We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solid 4 star, excellent value for money, highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Bali Benoa

Save Saved
You added Novotel Bali Benoa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Bali Benoa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Pratama 70, Tanjung Benoa, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Tanjung Benoa
Brussels
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“solid 4 star, excellent value for money, highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This resort served perfectly my objectives this time:
1, Not over the top expansive in absolute terms
2, relatively, the money was very well spent: beach front resort, nice architecture (key for the escape holiday effect!!), clean and comfortable rooms, good swimming pools, excellent breakfast (the buffet breakfast is 5-star)
3, close enough to the airport but does not suffer too much from traffic.
4, also - extremely reasonable food, drinks, and spa prices - that was a surprise.

Do note, however, these points which I didn't like so much (but that's why it is not a 5-star resort):
1, nothing is meticulously done: the booking of airport transfer involved confusion (hotel "confirming" the booking and then telling me there is no booking - FOR BOTH ARRIVAL AND DEPARTURE), the ordering of drinks at the bar (taking and delivering wrong orders), very small details but hey - important for hospitality business?
2, beach is nice but not WOW. also, a lot of motor-watersport making a lot of noise mostly before lunch time. having said that - perfectly good for swimming (very shallow, and virtually no wave (they all break like 1 km offshore).

Personal preference for room - garden side as far away from the road (around cocokiss pool/bar) would be ideal - zero noise. beach side... less attractive.. the only advantage is that you dont needa cross the road but this is totally no issue.


all in all, this is an excellent choice for the price range - and like said by many before, perfect for family with kids. Top choice for tropic escape break without wanting to splurge.

Room Tip: Personal preference for room - garden side as far away from the road (around cocokiss pool/bar) woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel B, General Manager at Novotel Bali Benoa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear freakytsz,
thank for very much for this detailed review on your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning the items where we can improve and I am sorry this was not up to our standards. Both issues will be discussed with our department heads to improve our services.
Great you liked our Deluxe Rooms and thank you for recommending our resort.
Best regards, Alexander Poindl, General Manager, h1922-gm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    768
    682
    189
    64
    27
See reviews for
718
692
49
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great staff with big smiles all the time! They served very good local plus western food. The room is clean but not too spacious, just nice for couple but would be lil narrow if you were to add additional bed. Overall is good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel B, General Manager at Novotel Bali Benoa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Nat T,
thank you for your review on your stay with us and happy to read you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again and best regards
Alexander Poindl, General Manager, h1922-gm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

To stay at the Novotel Benoa is a true privilege. I have travelled the world on and off for the past 25 years but never have I encountered an experience as well thought out and executed.

I guess I should admit upfront that I'm no fan of big resorts. In saying that I should also say that the Novotel Benoa feels more like a boutique hotel than a full-scale resort due to the low-rise buildings, the lush tropical landscaping and the availability of delicious high quality local food served at, what I consider to be, reasonable prices.

The resort itself is tastefully constructed -- Balinese style -- from natural materials such as wood, thatch, and sandstone. However what appears simple is actually about masterful design and attention to detail. The beautiful beach-side pool (one of three) for example contains sunken sandstone 'beds' that are slightly submerged for those wishing to bake in the sun or read a book without feeling too hot. Many of the common areas are open air, sitting below thatched roofs with fans to keep things cool. So well designed is the resort, that even with 85% occupancy, there is none of the hustle and bustle you might expect when people compete for a place by the pool, a seat to watch a show featuring traditional Balinese dancers or a great spot to eat (the incredible) breakfast and people watch in the mornings; rather the atmosphere feels relaxed and even (thankfully) tranquil day and night.

The staff here deliver service at its best; from the man who keeps the paths clean, to the food and beverage manager who introduces himself to you and then memorises the names of your children - everyone here gives you genuine warm smiles when you encounter them, and calmly but willingly provides you with what you need when you need it, including a beautifully clean and well maintained environment.

There are opportunities to interact with other guests (many of whom seem to be from Australia, France or Germany), by the pools, during the daily activities the resort provides (dressing up local style, aqua aerobics, night markets...) or at the kids club (if you are travelling with the vertically challenged). However, there are plenty of quiet spaces for those who just want to sit quietly and chill out.

Benoa itself is no great highlight. The beach is nice and quiet and there is only a small number of people wanting to sell you things. Food-wise, Bumboo Bali serves delicious local food and offers cooking lessons for those wanting to take a little bit of Bali back with them. The two most popular restaurants - Glaze and Bali Cardamon - underwhelmed me. Also - from my point of view - the shops are nothing to bother about.

So what would I change? Pretty much nothing if I wanted a holiday with kids where I'd be happy to sit by the pool all day.


Will I be back sometime? I sure hope so!

