We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bumbu Bali

Bumbu Bali
Jalan Pratama | P.O. Box 132, Tanjung Benoa, Bali 80363, Indonesia
+62 361 77 45 02
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Port Sorell, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We made the trip down to eat here from Seminyak and it was worth it. We linked the day to a trip to Turtle Island, so transport was included to and from the villa, and the driver was more than accommodating by agreeing to stop at Bumbu Bali whilst we had lunch. He waited and then drove us back to the villa about 90 minutes later.
The food here was amazing. Not too spicy, but they may have altered ours given we had our two small boys with us. The service was good, food delightful but the beers could have been colder !
We had the banquet and it was fantastic, and the right amount of food. They catered for the boys with special chocolate milkshakes and icecream. I would return if in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    681
    307
    96
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“reccomended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After having this restaurant recommended by everyone we spoke to we had to try it out.
We we very pleasantly surprised by the prices. We were expecting it to cost a lot more than it did.
We thought it was wonderful that the waitress took the time to explain all the dishes we were interested in, even going so far as pointing out that certain items on the plate were just decoration and we should probably not eat the (whole chilies and flowers).
It was a fantastic nite out and would recommend it to anyone who wants a romantic evening in nusa dua.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“time to feast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a great place for tourists as you get to have a tasting menu with a little bit of all the highlights of the Balinese cuisine. It is a little pricey as well though. Service is good and it is an open kitchen concept and very welcoming.
Best to make reservations or ask your hotel to call for you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good taste of Bali”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The $50 set menu for 2 is good value and very filling. The food is probably the best and most authentic Indonesian food we had. The service is good but each guest is treated with a loud shout when they arrive. They offer free transport to most hotels but it is only a short trip from the gated area of nusa dua anyway. Although the amount of food is not large it is very filling. It was busy so it is worth booking.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Balinese food at its finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

On a recent visit to Nusa Dua, Bali, we read about an Authentic Indonesian restaurant just up the road from our hotel. Pictures looked good, the reviews read well, and so we thought lets give it a go.

Well…… what a fantastic treat lay ahead of us.

The restaurant sent a car to pick us up from our hotel, as many do these days. Within minutes we were whisked down the broken roads of Nusa Dua to the original Bumbu Bali restaurant. I say the original, as Bumbu Bali 2 is across the road and co-located with their cooking school, and the other is in Ubud.

Upon entering the restaurant, the first thing you notice is the smell, the mood lighting, the al fresco dining area, and oh my gosh its full ! Full with tourists, full with local expats and full of fun.

A noisy greeting by all the chefs behind the charcoal barbeques and our waitress sees us to a table. Waiters and waitresses are attentive and on the ball. Drinks first then let them order.

Portions are large and so we shared a mixed sate to start. Sizzling on red hot charcoals, and accompanied with the traditional accompaniments of peanut sauce, vegetable salad, rice cake and pickled vegetables. The assortment of chicken, beef and lamb sate, served on a huge platter with fresh chilli and lemongrass garnish was simply to die for.

Aaaaah pork ribs on the menu and that’s me done, while Suzy opted for the creamy duck curry. As the waitress said, no need to order anything else as they dishes come loaded with sauces, veggy side dishes and rice.

Well a huge platter turned up for our table. A whole rack of meaty tender pork ribs sizzling again on flaming charcoal sat just inches from me. Sitting in another bowl on the platter was the best part of a whole duck, swimming in a tangy creamy coconut curry. Sauces, condiments, rice and vegetables adorned the rest of the platter. WOW that was enough for four people I reckon.

Admittedly, we did head back for a second meal, not so many pictures this time, we just ate !

I don’t need to explain any further, I think the pictures do it justice.

Meal for 2 including beers, equivalent to A$55.
All in all a fantastic meal, our rating 4.5 / 5. For me, definitely a two-thumbs up !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bumbu Bali also viewed

Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Bumbu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bumbu Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.