We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past glory” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Irvine Bay Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Mount Irvine Bay Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Mount Irvine Bay Hotel & Golf Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 222, Mount Irvine, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Irvine
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Past glory”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in Tobago ,my wife and I played 18 holes in Mount Irvine and The Plantation .

At Mount Irvine there is a certain amount of charm and history around the place BUT ..the club house facilites are dated and in need of much refurbishment, the past glories of the club are there to see on the "past winners board " in the small bar area , from the early 70's Tony Jacklin , Brian Barnes and Tommy Horton are all past winners etc , unfortunatley the course needs the same !

The greens were almost all covered in clover , I did not see a bunker rake anywhere on the course , hence most of the bunkers looked like playpits !, wayward tee shots I mean 3-5 yards off the fairway were almost certainly lost in the long grass ! some fairways had been cut , some hadn't !

Oddly , we quite enjoyed playing it, the thought of all the past champions playing there all those years ago gave it some history (we did however lose about 10 balls between us ) but if you are serious about your golf , think hard about playing here , but if its a holiday round you are after , then for about £85 quid for 2 with a buggy (ours broke down too just adding to the experience ) then go enjoy the the thought of Tony Jacklin playing around there all that time ago, but in its current condition I bet he wouldnt be able to shoot a similar score now !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    8
    9
    7
See reviews for
9
6
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This Hotel has been one of the best on the Island Paradise of Tobago for years.

I was absolutely disappointed with everything except for the Breakfast.

Imagine taking a trip back in time to 1975. This is the setting for this hotel.
It boasts of an international standard 18 hole Golf Course. Well, this is the rainy season and the greens were brown and dusty.

I went to relax and getaway with my family from boxing day and it was more of a maintenance trip.
he Hotel Supervisor was very accommodating and corporative knowing that there were leaks in the sinks, both toilets were a nightmare , when you flush it comes millimeters to overflowing then go down, the shower did not drain properly and the room, well as I said before imagine 1975.
The carpet in the dining room looked as if it was there since the Hotel was opened.
The grounds around the compound was un kept. It was as if the owners, staff and employees had no pride in their environs.
The pool is also like a trip back in time "big enough" but tiles falling off.
The pool bar looked as if it served it's last drink 20 years ago.
No WiFi connection in the rooms you have to go to the lobby.
Cable did not work properly in the rooms.
We had the pleasure of spending our relaxing stay with the plumber and the Cable Guy for 2 days out of 4. Do the math.
Oh and as for the Tennis Courts I would not even park my 4 wheeler ATV there.
You can sit anywhere on the compound and see just how much potential this Hotel has and can be one of if not the best on the Island but gross neglect and lack of pride puts it at the bottom of the list .

The Supervisor did relocate us from our double accommodation cottage to two separate rooms which were a bit better but I am sorry to say I would not be staying there again unless they upgrade the entire hotel soon.

Sorry Mount Irvine but I must be entirely truthful to my readers. You are literally sitting on a goldmine and allowing it to slip away from you into the hands of others.

Last but not least they are charging guests premium Hotel rates for campground accommodation.

I will say compliments to the Supervisor Simone, the Lady Chef who cooked breakfast, and the housekeeping staff. They should be recommended to work in any top class Quality hotel but they are drowning at Mount Irvine. If it were not for these individuals our four 4 day stay at Mount Irvine would have been the worst end of the year experience ever.

Room Tip: Don't say I did not warn you. If you go there now that is what you would experience. Perhaps i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Irvine hotels

Cardiff
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This review is not based on a stay in December 2012 but in March 2012. Prior to this I had frequently visited the hotel in 1975 and approximately 12 years ago. In 1975 the hotel was quite new and attracted wealthy guests who congregated around the swimming pool. It was always very busy with an innovative swim-up bar. The beach, which is across a very quiet road, is one of the best in Tobago and there used to be a hotel beach restaurant. There were frequent discotheques at the hotel. When I visited 12 years ago the hotel had changed and was extremely quiet and I did not see a single guest. I spent 5 days there is 2012 and there were only 3 or 4 other guests. The whole place is tired with the rooms showing their 40 year age. There was no buzz apart from the constant loudspeakers in the public areas that seemed to be relaying political speeches. I invariable had breakfast and dinner by myself in the restaurant . The staff were very polite and helpful but the dinner menu is mediocre. Breakfast was wonderful sitting outside with a view over the sea and bay watching the birds. The chef would also make fresh banana pancakes on request and the waitress was a mine of information and extremely friendly. The internet was poor working only in part of the lobby from time to time although I was able to get Skype (verbal only). One of the highlights was a steel band playing for a wedding. I don't know what has happened to this hotel as it originally was one of the best in the caribbean. The location and garden are second to none and also it has it's own golf course. This situation could be retrieved by refurbishment. In the meantime if you like solitude this could be the place for you but make sure you negotiate a very good rate.

Room Tip: The 1st floor rooms have a balcony and great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

At this time there were almost no tourists on the island. The hotel was very good. I shared a bungalow with a friend. The bungalow had a big sleeping room with very good beds a nise terrace and a garden with a banana tree. We had a big bathroom inhabited with geckos who took care of unpleasant insects.
Outside there was a big pool with a bar. The food was acceptable ,no michelin star but OK, friendly staff.
The highlight of the vacation was a visit to the great barrier reef and the endless beaches with white sand and no tourists.
At this time You could only get a visa for 6 weeks.
A memorable vacation!
p.s don`t take any notice of the time of the visit.My visit took place november 1974!!!

Room Tip: Choose one of the bungalows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

First I live in trinidad, visit Tobago twice a year with family, this is my first time at the hotel.
The room #77 was a nice size the air condition worked great. The pool was clean but missing tiles but the kids enjoyed it. The grounds need a lot of work ( some roof mending was going on) the breakfast was very nice, and the staff were friendly and helpful. we did not eat any meals besides breakfast there. The beach was a 3min.walk across the grounds. My husband played golf and said the golf greens need some work. The snorkeling at the beach was great, water was very calm and warm. If you are looking a quite stay away from everything and people . and renting a car the room, well my room is fine. If you looking to be near the action well don't stay here.

Most of Tobago hotels are dated so might not be 4stars, after traveling most of my life. not to be negative but the caribbean people in general have no clue of customer service everyone is on island time. Just a warning.

Room Tip: A up stairs room should have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Tobago
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Tried to play golf at Mt Irvine Bay Hotel and Golf Club. Greens on course are in awful condition, more like "browns" overgrown with weeds. Excuse by staff is that there was no rain in Tobago! Such a shame because it is such a picturesque property. Obviously very poorly managed. Its time to sell this hotel to an owner who is interested in maintaining the resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I just returned from a family vacation in Trinidad and while there we hopped a couple of days in Tobago at Mt. Irvine. The pictures on the website are probably from 20 years ago. Much of the hotel is abandoned with cob webs and unkept rooms. We were the ONLY guests at the hotel so we ate alone and swam alone. Stay elsewhere but check reviews first since many of the hotels and villas in Tobago are just like Mt. Irvine. The standards of upkeep on this island are not what most expect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Irvine Bay Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Irvine Bay Hotel & Golf Club

Address: PO Box 222, Mount Irvine, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Mount Irvine
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Irvine Bay Hotel & Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mount Irvine Bay Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Irvine Bay Hotel And Golf Club
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Hotel & Golf Club Tobago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Irvine Bay Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.