We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sakala Bali

Sakala Bali
Jl. Pratama 88 | Nusa Dua, Tanjung Benoa, Bali 80363, Indonesia
+62 361 774499+62 361 774499
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $75
Cuisines: European, French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I dined here last night. There was function outside so we were only able to get a table inside. We were collected from the hotel by a lovely staff member and upon arriving at the restaurant, we were blown away by the grand entrance. Inside, we sat in a booth looking over the pool area. For entree, I had the Mediterranean Salad and my husband enjoyed the Quail, both were delicious. For main, we devoured the Baby Pork and Waygu Beef Fillet. We managed to make room for dessert and I'm glad we did. On Dewi's suggestion, I tried the Oasis; a refreshing combination of mandarin, mangosteen, snakefruit and sorbets. My husband loved the Bounty; a twist on the well known chocolate bar. The staff were professional and attentive yet down to earth. Some fine dining restaurants in Sydney (Rockpool, I'm talking to you) could learn from Sakala! Thank you to all the wonderful staff who made our night; a very special thanks to Dewi who took great care of us. The food was well priced for the quality. The only downside was the lack of variety in the wine on offer. However this seems to be normal for Bali. Also, as we were the only other table dining whilst the function was on, the atmosphere was a little lacking but obviously this was just a one off. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna R, Public Relations Manager at Sakala Bali, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Srt113,

Bounty and The Baby Pork were two of the guests' favorites - you have opted the perfect menus !

And thank you for sharing with us your valuable information. Please feel free to call us at +62-775.216 ext. 7406 should you are heading to The Sakala, Bali on your next visit - feel free to ask our Sommelier should you wish to have your preferred wine...

Best regards,
Anna Roemokoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    203
    38
    4
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Vue de Monde meets bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We ate here last year when it had only been open a short while. It was Devine! Service was great, atmosphere was awesome and the food amongst the best I have eaten. Definitely coming back when we arrive in a few weeks time!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna R, Public Relations Manager at Sakala Bali, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Michaelajt73,

Welcome back !
It would be a pleasure to be able to host you again - we certainly look forward to welcome our devoted guests back to The Sakala...

Best regards,
Anna Roemokoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fabulous dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We ate here last week and it was one of the highlights of our time in Nusa Dua. The pick up and drop off service was appreciated. My husband was keen to try the 8 course degustation and we were both not disappointed. We have eaten at Restaurant Amuse in Perth and I didn't think anything could beat that, but Sakala was at least equal in the wow factor and taste.
Expensive for Bali but excellent value when compared to Perth prices

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna R, Public Relations Manager at Sakala Bali, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Mary_AnnePerthWA,

The Epicurean Menu - our 8-course extravagant dinner menu - is definitely the highlight of The Sakala, Bali ! We wish to be able to welcome you and your husband back on your next trip and introduce you to our favorites.

Until then, we wish you a wonderful day,
Anna Roemokoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Exquisite restaurant ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I can only say this place is just amazing. When i booked, ask them to do something special because it's for my mum's birthday and apparently the did exquisite job!
My mum had a fantastic birthday ever in her whole life. She nearly cried when the staff came and sang happy birthday on our table. Food was scrumptious with really beautiful arrangement. The staff were so attentive from the greeter, attendant, sommelier, chef and also the manager. Hats off for all of them. Can't stop raving at everyone in Darwin since i got home telling them how good is this place.
Keep up your good work and would love to come back here anytime soon if i'm in Bali.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna R, Public Relations Manager at Sakala Bali, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear gimmiegimmies,

Once again, have a happy birthday to your lovely mother and may all the best be granted all the years through !

We thank you for choosing The Sakala as the venue for your exceptional event - and sharing your experience with all of us here in TripAdvisor. Look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next visit !

Best wishes from Chedi Sakala management and team,
Anna Roemokoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fine dining - full of flavour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on sat 28th of September and very much enjoyed it! Service was fantastic, if your staying in nusa dua area they provide pick up and drop off service, just get your hotel to arrange, the building when you get it has a "wow" factor! Very much enjoyed our night, complements to the chef and great service. Please note it is fine dining and therefore not cheap, entrees starts from
12000 rupiah and mains start from
21000
And go up to 40000 but it was such a fantastic meal we will remember :) so thank you

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna R, Public Relations Manager at Sakala Bali, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Lucia C,

Your compliments have been passed on to our Executive Chef Frederic Boulay and his team - our gratitude for sharing your experience with us.

We await your next visit to The Sakala, Bali - until then, may you have a fantastic day in Melbourne !

Best regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakala Bali also viewed

Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Jimbaran, Bali
 
Karangasem, Bali

Been to Sakala Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakala Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.