We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Aroa Beach, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Nelson
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

We have just returned from a wonderful honeymoon at the Rarotongan, it was magic.
The location on the lagoon is fanatastic for snorkelling and enjoying the gorgeous sunsets.
We had a Beach front suite,balcony, perfect for a couple wanting a little privacy....
The service from all the friendly staff was the best i've experienced.
They always had a smile no matter how early, or late in the day, and
even remembered our favourite cocktails!!!!.
A very safe environment, and so will be taking our teenagers with us when we return next year.
A great place to relax and enjoy the sun :-)

  • Liked — Service and location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    221
    145
    94
    93
See reviews for
323
261
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

The Rarotongan Resort & Spa is just amazing!!! We were lucky enough to have our wedding here and was the best decision ever! This resort is just beautiful, the clear golden sands of the lagoon on your doorstep, safe swimming, premium snorkelling, kayaking, and really safe. The staff here were so friendly, happy, smiling, great with kids, always stopped to chat. The rooms were clean and are decorated in lovely island style. The pool area is great too, with a fab icecream parlour, bar, lovely food available 24/7. The ultimatium in relaxation! We had babysitters one night, the kids loved them, and the kids club wow thats great and really well supervised. Our wedding planners were so lovely and it was a pleasure dealing with all the staff at this resort. If you are planning to get married, please look into this resort and Auitutaki. Its cheap to get around the island, make sure you stop for dinner/lunch refreshments at Trader Jacks.We even saw whales just beyond the reef while sitting on a beach in Rarotonga. This was our 2nd time in Rarotonga and this time our choice of accommodation was tops! The Spa at the resort is great, I recommend the body wrap and massages. We had 30 friends and family stay here, and every single one of them (Kiwis, Aussies, British guests) loved everyminute of their stay. You will have a wonderful time here.

  • Liked — enjoyed all of the facilties and accommodation offered by the resort
  • Disliked — in the higher budget range
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

My Family went for a holiday for a week and stayed at the Rarotongan. We were in beach front rooms, had everything we needed and were room serviced everyday. They did have MASSIVE beds. The service and quality of the food was really good, and not overly priced, they were also quick with their service. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they also have security walk around as well, so we felt happy with leaving our doors unlocked to go for a swim.
All of Rarotonga was amazing and everyone was so friendly, a very laid back relaxed kind of place.
The Rarotongan has the best snorkling on the island and great for kids as the fish come up quite close to the shore. We also hired bikes which were great fun easy to get around the island and very safe, i am 5 months pregnant and still felt very safe on them.
I would recommend the Rarotongan to anyone and if we get to go back again i would stay there. A great place for eveyone to enjoy.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and location
  • Disliked — i loved it all
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

Rarotonga : Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.
Such a beautiful piece of paradise and the facility and staff made our experience one that my daughter and I will never forget. I am not a regular traveller but have managed a trip to Europe in the past 2 years and no accommodation and such friendly staff can compare with this resort. Always happy to assist and service with a smile. The resort had everything you could wish for, relaxing and friendly pool area and the meals in the two restaurants were more than adequate. Both my daughter and myself came back with a few kilos extra as meals were well presented and much more than enough. We just had to share many times after struggling to consume a full meal. Rooms were well air conditioned with fan and air unit and although modest were certainly very comfortable. We walked out the door directly to the beach. A great variety of activities to choose from daily and these were so much fun. No shortage of sun loungers here and towelling, snorkels and fins were never in short supply. A great kids room, well equipped and supervised which we checked out for family at home, no worries for Mums & Dads here. Extremely hard to drag ourselves away after 8 days and am planning to return with hubby perhaps next year. Thanks to a great team - well done, see you again sometime.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawerau
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

Loved Staying here.. Decor is dated but was really cool me and my wife loved our first overseas holiday together had heaps of fun... they have the best snorkling on the island and food was awesome the fijians were more friendly than the rarotongans but still great loved the events and things to do.

Love Raro.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

We booked a six night stay directly with the hotel, making our decision on their very attractive web site. We booked a Beachfront Room at NZ$365 per night but were given a complimentary upgrade to a Beachfront Suite (the essential difference was that the “suite” was a little larger room) with us having to take our last night in a Garden Room at NZ$265.00 per night. The Beachfront Suite did not conform to what one might internationally expect from a room described as a suite. However, it was adequate although one might have expected better for the price paid. On our first day our bedroom was made up at 3.30 pm and despite requesting that this be done earlier in the day during the remainder of our stay this was not always adhered to. Our tiled bedroom floor was dirty and on the second day we had to request the housekeepers to wash the floor. The minibar is empty on arrival and if you would like to use it, amazingly you have to pay $7.00 to have it filled and then pay normal minibar prices. The room was right on the beach with a balcony overlooking the lagoon. Without a doubt you pay for the view rather than the room or the service.

