We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

WEAVER, family friendly, luxury holiday cottage, with a garden in Ramshorn Wood Near Alton Towers, Ref 2429

Saved Save
You added WEAVER, family friendly, luxury holiday cottage, with a garden in Ramshorn Wood Near Alton Towers, Ref 2429 to your Saves list.
Oakamoor
|
Rental Home – 
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mermaidpu...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I booked this house for 12 people for my husband's 50th birthday celebration. When I needed to change the booking date Sykes still charged me the peak rate even though we were going in term time. £1,100 for 3 nights! (That was my choice I accept, but it was either that or lose the £300 deposit)
I wasn't expecting a welcome basket or a red carpet, but when we arrived there were no dishwasher tablets or pan scourers, the tinyest bit of washing up liquid, no cling film or tin foil. Bearing in mind that the nearest shop is a 15 minute drive away and the house has a dishwasher it wouldn't be too difficult to supply some basics. We then found that there were 6 light bulbs not working (no spares), the CD player didn't work, there wasn't enough seating around the table for 12 people so we had to bring 2 wooden heavy damp outside chairs inside. The oven doesn't work properly and seems only to grill - there is no instruction book. There are plenty of saucepans but only 2 lids - for the smallest and largest pans. The dishwasher cutlery tray desperately needs replacing as the cutlery all falls through the holes in the bottom. The heaters in the bathrooms needed a good clean, the extractor fan didn't work in the ensuite bathroom, the knob fell off the ensuite shower as soon as you turned it. The outside is untidy and unfinished, the whole house felt over-used and un cared for - it is just a cash cow for the owners. On top of all this, when I rang the key holder the day I got back they promised to call back. I also filled in Sykes feedback form and submitted my comments there - that was 10 days ago - I have heard nothing back.
My advice would be do not waste your money on this property.

1 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 1 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 1 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
1 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 1 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
1 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the weather
Liked least: the house
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Fraserburgh
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful
4 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 4 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
kazunpete
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Set in lovely woodlands makes you feel a million miles away but in truth there are lots of attractions very close at hand- giving you the best of both worlds.
The property is very well kept and clean, with a log fire in the lounge area and a good size kitchen with lots of work space. The dining table is long with benches but it can get cramped- we solved this by using the chairs from outside and sat them at each end, which helped a lot. There are various bedrooms, including two on the ground floor (suitable for anyone with mobility problems). Bathrooms on both levels with lots of very hot water.
Only a couple of niggles - there are ample plates, dishes, cups etc however there was a lack of cooking utensils which made catering for the whole party somewhat difficult. The dishwasher was not fantastic and there were no tea towels... but these are our only complaints!
We had a fabulous stay and certainly hope to return!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Open plan lounge and kitchen meant no one was seperated
Liked least: Sofa- split into single chairs to allow manoeuvring, but this took away from the comfort.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Barnstaple
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the space
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Bristol
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010 for a stay in December 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Essex
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009 for a stay in October 2009
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,511
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Manager
Sykes Holiday Cottages
44 (0) 1244.357716
Speaks English
Listed since : Oct 2009
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing