We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, relaxing and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Tropic Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bali Tropic Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Bali Tropic Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Pratama 34A, Tanjung Benoa, Bali 80363, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Tanjung Benoa
Devon,
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great resort, relaxing and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I booked this resort after doing a lot of research online. It seemed to offer the best deal for the price, although a few reviews said it was tired and the staff were not helpful. I didn't find that at all. The room I was in (1087) was lovely, clean and well presented. The staff were fine and helpful and even the ones that didn't speak perfect English, we got through it fine. The pool was lovely and clean. The beach just a stones throw away. I went in January and it was quite quite in the resort, but that is what I went for to get away and relax. It was perfect.

The restaurant across the road from the resort was great and the Mini Mart next door stocked drinks and toiletries.

The common areas were good. Clean and well presented. The only down side was there was no wifi in the rooms, only the lobby but that is more a reflection on my dependence on technology rather than an inadequacy of the resort.

I would stay again and good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    156
    57
    25
    12
See reviews for
61
257
18
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gianyar, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel have a great beach area, they have many sunbathing chairs, spread around so we have options for spot. Our kids can play soccer and sands, while we relax on chairs, and still can watch them, and no worries for waves coming to them, cause they split/manage the area very good.
Not heard any greeting or hello, from any other staff, so i dont know how to explain their services.
The rooms are in balinesse style, huge bathroom, but old style, thats it.
Breakfast is so so, nothing special, nothing fancy.
Swimming pool for kids to small, and the depth for adults pool not fit for asian, its 170cm depth, teenager from westener found difficult as well.
We stay there after new year, this is our second hotel.

Room Tip: If you need quality sleep, stay away from pool area, my suggestion, choose between pool and theater
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We booked our room through Expedia, which was offering a “flash deal”, and after reading the raving reviews so many had written on tripadvisor, we decided to take a chance on this resort. Our booking was for a deluxe bungalow with one large bed and a roll-in bed for our daughter. We confirmed our request with Expedia and with the actual hotel on two separate occasions by email and by phone, with the last confirmation two days prior to our arrival on December 27th, and we were assured that our room would have one large bed and a roll-in.

Upon entering the room—room 1052, there were two twin beds and a roll-in bed. When we inquired about the mistake at the front desk, we learned that the Bali Tropic Resort and Spa retains the right to give away your booked and confirmed room on a first-come-first-serve basis. We were told they charge the same room rate for all rooms, so there is no difference in price—the only difference in rooms is that you get either two twin beds or one large bed. After having Expedia call the hotel, they finally agreed to change our room the next day to one that had one large bed and the roll-in bed.

Settling into our room, it was quite apparent that this was definitely a sub-standard ill-maintained hotel. The rooms are quite tired and worn, and a bit on the small side for the price they charge. At one time, the Bali Tropic Resort and Spa may have been a beautiful and well-kept establishment, but it no longer is. The air conditioner leaked water all over the roll-in bed, which then had to be moved away from the wall, creating an obstacle course between the larger bed and roll-in bed—reflecting how small the rooms really are. The room was infested with mosquitoes, and although the two twin beds have curtains you can draw around the beds, I am guessing to reduce mosquito access, it did little to prevent the nighttime feasting that occurred—not to mention the roll-in bed had zero protection and my teen daughter was successfully feasted on.

The next morning we were switched to room 2034, which has a large bed and they eventually, after hours, brought in the roll-in bed for our daughter. This room had a musty stench, and the toilet area wreaked of urine and next to the toilet the wall seemed to be splattered with brownish colored drips. On the plus side, the beds are comfortable. If one is considering the Bali Tropic Resort and Spa, the rooms are not family friendly. The bathroom/shower area has no door that can be used for privacy, but the toilet is enclosed behind a door in a separate room within the main bathroom area. Please make sure you draw the thick curtains in the main bedroom before undressing in the bathroom, because the way the mirror is situated in the bathroom, you just might be providing a free-peep show to other hotel dwellers.

On our second night, not only were we feasted on by mosquitoes, but we heard buzzing—yes bees in the room. In the early morning hours, there were at least 5 bees swarming in the toilet room, with more in the window. After closer inspection, it became apparent that they were nesting in the roof and getting in through an area outside our room that had a missing panel of wood. They had made their nest in the roof, and then were able to get in through the spaces in the wood slats of the ceiling and light fixture in the toilet room. We called the front desk about this twice and even showed them pictures, but nothing was done.

