We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some work, but still was a pleasant stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Aroa Beach, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night In Paradise
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Queenstown
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Needs some work, but still was a pleasant stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in 2010 and had the best holiday ever! Staff were amazing, helpful, efficient and generally fantastic at their jobs. We returned in June this year after getting married along at Muri Beach expecting the same once again but we were disappointed. Bar staff were very slow and not very friendly at all, was very hard to try and spend money or have a few drinks as the service was too slow so we would just head back to our rooms and drink our duty free.
We started out in a garden room with myself my husband and our 2 small girls, it was so small we could hardly walk around the room, we were upgraded to a beachside suite which was amazing and the staff who helped us relocate and set up the portacot again were fantastic. There was no tv in the room and was soon sorted by the maintenance man. Also our phone didn't work and a technician had to come twice to try and sort the problem which was a bit more than just replacing the phone itself.
Food was always great, kitchen staff were faultless. Also some of the waiters/waitresses were fantastic, Saula and Leilani just to name a few were especially great.
Sane on reception is an absolute pleasure aswell.
The kids club was not that great, the staff weren't the friendliest and it always seemed a problem to book the kids in??? Don't know why this was the case as it was one of the only reasons we booked here was for the kids club.

We will return though and give it another go because I'm sure we maybe just struck a bad week on the staff front.
We travelled as a large group and we are all looking at returning in the next year or so.
I just hope the staff in the bar are trained or replaced in time for our next visit so I can get stuck into those delicious passion fruit mojitos.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Kia Orana “Smithiej”

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in June 2013

We are thrilled to hear that our staff were able to quickly assist you with settling into your Deluxe Beachside Suite and address the issues that you raised with them.

We are also very happy to read that you found our team of staff a pleasure to deal with during your stay and we have passed your feedback on to Saula and Leilani as well as our Kitchen and Reception staff who are delighted to hear that they were able to make a difference to your stay.

We are concerned and apologise that you found the Food & Beverage service unsatisfactory during your stay. Your comments and feedback have been investigated and reviewed comprehensively with our Food & Beverage Manager and Head Chef who as a result have implemented several changes and improvements to our Food & Beverage operational procedures.

We do appreciate the time you have taken to upload your review. These concerns would have been quickly resolved by requesting to speak with our Food & Beverage Manager. Alternatively, we have Duty Managers on shift daily between the hours of 7am and 12midnight for the purpose of providing support and assistance with addressing guest concerns to achieve the experience each expects.

We also apologise that you found our Moko’s Kids Club unsatisfactory during your stay with us. We have also brought your feedback to the attention of our Guest Services Manager who is actively working with the team of Kids Club staff to ensure that this does not happen again.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in the near future.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    212
    141
    92
    87
See reviews for
309
253
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Rarotongan resort for 6 nights early July. The setting is awesome with the beach at the front door. The resort itself is very tired, our air conditioner wasn't working properly and the fridge froze everything. The service is mediocre and the food was above average. The location to town is good, being only 10 min on our rented scooter. I would look at other resorts before choosing this one again. The stay wasn't entirely unpleasant although the place needs much work done on it.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Kia Orana “Ned2011”

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in July 2013.

We are disappointed that you did not feel The Rarotongan met your expectations – you can see that many of our recent reviews have reflected quite the opposite.

However, we do realize that each guest has very different expectations and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to your comments.

We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed the beachfront location the Resort offers – on the stunning Aroa Beach with the traditional Aroa marine reserve almost on your doorstep.

We apologise that you experienced issues with your air conditioning system and the mini bar fridge. In order for our air conditioning units to operate effectively, guests are asked to keep all doors and windows closed. This will avoid the units from icing up and not cooling. Our mini bar fridges are also limited in terms of storage capacity. They are able to chill a small number of items and if overfilled can result in poor performance.

We are concerned that your dining experiences with us did not meet your expectations. We appreciate that there are several beautiful dining options available on the island of Rarotonga and we have had several guests thoroughly enjoy their experiences at The Rarotongan and our adults only boutique sister resort, Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach.

The Rarotongan offers a variety of dining experiences with an extensive selection of a la carte dining and buffet dinner shows. The Resort restaurants are open daily 7am to 9pm.

Sampling the delights of the tropics is a must during any holiday in the South Pacific. Whether it is fresh seafood, tropical fruits or deliciously prepared traditional dishes, guests of The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa can try a wide array of exciting cuisine. You can select to eat or drink in a variety of locations to match your mood.

