We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly hostel - great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Tobago Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fish Tobago Guesthouse to your Saves list
Fish Tobago Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   26A Buccoo Point, Buccoo Tobago, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Buccoo B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly hostel - great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at the Fish Tobago and had a great experience. The owners were friendly and hospitable from the get go and went out of their way to make me feel comfortable and at home.

The hostel itself is in good condition, the rooms are clean and a good size and it had all the necessary amenities like hot running water, kitchen and lounge area, wifi, etc.

It's located in a quiet fishing village but with the tours and the nearby beaches there's lots to do and keep you busy whilst you're there.

Also given that their prices are so low, staying at Fish Tobago really is great value for money.

For me, the thing that stood out about Fish Tobago is how friendly the owners and other guests were. I quickly felt comfortable hanging out with them and it felt like a home away from home.

I loved every second and my only complaint is I wish I could have stayed a month longer!

Room Tip: The female dorm is a bit small for 5 people, so if you're a big fan on having your own space, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishTobago1, Manager at Fish Tobago Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We are very happy that you had a great time while staying at Fish Tobago Guesthouse and that we could help make your visit to Tobago a great experience. We always strive to make our guest feel comfortable so it's a pleasure to hear that it felt like a home away from home. We hope to see you back in Tobago soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    35
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
48
57
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

It is always a joy to find a delightful spot away from the usual tourist traps that exceeds your expectations. Such was Fish Tobago. Recently resident in Port of Spain from the UK, we took a visiting friend and our car to Tobago for a Fri-Sun long weekend. Brandon our host was very welcoming, showed us to our rooms and explained how the amenities worked, before leaving on a fishing trip. The two upstairs rooms we occupied were simple but extremely clean and with a very comfortable bed, delightful shower, very efficient air conditioning and a separate kitchen area with fridge, utensils, and a small hotplate, ideal if you want to self cater. There is also a large and well fitted communal kitchen downstairs and wi-fi available, although we did not use it.

The real joy in Fish Tobago lies in the effervescence of the host, its small size, opportunity to mingle with the other guests on the communal lawn outside the kitchen in the shade of a large mango tree and the numerous birds that feed on the flowers surrounding the property. After a short walk and an afternoon spent on Buccoo beach, we watched our host unload his catch of fish at the quayside. We returned to Fish Tobago intent on going out to eat but accepted a delicious dinner of fresh tuna cooked by Brandon (we offered to pay but it was on the house). The following evening, after a day touring the island independently, Brandon invited us to a party near Crown Point, which we enjoyed very much.

Fish Tobago feels like a top end hostel and you would not go there if you wanted all the mod cons and facilities of a hotel or to spend a lot of time in your room. For a place from which to explore fantastic natural scenery and to appreciate the local vibe through a well connected host, it offers excellent value for money.

Any downsides? I can see why some guests might complain about the short lane which is dark at night but the benefit of being away from the road and having an unspoilt view of the stars should not be ignored. And you are aware of the plumbing system and any chat downstairs at night because the area is so quiet. We'll be definitely be going back and look forward to seeing how Brandon's ambitious plans for growth develop.

