We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what we came for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dive Centre - The Big Fish

The Dive Centre - The Big Fish
Po Box 142, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
0068220238
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book Now
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: PADI 5 Star Dive Centre, conveniently located on the stunning marine reserve of Aroa beach. We offer guided dives for all levels, from wrecks to passages, drop off’s, night dives and more. Our friendly multilingual staff can cater for total beginners to the highly experienced in the crystal clear warm water of the south pacific. The Dive Centre Provides daily introduction lagoon and boat dives, with light refreshments served after every treasured water experience, also available are dive packages that will include accommodation if needed, complimentary pick up/ drop off from your resort, and a variety of courses from open water to dive master and specialties.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“This is what we came for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We are pretty new to diving and have kids who are junior certified, so safety was of utmost importance to us. We chose The Dive Centre because they were most knowledgable and experienced, taking care of us thoroughly. Our teen daughter hadn't been able to complete her certification in the US, and she was able to finish with Sascha - who was patient and low key as an instructor (we all wish we'd had him as our instructor!). We had a total of 5 dives among us over the week and it was the highlight of our trip. Their snorkling tips were spot-on too.

Rental equipment was in perfect condition with a huge selection of sizes (we needed XXS to XL) and the dive spots just what we wished for. They had a really nice boat and we liked that their boat is smaller so we got personalized service, not a mass-dive boat experience. We spent a lot of time in the shop, and did dives with and without the kids...Sascha tailoring our dives to what we wanted to accomplish and see each day. On our guided dives, he pointed out things that we'd have totally missed...it was amazing. As newer divers, we also learned a lot from him and the other experienced divers in the shop.

Both Sabine (who runs the shop) and Sascha are awesome. They both have a wealth of dive & island knowledge and are willing to share it. The service is amazing. After my first dive, I mentioned that I was a little cold...the next day I had a warmer wetsuit waiting for me (I didn't even ask for it!)

The unfortunate piece is that we will now compare all our dive shop and dive boat experiences to this and I am afraid we'll be disappointed. We want to go back to Rarotonga just to see these two and dive with them again!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    6
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Highly recommend for diving in Rarotonga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Thank you to Sabine and the team at The Dive Centre for a great experience on our recent dive trip. Having not dived for nearly 2 years, the refresher was great for myself and my husband and made us feel confident again and ready for our 2 tank dive a couple of days later.

They have several dive spots and take you out depending on what the weather is doing. We went out from the harbour in town. Lots of fish and coral and we also saw a moray eel and a turtle. We were hoping to see a reef shark but no luck this time - thats the way it is with diving! a group who had gone out a few days before were lucky enough to have some humpback whales pass right beside them and another group had an encounter with some hammerheads so there's definitely some big things to be seen!

We were recommended 2 dive centres and had planned to visit both before booking but when we walked into The Dive Centre and spoke to Sabine, we immediately felt comfortable and confident so much so that we didn't bother going to the other place. Our dive instructor Nick was great and I would highly recommend them for your dive in Rarotonga.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“100% professional, a perfect dive experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

These guys have it all going on. Great refreshers or beginners dives in the lagood (which, truth be known, is also a great dive for those with experiecne - a really different experience, diving at under 2m!)

Did two two-dive trips, all four were excellent. Sure my vierws are enhanced by diving alongside a turtle in one dive, and having a hump backed whale mosey over for a look at us in the next - would be hard to be anything other than delighted.

But - details. Their dive gear is in great nick, the inflatible has a ladder for reboarding, a boat guy stays in the boat for the dive which is a real bonus on Rarotonga, dive masters look after you without being annoyingly cloyingly over protective.

Couldn't have been better...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My kids had a great intro to diving!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We shopped around and decided to dive with Sacha and Sabine. Our initial group was 7 divers and they managed the different ages and experience with ease. My son is small for his age and they took the responsibility seriously and stepped him through the "Discover Scuba" steps slowly.

We're planning a return visit to Raro purely to do the Open Water course.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent and easy going diving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

When we visited Raro in 2011 we hadn't dived for about 3 years so were feeling a little bit uncertain of ourselves.

The team at The Big Fish was very helpful and reassuring and looked after us beautifully. It was reassuring to know that they had a person left on the boat on the surface for every dive, plus our instructor diving with us. By the end of our four dives I was feeling confident and having a great time! We saw some really cool stuff, including a giant Moray eel free swimming and some awesome sharks and turtles.

I like the multicultural flavour of the staff working at The Big Fish. We look forward to returning once again for some cool diving experiences soon!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dive Centre - The Big Fish also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to The Dive Centre - The Big Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dive Centre - The Big Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.