We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Top River Pearl

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotteville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Top River Pearl
Save
You added Top River Pearl to your Saves list
32 - 34 Spring Street, Charlotteville, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Top River Pearl is situated up a road a little way back from the main street. The apartment we had came with a tiny kitchenette, bedroom, bathroom and little balcony. There was no air-con, but the fan meant that it wasn’t needed anyway. The whole place was spotlessly clean and whilst a couple of balcony chairs would be a good addition, we were fairly impressed with the rooms. The only problem came after a night of torrential rain shorted the electrics on the water pump, leaving the whole place without water.

There’s a communal sitting area that made a nice place to head to. For those travelling as a group or family, this would be a huge help. For the two of us, though, the best bit about it were the two friendly kittens that liked to sleep in the bookcase!

The German owners weren’t in the country when we were there, and the coffee shop downstairs apparently only opens up when they are living there. Without them, the place is managed by Mark, a friendly and helpful local guy who was always around to answer questions or sort us out with things we needed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Great location and nice balcony. However, the manageress (owner's wife) of the property appears to think she is above everyone else and, unfortunately, she ruined our time here so we left early to move to another more local apartment on the bay front (which was fantastic). She also tried to charge us a US$20 fixed fee for wifi usage insisting that this is standard policy worldwide (despite us having travelled for 3 years in total and not having this anywhere else other than central big city hotels!!). A pity as the building and set up appears good at first glance (although extremely small cooking facilities).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

Based in Charlotteville this German owned accommodation offers rooms with basic cooking facilities, balcony, mosquito nets and fan. In high season they also have a cafe that does coffee, breakfast and lunch.
It is decorated in whitewash and dark wood. The sheets were a little musty smelling but I think that is more to do with the inability to get anything really dry in Tobago in the rainy season!
We found it to be clean and well furnished and comfortable. I suspect it might be a bit hot in high season as there are only a couple of fans but all in all I would recommend it as a place to stay.
The people who run it are also very friendly and helpful.
It is up the hill away from the sea (3 mins walk) but this meant that the air was a little cooler.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and facilities
  • Disliked — Quite a few steps to get the luggage up in the first place!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2005

Well as they say, you get what you pay for. This was a relatively cheap place to stay but we found the rooms a bit too basic and small especially the kitchen area (balcony was also tiny). The room really could do with a bit of a face lift as it just felt very stark and unwelcoming. If staying here you would be better off in the 2 bedroom apartment which has a bigger balcony and more room. We stayed at Top River Pearl for a week and would not really recommend staying here for more than a couple of days without having some sort of transport (we were glad when our hire car arrived after 3 days). We just didn't feel there was enough to do especially when its raining non stop. Bring your own towels (as well as beach towels) and sheets, they really did need renewing! The staff were very friendly and helpful though, especially Lisa.

Views when driving to Charlotteville are stunning and the people are very friendly, we said hello to everyone we met. Try Jane's Restaurant right in the middle of the village by the beach, the food was excellent and the best we had in Tobago (lunch and dinner), her Rotti was the best ever!

Pirates Bay is a short walk but up a steep track, then down about 150 steps but is a lovely beach.

We moved on to Castara for the next week and stayed in Castara Retreats (absolutely beautiful) which did not compare to Top River, but then nor did the price!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2004

We spent three days at the Top River Pearl in the heart of the Tobago fishing community of Charlotteville. The units are nicely designed, built and equipped - including a large two bedroom unit as well as one room units with kitchenette and excellent shower/washrooms. We enjoyed the interaction with the community, the short hike to Pirate's Bay beach, and side visits to Speyside and King's Bay. The local beach right in Charlotteville is not up to the standards of other Tobago beaches.The limited food and non-alcohol coffee bar service at Top River Pearl was very good. We lucked out by being there on one of the nights when a special full meal service was provided - which was truly excellent. Sharon and Phebe's restaurant a few blocks away provided very pleasant surroundings for a drink and for dinner - made better when the friendly manageress was on site to counter the rather bored manner of the other staff. Nearby Speyside also offered several good dining choices including the excellent and very reasonable Speyside Inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Top River Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top River Pearl

Address: 32 - 34 Spring Street, Charlotteville, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Charlotteville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Charlotteville
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top River Pearl is located in the heart of Charlotteville, the most lovely fishing village in Tobago. There are 4 double occupancy apartments and a 2 bedroom apartment, overlooking the spectacular bay. The Art Cafe offers best coffee, Cappuccino, Breakfast, Snacks, local Juices and Dinner on request. The manager on sight, Mr. Noel Duncan ( also the artist and cook )is doing his best to make your holiday breathtaking and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Top River Pearl Tobago/Charlotteville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top River Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.