Room Tip: The two rooms upstairs towards the back are away from any communal noise and the one at the very bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We decided to stay here based on the price and the nice location in Buccoo. Upon our arrival, Brandon upgraded us to a bigger room, which was very nice of him. The pros: our bed was very comfortable and the room was relatively clean with working AC. People here were also very friendly. However, there were a few things that really bothered us and prevented us from fully enjoying our stay: the dogs at this guesthouse that barked until the early morning, our windows' sheer curtains that faced the front of the house, a very short blanket that is not meant for two people, and a loose, finicky shower handle. This place is a bargain, but if we come back to Tobago we'll put in the extra money to stay somewhere else.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishTobago1, Guest Relations Manager at Fish Tobago Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We are so sorry to hear that the dogs in the neighbourhood were keeping you up at night, however Tobago in general has a lot of dogs, that is a part of the Caribbean charm. We hope that you enjoyed Tobago in general.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amriswil, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Six months ago we had made a hostelworld booking for a private room with kitchen for 3 nights from Feb. 15 to 18, 2013 and got it reconfirmed from Fishtobabo ("See you soon") 4 days before our arrival. We arrived at 5:15 pm and Brandon (apparently the owner) had no room for us and after 30 minutes waiting in the garden he said "we have 3 houses" (implying that they all belong together) and gave us a lift to the Bellissimo Boutique Hotel 100 metres up the road. We soon realized that this hotel has nothing to do with Fishtobago, but after some discussions we got a good room with kitchen and balcony for 65 US$. The booked Fishtobago room would have been 40 US$. Brandon had all sorts of peculiar excuses and eventually implied that it was our fault because we had changed the booking in December 2012 from 4 to 3 days (confirmed by hostelworld). We got the impression that Brandon's booking records, which he seems to manage exclusively on his Blackberry, are totally chaotic and that this man is not honest. Moreover, it is uncertain if our deposit of 10% (US$ 16) will ever be refunded. Brandon pretended that the deposit was not paid to him and will only be refunded by hostelworld. So if you book Fishtobago be prepared for an unpleasant surprise.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We can really recommend Fish Tobago guesthouse. Brandon who owns the guest house is very nice and wants all his guests to feel comfortable. It is very easy to book different tours through Brandon, everything from snorkeling to island tours and boat trips. We will definitely stay here again if we go back to Tobago.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We (two german girls) stayed nearly a whole week in fish tobago guesthouse. We booked a private room and it was very clean and had a lovley establishment. In the near (5 min walk) you can find 2 minimarkets and local food stores, like fish and chicken or fresh fruits. Beaches are not far away, too. It depends on what you like. There are surfing spots, kitesurfing spots and beaches just to relax (for example pigeon point)
There are a lot of things you can do while staying in Tobago. We decided to made a boattrip along the cost, including snorkeling, swimming with dolphins, party and fish-BBQ. We can highly recommend this! Also we had a nice day in the rainforrest. The highlight was going sea-fishing with Brandon and the following fish-dinner.
Tobago also has a nice nightlife with bars and clubs. Fridays "the shades" is the place to be :).
We wished we could have stayed longer. It was a great vacation and we will come back for sure!
Maybe next time the stolen E ist not missing anymore at "Welcom... to fish tobago" :).
greets miss muff 2 ;)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

When we arrived to Fish Tobago we got a bad feeling, because of the missing E in Welcom(e) to Fish Tobago, but soon we found out that Fish Tobago is the best place for staying in Tobago! We had an an private room with private bathroom. All was very clean and spacy. We felt comfortable. In Fish Tobago you live in the Community of Bucco, what is great to. There are some bars around and can easily get food. A small supermarket where you can get the necessary is just 5 minutes walk away. Brandon helps you with everything you need. As well he offers tours and connect you to other people who offering tours. Best examples for Brandons generousity: The second day of our stay we got unexpectedly a really good fish meal, prepared by friends and family of Brandon! We also planned a Tour on a friday with frankie tours on a friday. They changed plans and it was then on thursday. They called Brandon for telling him that 1hour before the tour started. Brandon got breakfast for us, woke us up and than brought us to frankie tours!The tour was amazing, we have had missed a lot. Although he took us fishing on the see: for that he picked us up at the beach with the boat, it was a great experience. In the evening his sister prepared a great meal for us with the catched fish and other tasty things.Thanks to Brandon for his great hospitality!

Room Tip: we had a private room. Its was spacy and comfortable. We saw the dorms too, which are spacy and seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fish Tobago Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Tobago Guesthouse

Address: 26A Buccoo Point, Buccoo Tobago, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Buccoo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Buccoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fish Tobago Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fish Tobago Guesthouse is a family owned guesthouse that is a traditionally built two storey house nestled in its own spacious grounds. We are located on the western coastline of Tobago which is one of the most beautiful, unspoilt islands in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Fish Tobago Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fish Tobago Guesthouse Hotel Buccoo
Fish Tobago Guesthouse Buccoo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Tobago Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.