We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Laughing Monk Restaurant

The Laughing Monk Restaurant
Totnes Road, Strete, Dartmouth TQ6 0RN, England
01803 770639
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Strete
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Family owned restaurant, relaxed atmosphere, serving the best local produce available. We are not a fine dinning restaurant but serving great food is our passion
Dartmouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

It has taken us some time to make it to this amazing restaurant.Just had a really memorable meal, nothing disappointed & will be sure to recommend. Pork belly was mouth watering...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    42
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I have enjoyed dining at the Laughing Monk over two owners and many years. It continues to go from strength to strength and is now a first class restaurant in every sense.
The welcome is warm, friendly and sincere, the atmosphere convivial, the service attentive and the food beautifully presented and excellent in quality and taste.
The menu is comprehensive with some outstanding choices available.
This restaurant hidden away in a South Devon cliff top village only a few miles from Dartmouth is outstanding in a quiet and unobtrusive way.
It really is a surprising MUST visit for both locals and visitors.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Out of this world!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We visited the Laughing Monk with our friend June on the 22nd March.
After being highly recommended to the restaurant we were definitely not disappointed.
Jackie who runs front of house was very friendly and welcoming and that was the
start of a wonderful experience. The food from start to finish was of generous portions
and cooked by Ben to perfection. Without a doubt this restaurant is one of the best
in the area and we cannot wait to go again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Came here for an evening birthday meal.
Informal yet smart dining area.
Good quality wine list at respectable prices.
Starters were both excellent - salt beef combination very good flavours.
Both fish mains were high quality, well cooked and of good proportions (i.e. plenty of fish!).
"All in" inc. wine and service - £100 which is actually pretty good considering the ambience/the food and plenty of alcohol! Recommended

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

What a delightful place to eat. We ate the fish platter with a spicy aioli sauce and chips. It was absolutely delicious and the chips were thick and tasted like Heston's twice cooked ones. We had home mad chocolates with our coffee which were a lovely touch and very decadent! liked the fact that they had art for sale on the walls. You get a feel for the community spirit of the place. The hostess was delightful. I shall definitely go back next time I am in Devon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Laughing Monk Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Laughing Monk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Laughing Monk Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.