who are going to get in touch. We were sad to leave as our weekend was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Lovely to meet you both and so pleased that you finally managed to get down to see us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again. Don't leave it too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanivet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our stay at Nonsuch was a honeymoon gift from my wife's parents and uncle & auntie. This was back at the start of April so sorry Penny and Kit for being so late with our review!

We stayed for 3 nights and had the most FANTASTIC time!! Our suite was beautiful, so nicely decorated with a great bathroom and a view to die for. Everything was perfectly clean and had a really fresh and homely feel. We both slept so well after a hectic time planning our wedding beforehand.

When we arrived we were treated like family, served tea and cake and Kit lit the fire for us in the lounge (it was a cold few days). We spend the days exploring Kingswear and Dartmouth, eating in local cafe's and shopping. We did the 'round robin' steam train/boat trip on one of the days, which Penny helped us to organise. One evening Penny suggested the local pub down the road for evening meal and even rang to book the best table next to the fire for us! What service!
The breakfasts were amazing, with different fresh fruits, cereals and yogurts each morning. We could have as much tea and coffee as we liked and the cooked breakfasts were delicious!

They made us feel so welcome and helped to make it the best honeymoon we could have hoped for! We will definitely be going back to celebrate our wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
And we so enjoyed having you here and soooooo glad you loved it. We do look forward to welcoming you back here again next March to celebrate your first anniversary and every anniversary after that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nonsuch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch House

Address: Church Hill, Kingswear, Dartmouth TQ6 0BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Kingswear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kingswear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nonsuch House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch House is situated in a sunny and warm spot perched on the side of a hill with magnificent views over the River to Dartmouth and out to sea. Award winning accommodation, Nonsuch offers a warm welcome on arrival and a fond farewell at the end of your stay. Beautifully situated for the amazing restaurants and shopping in Dartmouth, for long walks straight from the front door or for sitting comfortably in the conservatory or on the terrace watching the world go by on the river, Nonsuch has to be the place to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nonsuch House Hotel Dartmouth
Nonsuch Hotel Dartmouth
Nonsuch House Kingswear, Dartmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonsuch House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.