The expansive veranda overlooking Aroa Lagoon (the Lagoon of Love) is perfect for a sunset cocktail or dinner under the stars.

The TE VAKA Restaurant, right on Aroa Lagoon, plays host to our tropical breakfast buffet and buffet dinner shows as;

• The electrifying ‘Legends of Polynesia’ Island Nights and underground oven Umu Feast with succulent chicken, pork, lamb and other island favourites
• The amazing Tamariki Rarotonga Fire Dancers and Island BBQ

Captain Andy’s Beach Bar & Grill is just right for a café latte, flat white or drink anytime, for a casual lunch, snack or light meal, and for a relaxed a la carte dinner overlooking the pool. At least once during your stay, try our famous Seafood Platter for two. Captain Andy’s is open daily from 11am till late, with our daily Cocktail Happy Hour from 5pm to 6pm.

Our sister Resort, Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, is an adult’s only boutique resort with two restaurants available to adult guests of The Rarotongan;

• Bluewater Grill featuring a wide range of fresh game fish and seafood as well as traditional favourites; and
• Ginger Garden featuring the international favourites from the cuisines of Asia including Teppanyaki, Wok, Steamboat and Mongolian BBQ

We are disappointed that you weren’t able to join several former guests who have thoroughly enjoyed their dining experiences with us.

In summary, we are concerned that you were not satisfied with your holiday and I would like to again take the opportunity remind guests that we have Duty Manager’s rostered 7 days a week between the hours of 7am and midnight to assist guests with resolving any concerns they may have. It is beneficial to bring any issues to our attention immediately as more often than not, these issues can be quickly be resolved to allow you continue with your tropical island holiday as intended.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My Wife and I selected this resort on recommendation of our Travel Agent, when we arrived our travel agent had not booked any transfers, our room was really nice, but we found several things not so good, in general the resort is run down and in need of repairs, We got the chefs special that cost us $28 each it was very small and dried out over cooked and yuck. the food is very expensive, $18 for a burger that is a pre purchased paddy that tastes disgusting, considering the roadhouse down the road could make one for $5 that tasted amazing its a joke, I also paid for internet that dropped out and no refunds, when you tell management about problems they say they are sorry but really it seems like they don't care, Cook Islands is lovely just the resort was average, worst of all when we had do not disturb up they went in out room and made it up anyway.

Room Tip: book at the pacific resort give this one a big miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Kia Orana “Graeme G”

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

We are disappointed that you did not feel The Rarotongan met your expectations

We are delighted that you enjoyed your accommodation at The Rarotongan. In regards to your accommodation, The Rarotongan offers a wide range of accommodation options to suit most guests from business guests traveling alone, to couples or even large family groups.

Did you know that guests are welcome to attend our daily 2pm Site Inspection with a member of our Front Office staff? As part of this Site Inspection, guests are able to view alternative accommodation options available at our Resorts during their stay and can opt to upgrade from their existing room categories at fantastic special upgrade prices.

We are disappointed that you weren’t able to join several former guests who have thoroughly enjoyed their dining experiences with us. Your feedback has been relayed to our Food & Beverage Manager and Head Chef who are respectively addressing the points you have raised.

We do appreciate the feedback you have provided us and it is important to us in order to improve the standard of service we deliver.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently visited and found it extremely disappointing. The staff were pleasant but the service was poor. The manager was rude and unhelpful. When we discussed an issue we had she became confrontational and offered no solution. In the past web had stayed at the Edgewater but thought that maybe because we were paying a considerable amount more the service would have been better but definitely not. Never again and I would not recommend it to anyone. What a shame!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Kia Orana “bobbie d”

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

We are disappointed that you did not feel The Rarotongan met your expectations, however we do realize that each guest has very different expectations and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to your comments.

We do apologise for the issues you have raised and I would like to remind guests that we have Duty Manager’s rostered 7 days a week between the hours of 7am and midnight to assist guests with resolving any concerns they may have.

It is beneficial to bring any issues to our attention immediately as more often than not, these issues can be quickly be resolved to allow you continue with your tropical island holiday as intended.

