We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“views on the elbe river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Festung Koenigstein

Festung Koenigstein
01824 Koenigstein, Saxony, Germany
+49 035021 64-607
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Festung Königstein (Königstein Fortress) is a unique monument to the art of European fortress construction. Its 750 years' history have made it an impressive configuration of late Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque and 19th century architecture. All adults and children will find something of interest on our 9.5 ha large fortress. You should plan at least two hours for a tour of the fortress. During a guided tour you will also be able to access the underground casemates. Casemate - ital. casa matta (covered house) – cannon-proof fortress rooms.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“views on the elbe river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

this is a huge castle reconstructed during the Napoleon times, i suppose. there are couple of museums and many places where to eat but what is really impressive is a view on the canyon of the Elbe river. It is so much spectacular.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    45
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Epic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

You see places like this in movies and think they don't really exist. This one does.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohja, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Walked to the festung through the woods from our b&b, 30 minutes. Took the lift up and walked around the festung by the outside wall. What amazing views of the river Elbe and the surrounding sandstein mountains. The place is huge, the walk around took over an hour, stopping for photos all the time included. Took a quick look at some of the museums but the place itself with the view was worth the 8 euros.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Worth the visit, fascinating castle but run by a slightly profiteering company I felt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

The castle is interesting, with the approach up the hill and the path in through the main gates and across the double most / steep incline once inside clearly demonstrates why this fortress was never conquered, even once. The tour was very good and the walk around the fortress walls was fabulous. Stunning views across the countryside and over the Elbe river & Königstein town below. The 150m deep well, dug by hand, has to be seen to be believed. Entry price is now 8euro per adult, having already paid for 7euro for parking at the only car park available and then 4euro each to get up to the castle on the mini train. The food inside the fortress itself was to an average standard only -- mainly pre-prepared canteen style food, but still set us back 60euro for 4 people. It was not worth this price. I read that the fortress is now run by a private company, and I think the slightly mercenary attitude they have was a detraction from the overall high standard of the place, which in itself is well worth coming to see.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth it for the views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We opted not to get the audio guides and found that much of the information in the various buildings is printed in German only. Some parts had information cards in English and other languages available, some parts didn't. I'd recommend the audio guide for anyone who doesn't understand German and is interested in the exhibits.

The real highlight for us was the breathtaking views from the walls of the fortress; even more beautiful than I could have imagined.

We walked to the fortress from the town of Koenigstein, following the signs, which is quite doable for someone reasonably fit (obviously the hike is uphill). I think it took us about 45 minutes beginning from the train station and stopping a few times to take pictures and admire the scenery.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Festung Koenigstein also viewed

Saxony, Germany
 

Been to Festung Koenigstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Festung Koenigstein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.