We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Los Castanos is wonderful, an experience not to be missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Castanos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Los Castanos to your Saves list
Hotel Los Castanos
Calle Iglesia 40, 29452 Cartajima, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Los Castanos is wonderful, an experience not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

We spent one night at Los Costanos in Cartajima in June 2007 and wished we could have stayed a week. The hotel is beautiful with large charming rooms, balconies with spectacular views, great common areas, and a friendly accomodating hostess, Diana Beach. The hotel is just outside of Ronda (16 KM) in an authentic small Spanish pueblo blanca of 100 residents. It is an experience not to be missed. I close my eyes and I am on that balcony enjoying a cold glass of wine and the enjoyable view. Breakfast is included as are wonderful soaps and shampoos made from olive oil. There is only one restaurant in town which is in the local bar and which serves excellent food - no menu, the owner just brings you four courses of tasty salad, fish, meat and veg and desert over a languid couple of hours. Try the violet tinged red wine. Overall, this one night is one of the most memorable of our 2 weeks in Spain. If staying a week, there are many acitivies including hiking from village to village (Diana will come get you in her van if you're too tired or had too much wine to hike back), birding with a local naturalist , touring in Ronda, and of course sitting on the balcony with that cold glass of wine!

  • Liked — the balcony with the sheer curtains blowing in the breeze
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
148
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2007

My husband and I booked four nights at this hotel but after one evening decided to extent our stay by another four days. Los Castanos is situated in a quiet village 15 minutes from Ronda. Our room was big and comfortable (reading chair,excellent lighting, king size bed, high quality linens) with a private bathroom (tub, shower and double sink) and all the amenities to make you feel at home. The main floor of the hotel is beautiful and cozy with comfortable couches, a library, a great CD collection, and a reading "nook" with two comfortable chairs. My husband often went downstairs in the early morining and read. We fell in love with the countryside and spent some days hiking (one day with naturalist Peter Jones) and some days walking to nearby villages where we lunched in local cafes. There are several national parks in the area. We had a car so were able to visit many local sites. Suprisingly January was warm and sunny--lots of blue iris and crocus along the roadside. The owner of Los Castanos, Di Beach, is an excellent cook so don't miss one of her dinners--Di and husband Denny are smart, interesting, funny and great hosts who never intrude but always assist. Los Castanos is a don't miss experience. We plan to return to Los Castanos in the near future--there is so much more to see and experience.

  • Liked — The setting, the attention to detail in the rooms and food, the quiet village.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

Many travel writers encourage visitors to Andalucía to “experience” the pueblos blancos (the white towns), but this is easier said than done because many of these towns have no advertised attractions and many of the businesses are unmarked. Those white towns that have become tourist centers, like Ronda, are certainly lovely and interesting, but are also overrun with – tourists. A perfect solution is to stay in one of these towns and really experience village life: España natural – the real Spain.

Los Castaños is a superb bed-and-breakfast-style hotel in Cartajima, a pueblo blanco of about 300 people, tucked into the mountains about six km from the main highway between Ronda and the Costa del Sol in a region known as the Alto Genal Valley. Our 5-day stay in early October was the high point of an overall fabulous trip to Madrid and Andalucía.

The mountain views are wonderful, especially from the beautiful rooftop terrace, and the rooms are very comfortable, each with a small private balcony. After extended stays in Madrid and Seville, we were amazed at the extraordinary quiet, the stillness, interrupted only by a crowing rooster, the braying donkey, the clip-clop of someone walking down the street, threads of a conversation in Spanish, or the village women’s choir rehearsing at the church next door.

Previous posts have noted the friendly hosts, Diana and Denny. There is also an opportunity to interact (or not) with your fellow guests. Each person’s stay is likely to be unique, based on who else you meet while you’re there. We had a very interesting and friendly group, all English speakers, about half-and-half from the U.S. and the U.K. Diana cooks a special gourmet dinner about once a week, and at the one we attended, people pulled the individual tables together, which we were told was somewhat unusual. We had a lively and entertaining dinner conversation.