Thank you once again for choosing The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa for your holiday destination.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I just stayed here for 11 nights and I am by far that guy to complain. I have two issues unresolved and after attending the managers cocktails here they say they want no one going home unhappy. Well my Internet I bought on the first night worked to two minutes then could not log back on I reported it and was given another one which has same issues. i called reception they were going to get IT to look at it. I went and seen them another 3 times still no answer. I went and seen maryanne duty manager still no answers why do they ask you to go a d talk to them and still don't fix it. Also my second last night we booked a prigressuve dinner and was told 530 pick up. We waited till 630 when asked at reception it was oh yeah they called and cancelled but forgot to tell us. I asked the duty manager about this as well still waiting on my answer. The place is run down and under staffed wait at the bar 20 minutes for drinks not good. Staff have a day off and get called to come to work then they have the Attitude I am going back to raro in the future but this place needs to lift its game. No customer service skills with duty managers.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Kia Orana “Adrian F”

We appreciate the opportunity to respond to your feedback in regards to your stay at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in June 2013.

We apologise that your experience with us did not meet your expectations and that you were disappointed with the lack of response from our staff to the concerns you brought to our attention.

We have identified the cause for the issue with your internet use and this has been resolved with our internet service provider.

We also apologise that the message regarding the cancellation of the Progressive Dinner service was not passed on to you at the time we were notified and have addressed this issue with our Front Office staff.

We appreciate the feedback you have raised in regards to the service you experienced in our Restaurants and Bars and apologise for the inconvenience you have raised in this regard. Our Food & Beverage Manager is actively working with his team to address the issues you have raised and avoid issues such as these in future.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We found the Rarotongan to be OK, just average and not sure I would stay again. The rooms are dated and food was really average. We ended up going out to eat all meals after the second day. The staff were friendly enough and we were happy with the house keeping.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Kia Orana “NiknakNZ”

Thank you for your review in regards to your stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in May 2013.

We are disappointed that your dining experience did not meet your expectations.

Your comments have been reviewed by our Food & Beverage Manager and his team of staff who are actively working on addressing the areas for improvement you have identified.

We are however pleased that you found our staff friendly and were satisfied with the standard of housekeeping during your stay.

I would like to again take the opportunity remind guests that we have Duty Manager’s rostered 7 days a week between the hours of 7am and midnight to assist guests with resolving any concerns they may have. It is beneficial to bring any issues to our attention immediately as more often than not, these issues can be quickly be resolved to allow you continue with your tropical island holiday as intended.

Thank you once again for choosing The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa for your holiday destination.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We came to the Cook Islands for our wedding and honeymoon, and stayed for 8 days. From the moment we arrived our wedding planners Laisa and Adele could not have been more helpful, friendly and supportive. All parts of the wedding and reception were well planned. We would highly recommend CICC for a beautiful church wedding too.
The resort location is planned for more seclusion and privacy - with amazing snorkelling at your front door. The waiter/waitresses were always pleased to offer help and were friendly.
We would also highly recommend honeymooners staying in the Honeymoon bungalow.
Small complaints would be the relatively poor breakfast supplied. However the meals and drinks on offer at the restaurant were very good.
Overall it was an excellent experience.
Gillian and Andrew Talbot, Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Kia Orana AndrewTal,

Thank you for your wonderful review in regards to your recent wedding day celebration with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

Congratulations once again from the team here at The Rarotongan!

Laisa, Adele and the team at the resort are thrilled that your wedding day was everything that you wished it to be :-)

Rarotonga, the heart of the South Pacific and one of the most romantic places on Earth, is the pick of the bouquet for many couples from all four corners of the globe looking for a special place to exchange their vows. A magnificent island of high mountains clothed in lush green rainforest and encircled by white sandy beaches and a beautiful blue lagoon, Rarotonga is truly one of the last remaining paradises on Earth. There are a number of different spots on the island where a couple could choose to tie the knot, but it would be hard to go past the long white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (Lagoon of Love), on Rarotonga's sunshine southwest coast. Swaying palm trees, turquoise sea lapping the pale sandy shore, the setting sun turning the whole scene golden as another day at the edge of time draws to a close. This is the idyllic South Seas wedding location of your dreams. And it's not just the romance which draws couples, but also the practical advantages of having a very affordable no-fuss wedding combined all-in-one with a South Pacific honeymoon!

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa for your next tropical island escape – perhaps your first wedding anniversary ;-)

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Aroa Beach, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rarotongan Beach Resort And Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
Rarotongan Beach Resort Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga/Aroa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.