We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mirage Resort Thalasso Bali

Grand Mirage Resort Thalasso Bali
PO. Box 43, Tanjung Benoa, Bali 80363, Indonesia
+62-361-773883
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Spas
Attraction Details
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I note the mixed views of people and I acknowledge the demographical diversity brought into the the review. If one comes with an expectation of where you come from, to another country, than that would be ignorance of total biaseness. Some reviews blame the waves and tide, which the resort has no control control over.

The building is neat and in order. The staff is very helpful and pleasant. The room is reasonably spacious with aircon. The bathroom is fine and the water was warm all the time. The food was tasty and delicious. There is free WIFI in the whole resort, even at the beach front.

Things to be aware off: Rooms near the restaurant are a bit noisy during meal times. Dinner in the hotel restaurant is a bit pricing compared to the ones opposite the Street for the same quality

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    49
    18
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“IT IS NOT WHAT IT SEEMS, BE WARNED - Horrible Local drinks only included”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have no problem with the accommodation or facilities of the Grand Mirage, for the price it is fine although there are much better options. The issue i had is with the 'ALL INCLUSIVE PACKAGE"' which is essentially an extra USD$115 which on the face of it appears to be good value. Certainly their web site makes some cloudy statements as to the wonderful benefits that allege to be offering under this package.

NOTE : You will be drinking LOCAL SPIRTS AND BEERS ONLY in your 'all inclusive package and if your anything like my wife, she was throwing up all night and half the next day after having had just 2 cocktails, off course created with their local spirits. Im very thankful she only had 2. The Rum, Burbon, Cask Wine etc is all 'local' versions of the real thing as is the beer, tastes revolting. Bintang is apparently described as a "premium' beer in this ridiculous sham of an excuse for an all inclusive package. I would think no other place on earth would describe Bintang as a "premium beer', certainly no other hotel, restaurant anywhere throughout Indonesia that i have travelled and i have been to many remote places over the years. These 'premium' drinks are standard everywhere else in the world but are made available to you after 9pm to ensure costs are kept to a minimum .

Its not expensive to eat or drink there however the food is consistently terrible and i would suggest you eat across the road, very cheap and good food in numerous places.

Its a very average shelly beach for swimming and you have to pay for one of the few day bed type things, they also are not included off course. If you want a drink and wanted to watch the last of the sun go down (its on the other side for the record so not an option), you will be told your local drinks now have to be consumed in the bar and not on you deck chair 20m away on the beach. 3 nights qualifies you for 1 jet ski ride only not unlimited motorised sports and the water thing is actually 60-70 min away. Check out what they offer in their watercraft section also as no one went there for 2 days when i was there

If your a family and don't drink, this is the place for you as the kids have places to play but if you are a couple or group of friends, trust me, there are WAY better places to stay that are similar price but so superior I can't describe it. If you think i am wrong about this place, you simply have not seen other options or travelled much in Bali or Indonesia. Try the Intercontinental as a Club Member, it is genuine quality in everything.

We couldn't tolerate and didn't want to risk the local alcohol and was so disappointed we left after 2 nights and went into Legian. It cost me about $340 as they offered nothing but time wasting and the demand to take 1 days cancellation fee. They couldn't even drop me back off in Legian, only at the airport. I offered to pay 100 000 rupia which was agreed to but typically of this place no one knew anything about it in the morning or was able to make an actual decision. The staff are friendly but I certainly would not describe them as helpful or on a par with most other places in Bali. We just again paid for a taxi as we couldn't get out of the place quick enough we were so disappointed, no one can decide anything and it was a losing battle to ask for anything from these people we felt as they simply were not authorised to make decisions, and no one of higher authority would appear to help them out.

If despite the above absolutely factual information you still choose to waste good money at this place, let it be known I warned you when you get ill from the local spirits, assuming you can handle how horrible they all taste.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Was it hot or what !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel with a very courteous staff who could be a little more fluent in English ! It was very hot outside during our stay of five days from 30 th Oct. to 4 th Nov . The air con just did not budge to the many machinations of the techs. who tried to twirl it's ear ! All I can say is , it was a little less hot inside the room ! The massage experience in Thalasso was a lot less than satisfying !

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“ok but not 5 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just got back 8th October we had all inclusive, "breakfast and lunch buffet were terrible"..... the food from the menu was nice ....drinks are only local but you can only get bali hai beer which no one likes you have to pay for bin tang...rooms are basic showers had mould they need renovated....pool is nice but there is never enough lounges with shade around the pool they also need new lounges as they are so old it felt like a public pool. The entertainment was amazing it was the best the kids loved it.....this is not a 5 star we also stayed at the Westin which was fantastic we will return to the Westin....will not return to Grand Mirage.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort with exceptional service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Bali and the all inclusive gold package at the Grand Mirage was perfect for us.

I booked online which entitled us to a discount and then when we arrived we were offered an upgrade to an Ocean view suite for an extra $25 per night.

The room was huge and had two balconies overlooking the pool and ocean. The house keeping service was excellent. They cleaned the room in the morning and also dropped in of an afternoon to replace your towels (even though we had several fresh ones in the bathroom).

The grand cafe breakfast buffet was a favourite. They served a variety of hot and cold foods with an omelette bar and fresh coffee every morning.

Jukung Grill was also fantastic. The seafood was fresh and tasty and I had the pork ribs on our last day, which were to die for. So tender, the meat fell off the bone. My partner also really enjoyed the Butter fish and the desserts were yum (definitely try the chocolate wow!). The room service menu was limited but everything we tried was really delicious and of a high quality.

We didn't really make use of our free water sports vouchers except for the Sea walker. We both agreed that we were glad to have done this activity but would probably not do it again.

The pool and grounds were immaculate. Every day there were staff cleaning, trimming or tidying up around the resort. We both really enjoyed having a drink at the coconut bar and relaxing on a lounge in the sun.

The service at the Grand Mirage was wonderful. From the moment we arrived we felt valued and were well looked after. We highly recommend this resort.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Mirage Resort Thalasso Bali also viewed

Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Grand Mirage Resort Thalasso Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mirage Resort Thalasso Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Mirage Resort Thalasso Bali to your Saves list