We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False advertising...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Funland Resort

Funland Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cormack
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Funland Resort
34 Veteran's Dr, Cormack, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 2P8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“False advertising...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our camping experience was not bad, if you don't count the overpriced items at the store. The waterslide and pool are NOT heated as advertised, poorly operated ( we paid full price for two turns, the kid in charge decided he'd rather chat with the life guard then run the slide), bathrooms and change rooms in awful condition. I'd use the campground again (if they cleaned the showers and bathrooms available), but never again would I waste my money on the cold water pool and slide, or the store on site.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    0
    1
    7
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port aux Basques, Newfoundland, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We didn't stay overnight, but we bought passes to go to the pool. The entrance of the pool is a change room/bathroom area. It is old and very dirty, the doors on the changing rooms do not close and in the bathroom they have shower curtains for doors.
They leave the door open to the pool and the wind blows into the room and the curtains lift up and you're left completely exposed. Also there is an open area between the womens and mens bathrooms which means people can look through. As I was using the washroom I had to get my aunt to hold the curtain for me because of the wind, and she noticed that there was a man that works there standing in the next stall trying to fix a toilet. She flipped out at him and told him to leave, and he just kept saying "oh i didn't know, i didn't know"

In all.. over priced, dirty, unprofessional..
I don't know how they manage to pass inspection, or if anyone ever goes there for inspection at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cormack hotels

Torbay
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

A group of friends got together for a snowmobile trip.And we made a BIG MISTAKE.We walked into the SHACK that we had rented.and OMG.furniture from 1970.when I asked about the pics on there web sites they didnt have any answers.Please if you advertise on the web site tripadvisor and get rated stars, on howpeople like and rate your place this place should rate this place a minus 10.Look at all of the reviews for this place all but 2 are real 2 are from family members. Best advice S T A Y A W A Y Save you money give it to the homeless, you know you spent you money wisely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conception Bay South, Canada
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Trish 2012

This has got to be the WORST PLACE ever to stay. I'm from this beautiful province and it's a shame that a place such as this exists. The service was horrible. If you asked a question like how much is it to rent a BBQ, they didn't know. But they knew that if it wasn't brought back clean that they would charge your visa. If anything went missing from your cabin (an inventory of dishes, pots, pans, plates, glasses, silverware, etc. all listed on the wall of your cabin, your visa would get charged. If you took a towel from the cabin to use over in the swimming pool to dry yourself off...you guessed it, it would be charged to your visa. IT WAS INSANE!!!!!! The pool use all extra $$$$$, the slide all extra $$$$$$. I've never stayed at a place in this province that had a pool and was charged extra for using it. TOTAL RIP OFF!!!!!! Places like this really gives our beautiful a province a poor name. I wouldn't recommend anyone staying at this money sucking pit hole. Giving this place one star is being too kind. Never again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Dit Dirt Dirt.,The only word that describes this place.If you like poor service and feeling like the beds are crawling you have found the right place.A business partner and I stayed for 1 night, and we had to leave during the night. Do yourself a big favor and book your room some place clean.

Room Tip: Try thickwood inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

unsafe and dirty that is the best 2 words to describe this place. I payed for two nights and could only stay one night because of the unsafe and dirty condtions of the cabin.Cobwebs everywere,wiring showing from light fixtures smoke detectors not in place and left on the fridge not working.Shower head dirty could not take shower,and food left in pot from last visitors.even the bed was dirty. Had to rebook a room at a different hotel and could not get money back from owners for the second night i had paid for.I suggest sleeping in your car before ever going to a DIRTY UNSAFE place like this

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kippens, Newfoundland
1 review
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Horroble horrible spot. Would not let us check in 1.5 hours early, or put our lugagge anywhere or our perishables. Were hesitant to guarantee our late arrival (we had a boat tour). Every question was a pain to them. This place is a family $$ trap. Despite shelling out fair $$$ for a cabin a step above a park eating shelter surrounded by drunks hanging off the pront porch, the FUN in funland comes at a price. The pool: extra, the slide while in the pool? EXTRA, the "petting zoo" is a cow calf folks...a calf. The cabins are good if you want to go drink and comfort is the last thing on your mind, but for a family or for anyone of any level of taste this place is not for you. Take your family anywhere else and spend your hard earned dollars there. We will never return and will pass this message far and wide. I have never before written a bad review but was moved by the deplorable service and accomodations to do so here. A deceiving, festering money chewing sore on the otherwise perfect accomodation landscape of this beautiful province.

Room Tip: Never check in in the first place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Funland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funland Resort

Address: 34 Veteran's Dr, Cormack, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 2P8, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Cormack
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty lodging in Cormack
Also Known As:
Funland Hotel Cormack

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funland Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Funland Resort to your Saves list