There is only one restaurant in town, really more of a tavern, but it serves a variety of simple, and very tasty, local specialties. A booklet in the room supplies a wealth of information about the general area, including suggestions for dinner outside Cartajima. In addition, many books about and maps of Spain are available in the common areas. Of course, the hotel hosts are always available to give advice or help when you need it.

We spent a couple of days just hanging around the village, but at other times took day trips to Jerez de la Frontera, Ronda, and Gibraltar. If we had known how lovely the town and surrounding mountains are and how restful a day with nothing to do but explore (or read one of the hundreds of fiction and non-fiction books available around the hotel) could be, we would have planned to spend much more time at “home.”

  • Liked — Our hosts, our fellow travelers, and the Cartajima residents
  • Disliked — The narrow 6-km road to Cartajima
  • Tips/Secrets — Plan time to enjoy the village and surrounding mountains
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London and beyond
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2006

An attractive building, a very friendly welcome and good, helpful advice on what to do in Ronda and surrounding countryside.
Our room was very comfortable. Design wise it caught the mood of the area and a pleasant breeze flowing in. Didn't need the air conditioning.
Made good use of the rooftop terrace and enjoyed a visit from the house dog.
Had an evening meal one night and it was very nice. Breakfast was simple and fine for us. An attractive dinner/breakfast setting.
Nothing to do in Cartajima itself (except have a friendly drink at night) but its a short easy drive to Ronda and other spots.

  • Liked — Caught the mood and very friendly hosts
  • Disliked — Too quiet a town
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2006

Quite simply the best place we ever stayed in! Stunning location coupled with a wonderful building, delightful hosts and excellent food. Not to try go there is to miss one of life's great treats!

Rob and Anne. York UK.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — just go there
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

Los Castanos is in the mountains, nestled in a village that stood still centuries ago. The boutique hotel itself is new, and is both open and cozy, with bright spacious rooms and bathrooms ,all with mountain and village views. It was so relaxing sitting on the roof top terrace gazing at layers of mountains and sipping great Spanish wine. Di and Denny, the owners, were so warm and interesting and could not do enough for you. The only drawback was you needed a car and had to navigate a very windy road for about 4 miles up a mountain. YOu really have to see this village and enjoy Di and Denny's hospitality! The food was just fabulous also!
Judy Repke, Alexandria, Virginia

  • Liked — wrote a review alread
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2006

My wife and I (Aussies resident in the USA) stayed with Di and Denny for 5 days in the first week of July 2006 - just perfect, and so peaceful. Magnificent views from our little balcony. We experienced the first opening of a coffee bar to be run by Di's daughter Lu, situated underneath the main hotel and entering off the square near the church. Great drinks and some neat gifts as well to purchase. The village location is wonderful for exploring other white villages (we walked to one or these and back through the valley - great experience but very hot at this time of the year), and drove to many other villages as well as to Ronda which is no more than 30 minutes away. Perhaps our best experience was the simplest one - walking to the local restaurant in Cartajima (about 5 minutes away from the Hotel) and sitting outside in the evening with the locals, eating wonderful simple food and looking out over the valleys as the sun disappeared. Definitely recommend this Hotel and this area to escape to and really relax. Any time of year would be great although I can imagine how superb it would be in the spring or fall when the weather would be better for walks.

Donna and I loved our stay so thanks to you all and best of luck with the Hotel, coffee shop etc.

Jon and Donna Sedgwick

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Castanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Castanos

Address: Calle Iglesia 40, 29452 Cartajima, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Cartajima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just six kilometres off the tourist trail to Ronda is a valley with stunning mountain scenery and eagles soaring overhead. You are heading for Cartajima, one of the most traditional of the famous Andalucian pueblos blancos, white mountain villages. Following our driving directions, you arrive outside the great chestnut doors of Los Castanos behind which there is quality accommodation, personal, informal atmosphere, local wines and great home-cooked food. Relax in your spacious bedroom with its enormous bed, soft sheets and fantastic mountain views. Stretch out on a lounger on the rooftop terrace, savor your wine and melt into the mountains. This must be the most perfect getaway, a totally indulgent mountain village hotel in a completely unexpected location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Los Castanos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Castanos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.