We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michelin star level French cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sakala Bali

Sakala Bali
Jl. Pratama 88 | Nusa Dua, Tanjung Benoa, Bali 80363, Indonesia
+62 361 774499+62 361 774499
Website
Update restaurant details
Price range: $20 - $75
Cuisines: European, French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Michelin star level French cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was exceptionally good food. Much higher level than any other place we ate in Bali. A bit pricy but sure a place to go when you want to dine in style. We recommend to book a table outside in front of the sea.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janick C, Manager at Sakala Bali, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Olivier 120995,

Our Chef sends is gratitude for the kind comments. It is always a great honor to be likened to a Michelin Star establishment!

I hope to see you during your next trip to Bali!

Best regards,

Janick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    184
    33
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magical meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We arranged dinner during my birthday celebrations in Bali and this fantastic restaurant even sent a car to come and pick us up, this really is a beautiful building and we felt like we had hired the place privately as the service was so attentive. I was so amused at the wet towels that expanded when water was added and you even get to choose the sent. Attention to detail is second to none and the food really is a work of art not to mention tasty! We had dinner under the full moon and the courses kept coming from the start and at the end we didnt even order dessert as we were so full but they read that it was my birthday as my boyfriend had informed them and they brought a beautiful chocolate 7 ways with a beautiful birthday message iced on the plate, as if this wasn't enough they also had a personalised card with all the staffs signatures presented to me at the end, i felt so special and have kept the card as a memento. Apparently these people are building a hotel across the way, i cannot wait to come and stay there if the service and attention to detail are anything like in the restaurant

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janick C, Manager at Sakala Bali, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Traceface13,
I am so very pleased to hear that we were successful in making your birthday celebrations both memorable and good enough to make you curious about our soon to open hotel. The team and I send our best wishes for the new year to come and hope to see you again very soon! 
Best regards,
Janick Couturier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Service - Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Well what can I say. We stumbled across Sakala and what as find. The pool area is beautful, with its own bar in the middle. There are seats around the pool and onto the beach, somewhere for all tastes to sit. The service was so good too. Then we went into the Resturant, what an amazing experience! We ate there three of the 7 nights of our stay. The service, meal, presentation ....everything exceeded the 5 star rating! The attention to detail, from the greeting, to meal, to departure is excellent. We have eaten in many places around the world and this would have to be one of the best. We visited another famous restuarant in Bali in the rice paddies, it wasnt as good as Sakala. Well done to all the staff, they even knew our names by the last night!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janick C, Manager at Sakala Bali, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Bev C,
There is no better compliment than a guest visiting us more than once during their short visit to Bali. Thank you very much for choosing to spend your time with us and for sharing your great comments about our service, restaurant and food.
Sincerely,
Janick Couturier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We dined here recently with friends... everything was exceptional.....the food, the service, the atmosphere.....everything!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janick C, Manager at Sakala Bali, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Matt H,
Many thanks for the enthusiastic comment about our restaurant! Until next time I hope 
Janick Couturier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Where are the 3 Michelin Stars?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Entree - 6 interpretations of foie gras - a-maze-ing, creative elegance. Main - Rack of Lamb - best lamb I've ever tasted. Dessert - 7 interpretations of chocolate - sublime. This is one of the finest restaurants I have ever eaten in. Where are the three Michelin Stars?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janick C, Manager at Sakala Bali, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Duncan M,
Chef and I were extremely flattered by your wonderful review of your dinner experience. We sure hope the Michelin reviewers stop at Sakala when the guide makes its way to Bali!
Thank you for sharing,
Janick Couturier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakala Bali also viewed

 

Been to Sakala Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakala Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.