We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding and holiday of our dreams.Darren and Dearne Cooper” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Grove

Save Saved
You added Palm Grove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Grove
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 23, Vaimaanga, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Season Special!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Vaimaanga
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wedding and holiday of our dreams.Darren and Dearne Cooper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We recently got married at palm grove and we would not have changed a single thing.The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly,room was cleaned daily and the beach front hut had exceptional views.the best snorkelling of all the islands was straight off the beach.Many thanks,hope to see u again soon

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    103
    31
    4
    4
See reviews for
50
228
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

thank you all at palm grove for another special holiday.just the best place to stay, the refurbished garden rooms and new pool are great.still the same friendly staff that make you feel like family,and not just a room number.great happy hours, good food, what more could you want. see you all again next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We loved staying in the 3 bedroom house with our friends and all our kids. Perfect for little ones!! Beach is the best! Sandy and lovely!Families staying together and want to cook for themselves with tv, lounge etc.... AC in bedrooms for babies having day sleep. Own BBQ and covered deck. Own car park. Perfect home away from home. Basic but chilled, we got a great price. Close to pool for walking back and forth with little ones, no crossing the road.

Room Tip: Families staying together and want to cook for themselves with tv, lounge etc.... AC in bedrooms for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Enjoyed Superior Garden Bungalow #G11. It was a comfortable and quiet cottage complete with a cat (her name is Palmy) and a chicken in the back garden. We enjoyed it very much! We also tried out Beach Bungalow B5 there was more noise from the road here - but the ocean view and easy access to the beach from our deck were unbeatable. Both bungalows had a simple kitchen (no oven) with a stovetop, fridge, toaster and French press. Groceries can be fetched from the grocery a 5 minute walk down the road (open 6am to 10pm) and there is an espresso shop across the street from there that opens at 8am. Don’t expect a huge variety at the grocery. If you plan to really cook while there plan ahead and bring some spices in little baggies.

There are several kayaks on Palm Grove’s beach and you need only grab a paddle from the reception area and you can enjoy them all day if you like. The snorkeling was fun and would be especially awesome for a first-timer. The area between the reef and the beach is large and quite shallow & the water is warm. You’ll have more fun with fins so bring those along. Photographers after the sunrise/sunset photos beware – you’re at the south end of the island so a trip to the east or west end is where you’ll need to go to catch that special shot.

The folks at reception and the restaurant were very kind and easygoing. We arranged transport to/from the airport with Palm Grove and they were cheerfully punctual. The continental breakfast was nice with cereals, bread, and lots of fruit. You can order eggs, etc off the menu if you like (this costs extra $). We ate at the restaurant for dinner one night and the food and service were wonderful! This is highly recommended. The fresh fish dishes were absolute perfection.

A note to persnickety travelers – this is not the Ritz, this is not Sofitel, this is not Holiday Inn. These are beach and garden bungalows on a small island in the South Pacific. Shake off the weight of daily life, jump into your favorite summer gear, slide on a pair flipflops and just relax in the comfortable vibe of Palm Grove.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I just spent 27 days at the Palm Grove Resort celebrating our 45th Anniversary.
To say we had a fantastic time would be an understatement, the setting is beautiful, we had a beach front bungalow and it was just steps to the water, the lagoon was crystal clear and the snorkeling wonderful, you actually could just stand in the water and look down and see the beautiful reef fish swimming around you. We were lucky enough to see them tear out the swimming pool when we first got there and then were able to put our toe in the water our last night as they were filling the pool, it was quite an experience watch the pool being built on a daily basis.
The included breakfast with fresh fruit, biscuits, cereals, juices, coffee and teas was a great way to start each day. We enjoyed all our meals in the Hibiscus Restaurant, loved Friday night Happy Hour, with live entertainment, however one thing that made it special was the employees who all went out of their way to help you, a special Thanks to Mata the restaurant Manager and Mary one of the waitresses who we really enjoyed getting to know. The beauty of this Island paradise is only surpassed by the beautiful friendly people. We want to Thank Betsy the Resort owner, Joann the Resort Manager and Kura in Reception. Our trip would have been wonderful anyway we look at it, but you all made this trip very special for us. We are looking forward to our return trip. The Breakfast room was a fantastic gathering place each morning to meet people from all over the world and we have many new friends because of it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at the Palm Grove for a week in late April as a family with one child.
We stayed in a One Bedroom Garden Bungalow.
The bungalow itself was very comfortable, had everything we needed (small kitchen, deck, aircon, fan and so on). A single bed for the kid was in the living area and a king-size bed in the bedroom (which had an open ceiling to the rest of the bungalow, for better airflow).

