We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“view with horrible service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kaliakria Resort

Save Saved
You added Kaliakria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kaliakria Resort
Topol_, Kavarna, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“view with horrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

stayed for on night on the way to Pomorie. The pool is nice, the view is great - had light dinner in the restaurant that was good as well. It is 20 min from the beach and they do provide paid shuttle. But the service was horrible - during check in the lady behind the desk was very unprofessional and didn't provide any information (wifi, restaurant, stores, info on kavarna. Later on i asked for 2 extra towers (first two employees that were just standing outside by the pool) and was told it is not their responsibility and they have no idea where the towers are, I asked the same question at the reception desk and was told they can not provide the extra towers. On check out the experience was not great as well. I will not be back - there are so many places with better staff and customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladimir K, Front Office Manager at Kaliakria Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

As a leader of the Front Desk team I highly appreciate your feedback and apologize for not being able to meet your expectations.
I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again in Kaliakria Resort and you will enjoy a great vacation in one of the most beautiful places on the Bulgarian Black sea coast.

Kind Regards,

Vladimir Kazassov

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed over 3 days at KR in 2012. Found it way overpriced for the quality and cleanliness of the rooms (sand all over the rooms, linnen poor quality and last but not least toe clippings on the terrace, urgh!!!) The swimming areas are nice but the breeze is cold so the water cools very quickly. Language barriers at the poolside bar as well. Worse was being treated like a common criminal by staff at the cliff restaurant, more interested in serving Russian and Romanian tourists. I would recommend to stay at the neighbouring golf resorts instead where I had a better experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

For reasons of proximity to Bucharest and cost effectiveness, this year, we chose Bulgaria for an early and short summer holiday. Having assumed the Black Sea would still be cold in June – as it was, freezing cold actually – we decided for a location with a large pool and scenic grounds: Kaliakria Resort.

Location And Architecture
Only 45 Km away from the Romanian border, in the middle of nowhere, in a bay between Balchik and Kavarna, up on a cliff facing the sea, Kaliakria Resort only has a neighbouring complex to one side (Topola). The view to the sea is indeed spectacular, if you’re lucky to have booked a sea-view apartment (but even if you did not, you can still enjoy the view from the pool). The large complex is designed by Spanish architects, Mediterranean-style: wooden pergolas, wrought iron, terra-cotta colours (including the air conditioning machines which are thus camouflaged, nice touch), stone paved paths, plenty of green... The two main feature pools are infinity-style, complemented by three smaller ones nestled among the various buildings, all five in irregular organic shapes. It is truly quiet – even the pool bar music is played soft, so you can hear the birds (in June, swallows were training to fly).

Cautions:
• Due to the placement of the buildings, if the weather decides to get windy, the air currents are channeled towards the main pool, which makes it impossible to keep an umbrella open and sends the canopy bed curtains into a slapping flapping.
• The resort doesn’t appear to be aware of the need to spray against flies, bugs and mosquitoes, so be prepared for the inconvenience by the pool. In June, after the grass had been freshly cut disturbing them, we were literally chased away from the pool by lady bugs and other small fly/bug creatures.

Not Crowded
During the week there were few tourists, mostly couples or young groups, with the occasional family with teen kids, fortunately well-behaved. Most of them were locals, some Scandianvians and Russians. The pleasant consequence is plenty of pool-side sun beds to choose from, unless you prefer to lounge, in which case there are quite a number of four-poster large canopy beds to choose from.
Caution: As the Resort is not only an apart-hotel but also offers accomodation units for sale, at the weekend, large local families come over and dine somewhat noisily on their owned terraces.

The Suite
The-1-bedroom suite we rented was large and airy, pleasantly furnished, albeit a little Spartan, with a generous terrace, guarded by a red rose bush in bloom. On the ground floor, which gave us direct access to the lawn and, sadly, a half-view to the parking lot (no, not all “the spacious apartments, without exception, have a view to the pools or the golf course and the see beyond” as the website claims).
In the living room, there were a table seating 6 people, a sofa and a gas fire place, along with a small old TV set. The bedroom offered a 1.6 x 2 m bed with nightstands and a small vanity with a stool. The bathroom was equipped with a bath tub and even sported a bidet.
For the self-catering fellow-fans: the kitchenette provides an electric oven & plate (2 burners), a small microwave oven, a small fridge and an electric kettle, along with plenty of plates, coffee cups (no mugs), cutlery, kitchen utensils (including scissors, corkscrew, oven mitt and wooden block), glasses (water & wine), pots and a pan with lids, and a thermo-resistant glass tray for the oven.

