We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the "Taste of Devon"!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nonsuch House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingswear
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nonsuch House
Save
You added Nonsuch House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Church Hill, Kingswear, Dartmouth TQ6 0BX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Kingswear B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Try the "Taste of Devon"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We spent 3 wonderful days at this lovely B&B: idyllic setting, beautiful large bedrooms and baths with top quality linens and amenities, and the best hosts (Penny and Kit) you could ask for. But the highlight was having Kit, the outstanding chef for the establishment, spend a day teaching us to prepare a dinner for ourselves and several other guests. The day began with a walk and ferry ride to Dartmouth to shop at the fishmonger, green grocer and wine shop (in itself a great learning experience), then a lovely lunch in a Dartmouth cafe. Kit knows almost everyone in town, so you feel a part of the community.
Then home to start the cooking. In about 4 hours with kit we learned to make fish stock, bake bread, bake almond biscuits, make homemade ice cream, filet a fish (hake) and cook it, crack and pick a crab, make a scallop on the half-shell started, make vegetable side dishes, make homemade double chocolate truffles, make a crab bisque, and several other items. Kit is a patient and positive teacher who is open to (in fact actively solicits) your input.
Combined with several lovely walks and visiting 3 National Heritage sites, and having unexpectedly splendid warm an sunny weather, this was as good a vacation as we could have hoped for. This was our first, but will not be our last visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent and each has a view. We stayed in "Fastnet" which was large an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
111
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I dont want to say too many nice things about our stay here otherwise I'm fearful it will be continually booked up and we'll never get to stay again. Penny and Kit are wonderful hosts and you feel pampered from start to finish. We stayed for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed for longer. The room was massive with beautiful views over Dartmouth and out to see, the bed and pillows were devine and the small touches like tea and cake on arrival and turning the bed down before you retire for the evening make you feel like you are staying in an exclusive hotel yet Nonsuch feels like a home (one you never want to leave) which is brilliant after a long day on foot exploring Dartmouth. We were lucky enough to have dinner on one evening of our stay and Kit is a fantastic cook, it was devine and then to sit in the lounge with the log fire and their beautiful well behaved labs was very relaxing and felt more special than going to a restaurant. Really cant praise Nonsuch or Kit/Penny enough - thank you so much both of you for a wonderful end to our mini break and really hope that we can come back again soon x

Room Tip: think all the rooms are lovely so whatever you end up with you'll feel spoilt and all have some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Quite simply this is the best Bed & Breakfast my wife & I have ever been to. Overlooking Dartmouth with views to die for everything about Nonsuch House is excellent. Our room was very comfortable, had a small balcony & was very quiet. The welcome from the hosts Penny & Kit is warm & genuine. Plenty of tips on what to do to enjoy this wonderful area. The breakfast was without doubt one of the finest we have had, an English breakfast that was so good due to the quality of the local produce, plus fruit, cereals, juice, etc, meant that lunch wasn't needed! A short 5 minute walk down a very steep hill takes you to the Lower Ferry for the 5 minute journey over to Dartmouth. If you want absolute quality for a very reasonable price this place has it all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed one night and it was perfect. Fabulous view, warm welcome, quiet, extremely comforable spacious room. Took foot ferry over to Dartmouth for evening meal - all very romantic. Lovely walks on doorstep. Would definitely recommend it to all our friends. One of the best if not the best B&B's we've stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Wonderful spot, super hosts, great food (why go to a restaurant in town?). We just love it. And we keep coming back for more.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

This was the first get-away for my wife and I (alone) in several years. The beautiful setting (breath-taking views), the charming and clean rooms, the wonderful hosts (Penny and Kit), the excellent food (breakfasts, an outstanding dinner) made this an "A1" break. We would definitely go back, highly recommended.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have beautiful views of the Dart and sea mouth, wonderful, we had the suite in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Truly a great B&B.

Room great: all fresh and clean, new bathroom all new with luxury soaps, comfy bed, stunning views over the river.

Food great: fresh local produce used, one of the best English breakies I've had, dinner was very good too.

The house is nicely decorated and homely, downstairs in the common lounge and dining room there's plenty of room and books and local pamphlets.

I rarely give full marks, but honestly there was no faults, a really great B&B in a wonderful part of Devon.
The hosts were very friendly and helpful, but not overbearing. And they have 2 lovely dogs!

Room Tip: we got the one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Thank you for the great review. We so en joyed having you to stay and hope we see you again sometime soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nonsuch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch House

Address: Church Hill, Kingswear, Dartmouth TQ6 0BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Kingswear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kingswear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nonsuch House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch House is situated in a sunny and warm spot perched on the side of a hill with magnificent views over the River to Dartmouth and out to sea. Award winning accommodation, Nonsuch offers a warm welcome on arrival and a fond farewell at the end of your stay. Beautifully situated for the amazing restaurants and shopping in Dartmouth, for long walks straight from the front door or for sitting comfortably in the conservatory or on the terrace watching the world go by on the river, Nonsuch has to be the place to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nonsuch House Hotel Dartmouth
Nonsuch Hotel Dartmouth
Nonsuch House Kingswear, Dartmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonsuch House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.