We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for the Great Food / night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meads in Bali

Meads in Bali
Jl Pratama | Tangjung Benoa, Tanjung Benoa, Bali, Indonesia
+62-361-776604
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Australian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Meads in Bali is the brain child of Warren Mead from Perth,Western Australia. The concept is simplicity in style,Fresh seafood daily from the fish market - Squid,Oysters,Prawns,Snapper. NOT Frozen & cooked with simple procedures used in Meads Restaurants for the last 35years. The staff are Family style friendly, the restaurant is Beach Bar Fresh & Breezy, clourful,clean with an ambience that just makes you want to relax & feel at home.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Thanks for the Great Food / night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Visited for dinner during a recent visit to Bali and was not disappointed, actually it was one of the best meal we had in Bali and would have gone back again if we were'nt going home the next day. We were greeted by Warren & Alfie who were very helpful with the menu and suggested a few meals and we were very happy with our meals ( Red Emperor ). We will return for another meal or two when we return to bali in Oct . Do your self a favour and try this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadsinbali, General Manager at Meads in Bali, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing to dine at Meads in Bali on the last night of your recent holiday. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the Fresh Red Emperor dishes. We really appreciate you telling others to try our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you back at Meads in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    374
    131
    23
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Visited recently for lunch. They were true to their word and paid for the taxi we took from the Grant Hyatt in Nusa Dhua. Didn't really know what to expect as there were some mixed reviews however the seafood was sublime and with a very good menu which should satisfy most tastes. It was so good in fact we will return there for dinner tonight

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadsinbali, General Manager at Meads in Bali, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi David, thank you for dining at & supporting Meads in Bali, it was good to see you both again last night. Glad to hear you enjoyed the baked avocado with snapper, squid & prawns so much. Followed by the fresh Barramundi & Lobster Mornay. We look forward to seeing you back at Meads on your next visit to Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great placebto eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Meads is an excellent seafood restaurant. Good service, beautiful fresh seafood, cooked reLy well. Helped to make my birthday celebrations complete. Warren's reputation as a great restuaranter in Perth has followed him to his new venture in Benoa Bali.
Excellent on all counts.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadsinbali, General Manager at Meads in Bali, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi Lorna, thank you for choosing to celebrate your Birthday at Meads in Bali. We are very happy to hear you all enjoyed the evening, especially the fresh seafood dishes. Apologies for writing Happy Birthday laura & not Lorna on your Special Birthday Dessert platter :)
We look forward to seeing you all again on your next visit to Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oh Warren the disappointment!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Having been hyped up over the rave reviews of Meads we ventured there for Sunday lunch to find we were the only patrons--not a great sign. The decor is very Bahamas with the white can settings.We were warmly welcomed by the staff & the English manager & selected a prawn starter & 3 fish main from the recommended Specials. To say we were disappointed with the meals would be an understatement--very bland without much flavour & the fish accompanied with instant mash potato!!! Unfortunately for the prices charged the value was not obvious compared to meals we have enjoyed in Seminyak. Perhaps 1 lunch is not a fair assessment of Meads & we may return for a dinner at some stage, but on our experience it would be difficult to recommend.During our meal we were entertained with the staff playing on the pool table.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadsinbali, General Manager at Meads in Bali, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi Ken, thank you for chosing to have lunch at Meads in Bali instead of driving from Ungasan to Semniyak. We are a little confused by your review, as the guest comments card you completed on the day of your visit says, Quote 'Food & Service Very Good. Will try dinner with more atmosphere!'. The majority of restaurants in the Tanjung Benoa area are quiet at lunchtime, evening dinner is the best time to come if you are looking for more atmosphere.
We hope that you will try Meads for Dinner one evening & Warren will personally make sure it is a good experience for you. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great 60th Birthday at Meads in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had my 60th birthday at Meads in Bali. This was pre-booked and they made the night very special. We were greated at the door by Alfie, the manager, and right away felt welcome. The resturant is open and modern with a beach feel, there is even sand under your feet at the front section. The food was fantastic and the service excellent. They even gave me the name of the lobster before it was served, Larry !! The atmosphere is very friendly and fun. They then brought out a fabulous chocolate cake and evryone in the resturant sang happy birthday. We had eaten so much the cake was then shared with others. Great food, great fun and would highloy recomend a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadsinbali, General Manager at Meads in Bali, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hi Lorna, Thank you for choosing Meads in Bali to celebrate your 60th Birthday. It was a pleasure to meet you all & to hear it was a fun evening for everyone. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the 'Larry' the Lobster dish along with the other Fresh seafood. We really appreciate you recommending others to dine at Meads & look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meads in Bali also viewed

Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Meads in Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meads in Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.