We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Laughing Monk Restaurant

The Laughing Monk Restaurant
Totnes Road, Strete, Dartmouth TQ6 0RN, England
01803 770639
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Strete
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Family owned restaurant, relaxed atmosphere, serving the best local produce available. We are not a fine dinning restaurant but serving great food is our passion
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Outstanding food, great hospitality and a great way to spend my 30th B'day with the family. I can strongly recommend the Laughing Monk.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    39
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Staying locally, great early meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a three day break in the area, and after a day in the wind and plenty of walking, we visited for an early dinner.

I do always find it amusing in a near empty restaurant when asked if I have a booking, as even when we left there were only 20% of tables occupied. But I realise this is to welcome those who HAVE! A better response in this circumstance to "Table for two?" might be "Yes, of course. Do you have a booking?". This isn't a problem specific to this restaurant and we were warmly welcomed, but seeing the owner comments below I can tell that every little can make a difference, so there's a suggestion.

Good idea, particularly in such a seasonal location, to have an early meal arrangement, to get two potential uses of tables.

We had a great meal and I have to say that the spicy pumpkin (?) soup was out of this world - creamy, smooth but thick, hot, spicy and warming. Perfect after a windy autumn day.

I agree with a previous writer about the pork belly. It was beautifully presented, and the crackling was great, but the balance of fat versus meat was almost too overpowering for me. Maybe that's how it's meant to be, but it took the edge off for me.

The restaurant itself is very cosy(don't look for windows but do look at nice lights for example) and it's clear the owners have and do put a lot of effort into it. Very friendly, advice on other places to go - and a lot of walking for them in the course of the evening!

Thanks for a lovely visit. Thoroughly recommended as a location and a good value menu served by nice people.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Local Restaurant for High Quality Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Delicious menu, cooked and presented to the highest standards, terrific value for money, great portion size and excellent customer service with nothing too much trouble. We eat all over the country and would recommend The Laughing Monk as being one of the best places of its kind. It's easy to park in this lovely Devon coastal village, and all-in-all it is a stress-free and highly pleasurable experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Recommend this as an excellent all round eating experience- wonderful well presented food to suit all tastes with friendly helpful and sensitive service in relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A note to the owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Hi. I found your restaurant through Google and decided to check reviews on Tripadvisor before making a booking. The majority of reviews are excellent. Can I gently point out that your responses to the few grumbles are more likely to put me off a visit than the grumbles themselves. Please take a deep breath, ignore the comments, and concentrate on your obviously fabulous restaurant. I found your responses patronising and sarcastic, and you are not doing yourself any favours by reacting in such a way. If your customers feel unable to air their views at the time (so you can deal with them there and then) then rise above.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benh1chef, Owner at The Laughing Monk Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent review and comments. We find Tripadvisor to be a good marketing tool and it does help our business to a certain degree. However hard work, countless hours, excellent customer care and years of experience is what really makes us a good restaurant. So when someone writes a negative review about our restaurant without really thinking about what they are saying it can be upsetting. I try not to take it too seriously and whilst I thank every single person who has taken the time to write a positive review, I urge anyone else who is thinking of visiting us please give us a try and we promise to do our best to make your visit one to remember. Thanks!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Laughing Monk Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Laughing Monk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Laughing Monk Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.