Cautions:
• One of the most grievous faults of the apartment (and, we suspect, of the whole complex) was the absence of mosquito nets from all windows, coupled with the impossibility to tilt windows open. So if you hate bugs, flies and mosquitos, or, even worse, are allergic to their bites, either prepare for serious “hunting” after each airing or bring enough powerful repellent devices.
• The second most annoying fault of this apartment was the cleanliness. To the naked eye, everything initially looked nice and neat. Later however, we noticed spider webs in hidden corners, complete with one of their live inhabitants crawling about from behind the bed one morning. The floor and walls still had traces of old flies and mosquitoes hunted down by the previous inhabitants. The sofa in the living room had been white long time ago and never cleaned, so it looked grungy gray. A great pity considering the amount of care to details invested in the overall design and ambiance. What’s more, housekeeping visited us only once every other day, when they made the bed (we only had 1 change of sheets in 6 days), empty the garbage bins, supply more TP (not toiletries though) and bring fresh towels. No dusting, no vaccuuming, no floor mopping. Not even for a tip, which we promptly provided on day 1. No English. Also, no dish-washing fluid and sponge in the kitchen.
• The third most annoying fault is the absence of free internet in the room. Yes, in this day and age, at this level of confort, although you’d expect it, not even cable internet is available in the rooms for free. And the “free wi fi in public spaces” is unusably feeble and flaky. So if you’re a surfing addict, prepare to pay ~12Eur for a week or ~8Eur for 3 days of wifi.
• And another quite annoying neglect: the quality of sleep. A wobbly soft old mattress with “valleys” shaped by previous bodies, the kind that makes it impossible for the bed-mate not to be “shaken, not stirred” as you turn from one side to the other. A small hard pillow that you end up chasing all night and makes you sweat as it’s synthetic filling is also old and bunched up. Cheap thin sheet that has no mattress protection underneath and is too short to stay put under the mattress so it ends up seriously bunched up by morning. And a creaky wooden bed frame. Sweet dreams, if you can. Otherwise, enlist the help of some alcohol...
• Other things you might expect and miss: a large TV set (the existing one is much to small for the room-size), floor mats in the bedroom (enjoy the cold stone floor), slippers, bath robes, a hair drier, a toaster (advertised in the website descriptions and pics), a non stick pan.


The Main Pool
Simply beautiful. And large enough. Sadly, not heated. And, also sadly, loosing its tiny blue tiles one by one. Sporting a bar with under water stools on one side. Sommersby apple cider / Corona beer ~2.5Eur.
Cautions:
• If your bathing suit/trunks are white, refrain from sitting on the steps at the shallow end, the tile cement is “melting” away and will temporarily stain them, ahem, an unflattering beige...
• We expected the pool bar to actually have service on the pool side but, sadly, no. And getting a waiter who would both speak English and know the prices of their drinks took us a while.
• Do bring your own beach towels from home if you like a dry clean surface under you while you take in the sun – the white sun and canopy bed mats are no longer white nor clean.
• And ladies, be prepared to enlist the help of a man if you want an umbrella set up, there doesn’t seem to be any service around the pool in this respect although the umbrellas are large and heavy (in fact they don’t even take away the mats in the evening to protect them from the evening and morning dew).


The El Balcon Del Mundo Restaurant
Beautiful setting, overlooking the sea as it hangs on the cliff. Nicely decorated. Prompt English speaking service, excellent food. Somewhat pricey.
Recommended: the mussels in white wine, the foie gras, the crispy calamari, the soft shell crab, the veal bbq ribs & fries, the house parfait and the lime cheese cake. One of each of these plus a bottle of the local sparkling white wine and two cocktails (unexpectedly good Mojito and Long Island Ice Tea), brought the bill to ~98Eur plus tip.

The Turqoise Bistro
Small, average food, average prices. Nice small terrace, especially if you can get a free sofa. Overpromising menu (“pork fillet with forest mushrooms” came with canned button mushrooms). Recommended: the mozzarella-tomato-egg plant appetiser (the eggplant is pickled and the dish is generously spinkled with basil sauce), the Varna rose wine and the bisquit cake. All of the above plus a “biff burger” and a white chocolate mousse amounted to ~35Eur.

The Totally Romantic Bar
We only found an open air empty white-washed board floor enclosure with three sad wrought iron sofas standing there gathering dust and dew for who knows how long. Not open in June, we guessed.

The Beach
For those of you as confused by their website as I initially was, let me make it very clear: no, there is no beach near by. There are two options to get there: the paid complex shuttle (runs every two hours) or your own free car. We chose the latter and took a spectacular 10 minutes drive.
There are also two choices for beach: the Topola Resort beach or the Thracian Cliffs Resort beach. We only tried the former, a small idyllic half-sand-half-rocks beach, between a white cliff and the turquoise sea. Two not very comfortable old wooden sun beds with mats and a reed-covered umbrella for ~10Eur. Sadly, the sea was freezing cold.

Cautions:
• There is no official parking near the beach, just some room on the side of the street.
• Be prepared for a short trek through the wilderness, down rough earthen steps, to reach the beach.

