We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sakala Bali

Sakala Bali
Jl. Pratama 95 | The Chedi Sakala, Tanjung Benoa, Bali 80363, Indonesia
+62 361 775216
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $75
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Innovative takes on French cuisine incorporating freshly picked Balinese ingredients have already brought a world of recognition to Executive Chef Frederic Boulay. Open lunch and dinner, this expansive beachfront establishment comprises a refined indoor dining room with dramatic decor plus the open-air sky deck. Both confer palm fringed Indian Ocean views and accept reservations from hotel guests as well as outside diners. Reserve a private Kul Kul room for intimate gatherings among friends overlooking the Indian Ocean, or takeover the VIP lounge to party into the tropical night.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The food and service at Sakala were amazing. It is a pricey restaurant for Bali but certainly worth it. The place is beautiful too. We will be visiting again before we go home.

Thank you Sakala.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janick C, Manager at Sakala Bali, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Ifeelgood0,

Thank you for the lovely review of our restaurant, menu and service. We are looking forward to your next visit before heading home 

Sincerely,

Janick
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    46
    10
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Amazing, we love Sakala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had an awesome day and night at Sakala. We went there for lunch and could not get enough of it, so we returned for dinner. We have recommended this restaurant to many people. The service was impeccable, the food was brilliant, every mouthful a taste sensation. The restaurant's ambience is delightful at day or night and you must check out the wine cellar it is just awesome. The food and wine is well priced they put on all the added extras at no cost. We only had a few nights in Nusa Dua for a wedding otherwise we would have eaten there again. We will return to Sakala again and again next time. Thanks Sakala xxxx

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janick C, Manager at Sakala Bali, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Leah G,

I am so happy to hear that our lunch menu and service enticed you to spend an evening with us! We are truly grateful to you for recommending our restaurant to others and we look forward to hosting you again on your next trip.

Safe travels,

Janick
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sakala - a most memorable dining experience; very friendly service and superb food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife, son and I were undecided whether to go to our 5-star hotel beach restaurant for dinner or try something different. The magazine ad on Sakala caught our eyes. Their driver picked us up and we were greeted by a warm and friendly staff Lena. We were ushered into a cosy and soothing dining room. We opted for the sofa tables. The appetizers were awesome and the main course was simply delicious. Deserts were equally nice especially the chocolate. Price-wise, we thought it was very pricey for a Bali restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janick C, Manager at Sakala Bali, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Sdhilaw,

I very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your Sakala experience! I will definitely pass on your compliments to Lina.

And we agree, our Valhrona chocolate tasting desert is definitely one of our favorites as well! 

I hope to that we will have the pleasure of your visit on your next trip.

Best regards,

Janick
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Our best meal in nusa dua amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a gorgeous meal here, lots of choice on menu and every course was delicious. First place we had seen a vegetarian menu as well although only one thing we ordered was actually vegetarian. Free pick up and drop off from our hotel was a nice touch, hope they continue when hotel adjoined is conpleted. Paid same as we had at some hotel restaurants so much better value than those. Nice setting inside and excellent service but not over the top or intimidating. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janick C, Manager at Sakala Bali, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Nicola G,

Both Chef and I firmly believe that a fine-dining restaurant should not be intimidating, but rather a place that makes you feel as comfortable as home yet still makes you feel like royalty!

I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed our menu and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Looking forward to see you,

Janick
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The Best Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were staying pretty close by and looked on tripadvisor for somewhere special we could go to celebrate my birthday and it was the best birthday treat ever. The bar and restaurant are stunning and the staff are very attentive, the food was amazing as was the wine.

My plan is to come back next year for my birthday and hopefully stay at the Sakala hotel which is being built.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janick C, Manager at Sakala Bali, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear ShellywUK,

I am very happy to say that our hotel opening is coming very soon so we will definitely be ready for your birthday next year!

One of our main objectives here at SAKALA is to make our guests’ special events and celebrations memorable. A special day requires a special treatment!  I am very happy to hear that we were successful in your case and that we will have the pleasure of repeating the experience next year.

Sincerely,

Janick
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakala Bali also viewed

Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Sakala Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakala Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.