The rooms are not very clean, and with all the aesthetic wood embellishments, it has become quite dusty from lack of care. We watched one of the house-cleaning people actually dip the toilet brush in the toilet and clean the toilet seat. Their insufficient attempt at keeping control of mosquitoes consisted of a brief spray of repellent from a can during their quick housekeeping sessions. However, housekeeping does come and change linen daily, but the sheets are stained with what looked to be blood. I could overlook an isolated incident of stained sheets, but when the large bed had these stains and the roll-in bed as well on 3 separate occasions, it points to inefficient quality assurance by the Bali Tropic Resort and Spa’s management. Room service dishes collected outside our room for a day and a half, and were finally picked up after 3 calls, but we noticed this to be the case outside many rooms on the premise.

The Bali Tropic Resort and Spa has a smoking problem, and may even be pumping nicotine into the air to attract smokers. The heavy humid air is scented with residual cigarette smoke from the majority of guests who were smokers. This definitely falls on the hotel for lack of quality assurance in specifying designated areas for smokers. For instance, in the Cempaka restaurant, they split the room in half between smoking and non-smoking, but because of this even split and placement of smokers, the smoke just travels into the non-smoking section. As a once smoker myself, it appears that not every smoker has consideration and smoking etiquette, therefore it becomes the hotel’s responsibility to regulate this—Bali Tropic Resort and Spa does not.

As far as Wi-Fi goes, there is no Wi-Fi in individual rooms, but the hotel offers ‘free’ Wi-Fi in the lobby. If you can even get connected, it is spotty. You can go across the street to the La Men restaurant for good food at less cost than Bali Tropic Resort and Spa’s room service or restaurants offer, and you can get good quality Wi-Fi connection for free. Also, across the street from the hotel there is a Guardian pharmacy and a mini-mart.

The drainage system on the premises of the Bali Tropic Resort and Spa is insufficient, and flooding during the frequent rain is a problem that causes the walking paths to be sludgy and slick.

In addition, most hotel resorts in Thailand, Malaysia, and Indonesia that we have stayed in all post their time and day schedule for when they carry out mosquito fogging of the premises, and not once did we hear or see evidence that the Bali Tropic Resort and Spa is actually doing this. With Dengue being a serious concern in Indonesia, and many other regions in this Asian area, you would think that a hotel would do more to control for this.

On a good note, the Bali Tropic Resort and Spa serves a breakfast buffet in the Cempaka restaurant, which was quite good, and had a nice selection of brioche, croissants, pancakes, an omelette/egg station, bacon, sausage, and other local selections. Unfortunately, on our first night, we had dinner at the open-air restaurant, the Ratna, and were quite disappointed. There were ants crawling all over the buffet area and tables, the food was awful with a spicy beef stroganoff concoction of extremely tough meat, boneless chicken breast that was so dried out, and most of the food was cold or tepid—very expensive meal for very poor quality. We did have dinner on another night in the Cempaka and ordered al a carte, again, this was expensive and the food was just mediocre. A suggestion would be to take the Bali Tropic Resort and Spa’s free shuttle to the Bali Collection mall and eat at one of the many restaurants there such as the Frangipani Bar & Restaurant. Most of the restaurants at the Bali Collection mall will also pick you up at the hotel and take you back when you are done—free of charge!

Another plus at the Bali Tropic Resort and Spa is their spa facility and services. Of course you will pay more than you would in one of the local places, but the customer care we received at the spa was one of the few pleasantries offered at the Bali Tropic Resort and Spa. I had a mani/pedi done by Satri and she was fabulous, thorough, and kind—very professional.
One more positive is the beach that guests staying at the Bali Tropic Resort and Spa have access too. It was clean and nicely maintained. However, you must get out to the beach very early to claim a lounge chair and umbrella, because there are not enough to accommodate, but the pool area is clustered with lots of lounge chairs, although you also have to claim them early.

