We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food quality is back, service is good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of California Pizza Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
California Pizza Kitchen
20502 North Rand Road, Deer Park, IL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Deer Park
Cuisines: Californian
Description: It is a chain.
Restaurant details
Description: It is a chain.
Barrington, IL
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Food quality is back, service is good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

We re-visited this restaurant last night after giving them a Poor rating back in May 2013. We still love the chain and this is the closest one to us, so we took the chance. The good news is that the food quality is back up to the CPK standards. We had the pizza and a pasta, and it was yummy. Service is back to what we would consider normal, and some of the same servers were there. Looks like a new manager - at least the one that was on the floor. Glad to see them come back!!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Try the Fish Tacos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

CPK is not just for pizza, pasta or salads. I had the fish tacos and was very impressed. The fish was good and the slaw was full of flavor. The 2 tacos served w chips and salsa were plenty for me. I walked away satisfied but not stuffed. A light healthy lunch for a change!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice time at CPK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Had a gathering of 13 people on Tuesday July 10th. Our server , Glenn, was very good and very attentive. The food was good. My vegetable salad was quite tasty. Everyone enjoyed and had a good time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“The kids favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My bus like eating here mainly for the large variety of pizzas and the tortilla soup. We like the thinnest crisp crust the best.

My husband and I like the BBQ chicken salad but do think its quality has declined some the past few years with more iceberg lettuce and less toppings. Also the chicken seems of lower quality than in the past. My husband really likes the salmon flank lately.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Not as good as the CPK near where I live”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I had a quick dinner here while in town for a wedding. I ordered one of my favorite dishes, the kung pao spaghetti, accompanied by a margarita and a caesar salad. Somehow, all three items were "eh." The margarita wasn't zippy, the caesar salad wasn't balanced, and the kung pao spaghetti wasn't flavorful.

Service was fine -- the food arrived a bit too quickly (still eating my salad when the pasta arrived). My server was pleasant and attentive until I needed to get the check, when I had to flag her down (no big deal -- they were busy).

I like CPK as a restaurant chain, and thought I could rely on it for a good experience when I needed to relax with a nice meal near my hotel. It wasn't awful, but it wasn't as good as I'm used to experiencing at my local CPK.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Pizza Kitchen also viewed

Deer Park, Lake County
 
Deer Park, Lake County
 

Been to California Pizza Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Pizza Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.