We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional... Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sakala Bali

Sakala Bali
Jl. Pratama 95 | The Chedi Sakala, Tanjung Benoa, Bali 80363, Indonesia
+62 361 775216
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $75
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Innovative takes on French cuisine incorporating freshly picked Balinese ingredients have already brought a world of recognition to Executive Chef Frederic Boulay. Open lunch and dinner, this expansive beachfront establishment comprises a refined indoor dining room with dramatic decor plus the open-air sky deck. Both confer palm fringed Indian Ocean views and accept reservations from hotel guests as well as outside diners. Reserve a private Kul Kul room for intimate gatherings among friends overlooking the Indian Ocean, or takeover the VIP lounge to party into the tropical night.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Exceptional... Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to Sakala and we were not disappointed. The food is phenomenal and the service is impeccable. Five star dining at its best. The staff are attentive without being intrusive. They even found their original cocktail list so they could make us a cocktail that we had a year ago.Can't wait to go back in August. Trish and Chris T.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janick C, Manager at Sakala Bali, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Trish T.,

It is a great pleasure to have learned that you have returned to S A K A L A Bali for the second time... Thank you for always sharing your memorable moments with us, cannot wait to welcoming you back in August !

Should there be anything we could provide for your next visit, please feel free to advise us.
Until then, we wish you an enjoyable day ahead !

Best regards,
Janick C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    56
    11
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Faultless fine dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I can honestly say our arrival at Sakala from our restaurant supplied van took our breaths away. The grand entry to a superb setting was topped off by friendly greetings from the staff. We had chosen this restaurant for a birthday celebration and could not have chosen better. Our waiter (and indeed all wait staff) was excellent, attentive and keen to please, without hovering or being intrusive. We declined the choice of entree in favour or just mains and dessert but were treated to small samplings from the kitchen, and they were flavoursome and beautifully presented. The menu is not extensive but the choices are varied and very individual. Our food was superb!
This is a venue for very special occasions but given the excellent prices one could visit a number times with little damage to the wallet!
Definitely a restaurant worthy of a return experience. Lunch would be a consideration, given the view and the stunning pool!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janick C, Manager at Sakala Bali, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear MoochPerth,

We at S A K A L A Bali are pleased to have had the opportunity to be at your service on your special celebration - and we certainly enjoyed to learn that you have had a memorable event with us...

Thank you for your wonderful comment and we wish to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Janick C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Culinary Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you enjoy great food and wine, excellent service and a great atmosphere, then it is really the perfect place for you to go. We went for dinner to the 'Sakala Bali' and the food was just amazing!

The pricing is slightly higher than average but you can taste the difference in every bite. Excellent quality ingredients, perfectly prepared and presented - worth every Rupee! ;-)

We highly recommend it and can't wait to come back....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janick C, Manager at Sakala Bali, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear WaveriderBerlin,

It is a tremendous cheer to have read your excitement on your visit to S A K A L A Bali and we would like to express our gratitude highly !

All the images shared are also beautiful - thank you very much.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to S A K A L A Bali on your next trip to Bali !

Best regards,
Janick C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely one of the best fine dining restaurants I have been to in my life!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Amazing modern and tasty food, friendly and efficient service and wonderful atmosphere (infinity swimming pool, relaxing music, beautiful lighting).
This is without a doubt the best restaurant in Bali, and one of the greatest places I have been to in my life. I strongly recommend it to anyone in search of a tasty and unique experience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janick C, Manager at Sakala Bali, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear OliverPage,

It is a remarkable compliment and we highly appreciated your recommendations of S A K A L A Bali highly !

Thank you for being with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your future trips to Bali.

Best regards,
Janick C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best food i have had in Bali but maybe the best food i have had ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This place looks as good as the food tastes and when we are on holidays we are always looking at the top places to eat out! Plus my wife could not stop talking about it afterwards. (must of been good:))
No complaints here , the staff and quality of the food was awesome.
We will be back one day soon , Cheers!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janick C, Manager at Sakala Bali, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Troy W,

It was a pleasure to have you and your wife at S A K A L A Bali !
Your compliments are highly appreciated - thank you for having us as your selected dining venue.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Janick C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakala Bali also viewed

Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Sakala Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakala Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.