Overall, who wants to stay in a hotel where you have to spend all your time complaining? It made for a very unenjoyable stay, especially when the complaints were never addressed. In part, some of these problems may be due to the language barrier that exists and much of the staff does not understand what exactly you are asking. The Bali Tropic Resort and Spa is not in the hospitality business, they are obviously about making money, which is why you pay high prices for a sub-standard experience. It is very unfortunate, because the Bali Tropic Resort and Spa has such potential, and it really needs some tender loving care, and better quality assurance by its management. It is evident that the Bali Tropic Resort and Spa invests very little of its profits back into this establishment

Room Tip: -Bring lots of mosquito repellent and maybe something to repel bees -Pack raincoats or rain ponchos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Very tired resort, nice beach side location.
We saw mice in the dining room, and we had one in our bedroom! We were told that this was the tropics and to be expected! We live in Singapore and don't have mice in our houses they did let us move rooms, to a much larger one, which was nice of them ! The quality of this room was so poor, the bathroom is so old and in desperate need of renovation. The sailing was limited, you have to be taken by a member of staff. A lot of the windsurfers were broken. The staff were helpful. Spa was good. Buffet food not great. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Nice hotel at nusa dua.we r a couple.friendly staff.beware if u want taxi for dinner they will try to hook u up with the tourist trap restaurant.the reception guy keep insisting on one restaurant although I want to go to other.maybe they receive comission.our room was nice but had problem with aircon wich was later fixed.there was knocking sound the whole day from some reno.complained but they never stop.
Hotel surrounding landscape was excellent . breakfast was lausy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We asked for a double bed and booked month ahead on wotif. On entering room there was two single beds. When my girlfriend asked for another room staff told her "jump in bed with him than jump out other bed when finished" they refused change bed my girlfriend saying it "was subject avaliability making her cry. Only when i got involved did they upgrade our room - i was very angry and allsudden very accomadating.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The resort have a private beach which I really liked, its beautiful and calm nice to go for a swim. the resort itself is average the food is not bad and the service is good. they do have lots of activities you can do while you are in the resort which I thought was very good and interesting.

The spa service was not professional up to my standards. I booked a appointment 1 month before I arrived at the hotel with a special discount and it was all confirmed and finalized but when I arrived and called them to reconfirm my appointment they said they cant give that discount anymore because it was a special promotion which I thought was very unprofessional since they knew my arrival date when I booked it. they didn't even inform me about this change via email. after i explained the situation to them and how i thought it was not right they agreed to give the discount promised, then after 10 min they called back to tell me that they cant offer the same discount so I canceled the appointment after another 30 min they called again saying that they can offer the same discount and if I would like to have the treatment by that time I was over it so didn't pursue it.

Also beware of the water-sport counter at the hotels private beach, they try to rip you off. don't pay they the full amount of money till you finish your activities because they try to take the money first and then say that its not available and would you like to do something else

Room Tip: Good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Tropic Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Tropic Resort and Spa

Address: Jl. Pratama 34A, Tanjung Benoa, Bali 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bali Tropic Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bali Tropic Resort & Spa is both all-inclusive & regular hotel that epitomizes the authentic Balinese architecture and style fringed by powdery white-sand and crystalline seas. It combines nature, rejuvenating spa treatments, Gymnasium, Kids club and a host of recreational activities to give guests the ultimate tropical retreat. Accommodation detail: In 2,8 hectare of land we had 150 rooms which consist of: 34 Deluxe rooms - 46 square meters 96 Deluxe bungalows - 52 square meters 14 Royal rooms - 72 square meters 6 Suite rooms - 83 square meters Food & Beverage Facilities detail : 4 Restaurants & 5 Bars a. Cempaka restaurant & Bar, Balinese & Indonesian serving lunch & dinner b. Soka Restaurant & bar, 24 hrs coffee shop serving international food & drinks c. Ratna Restaurant & bar, Grilled seafood & meats its open for lunch & dinner d. Melati lounge & Bar , Light snack & Creative cocktail bar its open for dinner e. Pool Bar, Its open from 9 am - 18 pm f. Rijasa Lobby Bar, its open from 10 am - 24 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Bali Tropic Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Tropic Hotel Nusa Dua
Bali Tropic Resort Spa
Bali Tropic Resort And Spa Tanjung Benoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Tropic Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.