Room Tip: We stayed beach-side, next to the adjoining property. In my opinion the extra price was well worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel B, General Manager at Novotel Bali Benoa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Nova F,
thank you so much for this review, it made our day. It always feels great when we can make our guests' stay memorable and when our services and offers are appreciated. I already shared this review with my team and all of us are proud we could make your stay special.
Hope to see you again and best regards
Alexander Poindl, General Manager, h1922-gm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is set in a beautiful beach-front area at the edge of Nusa Dua, Bali, with a lovely swimming pool. 5-star friendly service and food!
They have nightly entertainment in the hotel. And there is also a cafe on the beach, perfect for sun-set.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel B, General Manager at Novotel Bali Benoa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear MinAde,
thank you so much for your positive comments on your stay with us. My team and I are glad you had a great holiday in our resort and thank you for rewarding us with 5-stars for our friendliness and our food :).
Looking forward to welcoming you again and best regards
Alexander Poindl, General Manager, h1922-gm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A very convenience hotel. We stayed in deluxe room and the room was spacious, clean, with sofa, and terrace. They provide free drinking water in a dispenser in the alley.The wardrobe was uniquely designed when you can open it from the room and also from the bathroom. The hotel has 2 location: the beach side and the garden side. The deluxe rooms located in the garden side, and it has 2 swimming pools. If we want to have the breakfast, or just sit in their cozy lobby or go to the beach, we just accross the street where there is always a guard who will help us. The beach itself is stunning, white sand with a very clear water. Don't bother to bring your sunblock, since the hotel provide it near the pools. The breakfast has more variety for western food instead of local food. It's a perfect location for you who want to spend your day enjoying the beach and the hotel also provide many programs, but it quite far if you want to go to shopping to Kuta-Legian-Seminyak area

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel B, General Manager at Novotel Bali Benoa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Widhy,
thank you very much for this kind review and we are happy you enjoyed our hotel and our beach.
Great to read you enjoyed our offers and services and we hope to see you again in our resort.
Best regards, Alexander Poindl, General Manager, h1922-gm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I travelled with my 13 year old son and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff - we had chickens up early near our first room but we were changed swiftly to another room on the other side 335 which was a garden room which had a great oval bath and lots of space in the room.

Breakfast was exceptional if anything ran out they would replenish and everything was fresh - the themed nights are good - if thats not for you plenty of fab restaurants a stones throw away.

The spa was fab very very professsional and excellent treatments and good value for money.

This hotel made you feel like family and it has made me want to return year after year like some guests do - thankyou to the watersports centre especially maid who looked after my son very well - customer services is the best i have ever experienced and they mean it they really want to help and make yu have a fab stay - well done and thankyou

Room Tip: 335 - Fab room and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel B, General Manager at Novotel Bali Benoa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Sarah S,
thank you for this great review and we are happy you enjoyed all our services. I will share this review with all my team, it is always a great motivation for us when our efforts are appreciated.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you soon again at our resort.
Best regards, Alexander Poindl, General Manager, h1922-gm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We returned to the Novotel Bali Benoa again for another family holiday. It was another great experience and everything went to plan.

This year we used the hotel airport transport service instead or organizing it ourselves. This service was very good, easy and well priced.

The food and rooms were as per last time, and the staff helpful and friendly as always.
I am sure we will be back (again)

Room Tip: We booked two interconnecting rooms (one for us and one for the children), and requested ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel B, General Manager at Novotel Bali Benoa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear kiwitraveller541,
thank you for staying with us again and for your positive review. We are happy you had another great stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back in 2014.
Best regards, Alexander Poindl, General Manager, h1922-gm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Bali Benoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bali Benoa

Address: Jl. Pratama 70, Tanjung Benoa, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#2 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bali Benoa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Benoa Bali is located at the edge of Nusa Dua, overlooking the golden sands of Tanjung Benoa beach. The resort has been created using traditional Balinese architecture which provides a unique atmosphere set within luscious tropical gardens.The hotel has 179 rooms each with a coconut wood interior design and either a balcony or a garden. There are 8 villas designed in a magnificent tropical style, each with a private swimming pool, an open-air living room, a bathroom with a whirlpool and a rain shower, an espresso machine and a spacious dressing room. Moreover, the luxurious 2-bedroom beachfront villa has all of the above facilities as well as an amazing view overlooking the ocean.The resort offers a variety of dining options including a daily theme buffet dinner, a beach restaurant, a pool restaurant and 3 relaxing bars. A daily entertainment program is provided all day through until the evening. Activities are available everyday for children at the Kids Club. Sport facilities include 3 swimming pools with 2 whirlpools, a tennis court and a fitness center, beach activities including volleyball. Specially designed indoor and outdoor beachfront "bale" spa for rejuvenating. Water sports are available nearby. A free shuttle bus gives access to Bali Collection shopping center in Nusa Dua. Parking and Wifi in the lobby area are also complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, AsiaRooms, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Novotel Bali Benoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bali Benoa Hotel Tanjung Benoa
Novotel Hotel Bali Benoa
Novotel Hotel Tanjungbenoa
Novotel Nusa Dua
Novotel Benoa Bali
Nusa Dua Novotel
Novotel Bali Benoa Tanjung Benoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Bali Benoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.