We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect. Loved every second!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frogwell

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strete
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frogwell
Save
You added Frogwell to your Saves list
Frogwell, Strete, Dartmouth TQ6 0RH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Norfolk, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect. Loved every second!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

What can I say. Me, my husband and baby stayed in the studio apartment and it was perfect. The cleanest place I have ever stayed in. Very pretty decor. The views are amazing. The owners Linda and Derek are very welcoming and helpful, nothing is to much for them. The gardens are so pretty. I honestly couldn't fault our stay here. The bed was very comfy, great power shower. We enjoyed frogwell and the area so much we would love to go back. Perfect weekend away! Thank you very much.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Lovely owners made us feel so welcome and gave us the biggest pot of tea and slice of cake.

Great room with complimentary chocolates and comfy bath robes is such a nice touch

You can walk the coastal path from the back garden.

Looking forward to breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in the garden room which was stylish, very clean and well equipped. Plenty of storage, and great shower. Beautiful garden, with perfect breakfasts in the conservatory. Hosts very friendly and welcoming.
Location also very good with 2 options for food in the Kings Arms and the Laughing Monk a few minutes walk away in the village; the south west Coastal path right on the doorstep; and public transport if you fancy leaving the car behind altogether or once you get there.
Walked to Dartmouth along the coast, which was beautiful. A bit steep at first and a few edges and ups and downs but well maintained. I had on walking boots, which helped me, but many others in lighter footwear and mix of fields, cliff tops and quiet lanes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent a very happy few days in this beautiful part of South Devon. Frogwell was the perfect base, with the most helpful and welcoming, but not intrusive hosts. What nicer after a 200mile journey on a hot day to be welcomed with tea and cake on the lawn. The Studio is lovely and we made a special effort to get back early on our last night to enjoy a long time overlooking the beautiful views to the sea. The breakfasts were great, and the small details and thoughtfulness made our stay a very happy one. It was only a short walk away to the local pub for a good meal, and to the Laughing Monk for a special one. We would love to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

and our second visit which we were very much looking forward to it. We spend four nights in the Studio Room overlooking the meadows and the sea beyond. We loved this room. This b&b is a real treat and beautifully kept and run by the owners. A warm welcome and tea and cake on arrival is a lovely way to start the holiday. Frogwells is situated about mins walk from the nearest beach and there are other lovely coastal villages within easy reach and of course Dartmouth.

Breakfast is delicious with a good choice of fruit, yoghurt and cereal and of course cooked! Frogwells is a firm favourite of ours and we always look forward to going back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are situated off the garden, two form part of the main cottage but both have their own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Wonderful, comfortable room with nice, unexpected touches such as terrycloth robes, ferrer rocher chocolates. Lovely breakfast. Wonderful location with views to the sea and a 5-10 minute walk to secluded beaches and coves. Would definitely recommend and return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A beautiful area and a lovely property situated in pretty gardens with a good view. The room we had was beautifully appointed to a high standard. We found the owners to be very friendly and welcoming with a cup of tea a cake upon our arrival. Tasty breakfast with a wide choice of what to have. We only booked for one night but would definitely consider booking for longer on another occasion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frogwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogwell

Address: Frogwell, Strete, Dartmouth TQ6 0RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Strete
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Strete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frogwell self catering accommodationis situated approximately 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of Dartmouth, Devon and is one of the oldest houses in Strete dating back to the 16th century. It is within walking distance of the famous award winning Blackpool Sands beach . We are ideally placed to explore many of the fabulous local attractions The Self Catering Studio is a luxury and superbly appointed large private studio with panoramic views over the beautiful local Devon coastline. Situated separate to the main house with its own access and parking this is a spacious, light, airy, vaulted, centrally heated room with its own private en-suite facilities including balcony and patio. The kitchen contains a oven/grill, ceramic hobs and large fridge with freezer compartment This studio is very well suited to couples seeking some privacy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frogwell Strete, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frogwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.