The Che Beach Bar
Small affair on the Topola beach, with 4 white-washed wicker sofas and 4 armchairs. The English speaking bartender is happy to mix you an honest tasty whisky-cola for 3Eur.

Room Tip: Not all suites have a garden/pool/sea view so book one that explicitly states what you're gettin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Location
++ it can be easily reached from both direction TO/FROM Varna. Nice combination of mountain, seaview, gentile winds, sun, family resort. The resort has its own bistro and restaurant, but also a little supermarket where you can find some snacking food, Do not expect to find steaks, potatoes, tomatoes or other raw food ... there is a small playground for kids. If outside is rainy, the playground moves inside.
- - closest beach is (BENINDA - expensive as it belongs to Thracian Golf Resort <6LV/hour for parking>), or you can choose to go to Balchick or Albena. The 3G connection is not up and running. The best you can get is some GPRS rate, and very weak phone signal (can be a plus though).

Room - the apartments are big and cozy. Very good soundproofing. The kitchenette is very well equipped (from big fridge, mini-bar fridge to knives and forks). Room's terase is very big, equipped with everything needed for a relaxing coffee in the morning, or a glass of wine in the evening...TV satellite has 2 channels in English, and the rest in bulgarian and russian. For romanians - there is only TVRi. You also have a DVD player, so you can bring your preferate movies with you ... :) WiFi is payed(6LV/24h - only a single connection/payed voucher) and gets up to 2MB download rate (not bad for browsing and social ... but not so good for only movies/video)

Service - was excellent. They solved our technical issues (boiler got somehow broken - solved fast, the door of the villa' entrance got blocked - pretty unpleasant first thing in the morning, but they managed to got it solved in 10 minutes).

Overall, the value for money is very high. I do recommend it for families with kids, or to those looking out for a lazy vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Attended a wedding here recently and had a great time. Very little bad to say about the place, I'd have no hesitation in recommending it to people looking for accommodation in this area.


Pros:
- apartments were very spacious, cleaned daily and towels/linen changed also.
- large balcony with plenty of seating to sit outside
- spacious kitchen area if you want to cook or make lunch
- large choice of pools with ample sun loungers & umbrellas
- very good restaurant with stunning views

Cons:
- bit of a walk to the beach - but the hotel runs a shuttle
- you've to pay for wifi in the apartments although it's free in the restaurant area
- quite removed from the local towns - if you don't have your own car it can be difficult to see any of the area outside the resort complex.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

An unconventional look at the vacation of Bulgaria. I love this place, I feel that it is charged with cosmic energy. Sometimes I drive 70 kilometers just to go to the beach sometimes spend the whole weekend here.
North coast is as enchanted. I can not describe the sights that are revealed by high cliffs. Kaliakra is hanging over the sea from just such a high cliff. Great pools, bars, restaurants, and spacious rooms in the closed complex of high walls. You have everything at hand and no need to go out.
However, if you go out of the complex you can go down to the beach, go to the Cape Kaliakra, you can visit the mussel farm or play golf at one of the best golf courses in the world called "Thracian Cliffs". Nearby is the town of Balchik, there is one of the largest botanical gardens and ancient palace of Queen Anne.
Here I find truly unique vacation for myself, although I live very close, only 70 miles away. I guess you'll like

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It was an amazing weekend.. last summer at Kaliakria resort . Great View, great room, nice food...the breakfast was great with the most incredible view....
I actually looked forward for breakfast :))
A downside was the water in the pool that was cold as ice, even though it was July and it was amazingly hot outside.
The problem is with the reception...when i checked in i told them that the wi fi in my apartment was not working...they didn't fix it at all ( i called 5 times in 3 days )...and when i had to pay the room at the end of my trip they charged me with the wifi that did not work for the period spent there....and they also tried to rip me off by charging way more that what i payed in advance for.
I had a 2 bedroom apartment and they tried to make me pay 200 euro more than my friends that had a 4 room apartment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kaliakria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaliakria Resort

Address: Topol_, Kavarna, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Dobrich Province > Kavarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty lodging in Kavarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaliakria Apart Hotel is located in one of the most picturesque spots of the Black Sea region, about 60km north of Varna. The town of Balchik with its new modern port for sailing yachts is very close. The area inspires with quiet bays and secluded beaches, as well as with the recently created championship golf courses and the annual amateur sailing competitions like the International Black Sea Regatta and Kaliakria Cup.There has been a generous planning of interior and exterior space with maximum exposure towards the unique view of the picturesque bay located between Balchik and Kavarna. Created in harmony with the ecological and topographic character of the area, the project is designed by the Spanish architects Kloster & Notenson and elegantly combines Mediterranean style with local finishing touches such as wrought iron railings, wooden pergolas, stone walls and flooring, terracotta-coloured walls, well-kept gardens with over 60 types of plants, bushes and trees, charming water installations, etc.The spacious apartments have large balconies and, without exception, all have a view to the pools or the golf course and the see beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Kaliakria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaliakria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.