We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hospitality, simple amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta dos Carvalhos

Quinta dos Carvalhos
Lugar da Estacao, Vidago 5425-323 Vidago, Portugal
276 907 241
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Vidago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: This restaurant is not listed but it appears in TripAdvisor App for iPad, as recomendations. Could you please check? It is really worth to be listed and I would like to write a review on it. Thanks.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming hospitality, simple amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This family run restaurant was recommended by the concierge at the Vidago Palace. We didn't expect much but were blown away. The hospitality was warm and charming. The room was basic but clean and fresh. However, the food was simply out of this world. Down to earth, hearty local fare. Simply prepared from the best ingredients. The veal was so rich and flavorful, might be the best I have ever had. We were skeptical about ordering Octopus in the mountains. That concern was misplaced. It was so tender and delicious, served with the tentacles stewed and the body fried. Their Alheira was clearly homemade and smoky but tender. The house wines are from a great producer Quinta de Arcosso. Even the espresso was better than most restaurants. Would be very happy to return again and again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A HIDDEN GEM HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Tucked away close to The Vidago Palace hotel, where we stayed, is the Dos Canvallos restaurant. A family run restaurant which provides top quality food at a very reasonable price. Excellent friendly service by the owners Carlos, Audreia and Maria Jose. Spent several evenings there and also recommended it to other guests we met at The Vidago Palace, they enjoyed is also.

Dorothy and Clive...London

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“secret location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

set in the village of Vidago, within walking distance of the Vidago Palace Hotel is this gem of a restaurant. Veal and pork dishes seem to be the specialities and there was food envy as each of the dishes were brought out!
Good value for money

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A splendid meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a delicious meal at this Portuguese restaurant which was in walking distance from our hotel the Vidago Palace. The lady owner was delightful & charming and despite not being able to speak much English couldn't have been more helpful. We both chose veal steaks cooked in different ways which came after some local starters. They were absolutely delicious, tender & tasteful. Would definitely recommend a visit here for a good local meal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
204 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Excellent option in Vidago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I've stayed in Vidago for 5 days and every night we went to this restaurant.
The menu is quite big and you can have different food every night, besides you can also ask them to make special dishes (which I recommend) or special starters.
The meat is very good and also the quality of the vegetables, I believe in this part of the country you can find some of the better quality products which helps a lot in making the food very tasty.
Besides the food the Wine List is also good, even the "house Wine" is very good.
I Highly recommend going to Quinta dos Carvalhos if you want to enjoy well made, reasonably priced and genuine Portuguese food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quinta dos Carvalhos also viewed

Vidago, Vila Real District
Vidago, Vila Real District
 
Chaves, Vila Real District
Chaves, Vila Real District
 

Been to Quinta dos Carvalhos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta dos Carvalhos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.