On our final night we were accommodated in a Garden Room. This room had more in common with a cheap budget hotel room. The room itself was cramped, poorly maintained and there were cracked tiles in the shower as well as tiles separating from one of the shower supporting walls. The fact that there was plenty of black dirt between these tiles indicated that they had been like this for quite some time. The discovery of a handful of human hair in the sliding door to the garden did not impress us either. The gardens are well maintained and guests are able to sit out and enjoy the sun and pleasant ambience. TV reception was so bad that it was impossible to watch television. One of the legs of the fridge was missing and the fridge went to one side on opening. This accommodation is seriously in need of renovation and at NZ$265.00 per night was grossly overpriced for the facilities provided.

A “tropical breakfast” was included in the price. On entering the breakfast restaurant the staff’s main focus was to ensure that we had paid for our breakfasts but never once helped us search for a free table in a very busy breakfast room. Far too often, the breakfast buffet ran out of breakfast items leaving guests milling around waiting on items to be replenished. While some fresh fruit was provided it was supplemented with tinned fruit. Four domestic toasters had to cater for a large restaurant full of people and queues were the order of the day. The electrical plugs above head height in the buffet area were filthy, reflecting inadequate standards. Overall, a poor breakfast and dreadful service. Because of this we never had an evening meal in the hotel preferring to go outside the hotel to use the Tamarind, Trader Jacks and the Windjammer restaurants where the standards are amongst the best on the island.

The beach and lagoon, whilst in our view, not the best in Rarotoanga, is nevertheless beautiful and the hotel provides kayaks, snorkelling gear, beach towels etc. free of charge. However, if you forget to leave your beach towel back by 5.30pm you are fined NZ$ 20.00 per towel. If you don’t get the other gear back within 2 hours of pick up you are also fined. Loose it and you are really in trouble, which is fair enough. However, when picking up two towels from the activities hut I was asked to sign a blank form and when I filled it in by adding “two towels” I was seriously admonished by the young lady in charge. She told me that I was forbidden to complete the form and she would fill it in afterwards. If she had made a mistake on my signed, blank form, I am sure I would have been out of pocket.

Whilst many of the staff were friendly and greeted you whilst walking past, the staff with whom we directly interacted were generally adequate at best. One exception was the lady who made sandwiches for lunch. A more pleasant and helpful lady you will not come across and incidentally, she also makes great sandwiches!!! This hotel states that it has ISO 9000. It must be easier to get ISO 9000 than it used to be! Incidentally, Internet is a costly NZ$18.00 per hour.

We just cannot understand some of the glowing reports on this hotel. We have stayed in hotels around the world for almost 40 years and this hotel left much to be desired. The hotel, whose market seems to be package holidaymakers, claims to be 4 star, which is simply untrue. Its beachfront rooms may be 3 star but the garden rooms are poor 2 star at best. Overall, a seriously expensive disappointment. Do yourself a favour and go elsewhere !!!!

  • Liked — Views of beach
  • Disliked — Rooms and breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

All I can say is that my husband and I have just returned from 12 nights in the Cook Islands - 7 at the Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, 3 at sister resort on Aitutaki and 2 at the Edgewater.

Our stay at the Ratotongan Beach Resort was in an Beachfront Suite which was a complemently upgrade. Our stay was amazing, the room was wonderful, spacious and clean, the food was great, yes you did have to wait for the toast to cook in the small toasters and sometimes they ran out of food or plates, but these were alway replenished you just have to relax and enjoy island time! The staff were wonderful and very friendly. Snorkeling outside the resort was one of the best snorkeling places on Rarotonga. As for the size of the pool, why would you need a pool when you have the wonderful lagoon with warmer water temperature right outside your room! We would go back to this resort as well as the sister resort. It is a pitty that I cannot speak so highly for the hospilitatily at the Edgewater.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Aroa Beach, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rarotongan Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
The Rarotongan Beach Resort And Spa
Rarotongan Beach Resort Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga/Aroa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.