The breakfast we had every morning was very nice. Good selection of breads, spreads, cereals and fresh fruit. We all loved the fresh starfruit and pawpaw and will miss it, now that we are back in the winter! There was also fresh, hot coffee as well as Milo, tea and at least two different juices.
The food at the Yellow Hibiscus Restaurant was also very delicious! I will write another review for them separately.

The staff at the Palm Grove was always friendly and helpful. They organised a rental car for us and also booked any trips we wanted to do. Snorkel gear was provided, for a small bond, and kayaks were also available for us to use. The rooms were serviced daily (apart from Sunday, as it is customary on the Island)

And probably the most important to mention is the location of the hotel! On the beautiful south coast of the Island. Some units were right on the beachfront, however ours was in the garden on the other side of the road, which was not a problem at all. The beach looked like stolen from a postcard, white sand, coconut palm trees, crystal clear water! The water was always nice and warm and the snorkeling was amazing!! Beautiful fish, 3 meters from the beach. The lagoon was shallow, maybe 1-2 meters deep, perfect to float and watch the colorful life below. We spent hours at a time snorkeling. The lagoon is also quite calm, it is safe even for the little ones.

There is also a supermarket about 400 meters down the road.
If I ever make it back to Rarotonga, I will be back to the Palm Grove!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent six nights in a lovely beachfront bungalow and were really pleased we chose Palm Grove. We were in bungalow B8 which, although set back the furthest from the water than most of the others, seemed to get more sun on the balcony than many of the others, so we were really pleased to have found ourselves in that particular bungalow.

We couldn't believe how fantastic the snorkling was within metres of stepping into the lagoon in front of our bungalow. Further travels around Rarotonga and Aitutaki confirmed just what a treat this particular beachfront is. There is, of course, good snorkling all around the Cooks, but right here was a highlight.

I thought that the earlier review about the disappointing breakfast was very unfair. I had the exact opposite impression when I saw what I thought was a magnificent spread laid out for us on our first morning. I have fairly low expectations when I book accommodation with continental style breakfast, where toast and cereal are specified, but I was really pleased we were offered three different breads (multigrain for me, white for hubby), a generous slection of cereals (our next accommodation offered only corn flakes and rice bubbles, which I consider glorified cardboard, not food), and beautiful fresh fruit (and some tinned, but it bumped up the options, so who cares?). Not to mention yogurt and scones some days. Also, the spread options went beyond just the normal mini portions of jam, and offered jars of good quality jams and peanut butter as well.

Room Tip: Bungalow 8 gets a lot of sun on the balcony, which we loved. B1, 2 and 3 are the closest to the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove

Address: P.O. Box 23, Vaimaanga, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Vaimaanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Vaimaanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Grove 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the enchanting area of Vaimaanga on the stunning southern coast, Palm Grove enjoys the tranquility of one of the best locations on Rarotonga. 26 individual bungalows are scattered over 5 acres of landscaped beachfront and garden property. Bungalows are available in studio to 3-bedroom layout and feature kingsize beds, kitchen facilities, aircon, flatscreen TV, and private patio/balcony. Property amenities include our onsite restaurant and bar, swimming pool, guest BBQ, laundry facility, tour desk, and motorbike rentals. All guests receive complimentary daily tropical breakfast buffet and use of kayaks, snorkel equipment, beach chairs and beach towels. Welcome to Palm Grove, your private piece of paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Palm Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Grove Hotel Vaimaanga
Palm Grove Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.