We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beef!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney River Steakhouse and Grill

Stoney River Steakhouse and Grill
20504 N Rand Rd, Deer Park, IL 60010
+1 847-719-1596
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Stoney River Steakhouse and Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Deer Park
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Stoney River is an upscale steakhouse, specializing in hand-cut steaks and gourmet entrees, served in a sophisticated atmosphere by professional servers. Guests can enjoy diverse menu offerings such as Center-cut Filets, Bone-in Rib-eye's or a Classic NY Strip. Not in the mood for a steak? Stoney River offers fresh seafood selections, signature salads and house specialties. Whether relaxing at the bar or dining in the comfortable atmosphere, enjoy a hand-crafted cocktail, local draft beer or glass of wine from our boutique wine list. Our goal is to provide you with the finest culinary experience that exceeds your expectations.
Burglengenfeld, Germany
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“What a beef!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I recently went there for the second time, ordering the same meal again (Legendary Filet) - and I must admit that this is definitely under the top 5 beef meals I have ever had in my life.

Excellent food quality on beef (my colleague was also very pleased with his Filet Mignon), I am sure it's the same with fish. Last time we had a party of ten, with different starters and sides, it was really amazing. A highly recommendable place to go, for any occasion, if you are willing to pay for (count at least 50 USD per person, if you want to enjoy).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    19
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Suggested by Hotel but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

it wasn't really our cup of tea. Very rustic inside and dark, reminds me of a ski lodge with cedar shakes and rock inside. Kitchen is open and dining room is dark. The food was marginal and way over priced. I ordered ahi tuna over caesar salad, my husband a steak. My husband said it was the best sirloin he'd ever had (usually tough) but my caesar salad was WAY too over dressed and soggy. I asked for more romaine lettuce (it was too small besides) to add to the mess but the server gave me an entire new caesar (without dressing), then I was asked twice if they could take the other plate. We ordered a heaping pile of french fries with blue cheese which was to die for - if I go here again, I'll just order with a side salad as a treat day.
The service was unimpressive, our waitress was completelyoverwhelmed with the table next to us (and seemed to be affected by whatever was going on as there was some kind of check issue). She needs to work on her finesse. All servers look to be over 50 (or maybe 60). The Chef came over to talk with us (impressive).
I gave this an 'average' due to menu prices, my salad, ambiance, and service.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bull Meat Good but Dry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Dinner was average but there were a couple things that didn't make it great. I ordered the filet and for some reason it was very dry and it was comed medium. Business colleague had the tuna and he said it didn't have any flavor. Drinks, appetizers, and dessert were all very good but those two issues make me rank it lower than it could be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Chicago style in the burbs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

5 stars for the suburbs! Customer Service...We came in on a 97 degree day and my son felt sick as we were walking in. The staff held our reservation and brought him an ice water until we knew if we were staying or going. With some air conditioning and water he perked up and we were seated. On to our wonderful Bulgarian waiter Geno. He was attentive, friendly and provided answers to our questions as well as maintained our orders to exact specifications. We skipped appetizer and salad...on to the rolls with cinnamon butter. MMM... Rolls were moist and hot, cinnamon butter was sweet. So good. Chocolate martini yummy. Beer, check. 14 oz. Ribeye with caramelized onion mash and asparagus delightful and my medium well ribeye was cooked to exact specification. My husband enjoyed the swordfish and especially liked the ginger soy sauce that came with it along with the garlic mashed potatoes which I couldn't help but eat too. Very yummy. The kids had real chicken tenders. Can you imagine? One of my sons liked it, the picky eater didn't like it because it didn't taste like McDonald's. I tried them and they were quite good with the mustard sauce and ketchup provided. Ohhhh, the french fries. I had intended to try just one of my son's fries but, they were the most perfectly cooked french fries since my last visit to MK. It was heaven and I could not stop eating them. My kids were getting mad at me so I finally managed to stop. Next time I go I will be ordering a serving just for myself. I wonder if you can get those to go? Hmmm...Desserts good but, not on the level of everything else. We ordered the almond laced top hat. It was very good. The waiter brought out a piece of the triple layer chocolate ganache cake for free for my son's birthday. Nice touch but, it was not on the level of the almond laced top hat. Unfortunately I like chocolate so I was hoping the cake would be just as good. The kids got vanilla ice cream with a chocolate/coffee sauce which they did not like (next time we will forgo the sauce) but, I have to say I really enjoyed it and it made up for the mediocre chocolate cake. By the way did I mention our entire bill for 4 was about $90 minus tip? For the quality of our meal we would have paid much more anywhere else. Overall, I think this place is probably the best restaurant I have been to in the northern suburbs with quality and service more comparable to downtown Chicago. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great steaks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We have visited Stoney River many times over the past 10 years and although we now live on new York always make a point of visiting whenever we can.
The quality of their steaks rivals the more expensive chains. The house special is a coffee cured filet which may sound odd but is one of the juiciest filets you will ever have. The large bar centered in the main entrance area is well stocked and offers a wide choice of wines by the glass. If you are looking for a great steak and a fabulous atmosphere be sure to check it out.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoney River Steakhouse and Grill also viewed

Deer Park, Lake County
Deer Park, Lake County
 
Lake Zurich, Lake County
Deer Park, Lake County
 

Been to Stoney River Steakhouse and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney River Steakhouse and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.