We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Castanos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Los Castanos to your Saves list
Hotel Los Castanos
Calle Iglesia 40, 29452 Cartajima, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A truly fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

When we picked the hotel off the net we were looking for somewhere relaxing to walk and eat nice food. I can't imagine how we could have done much better. This is probably one of the nicest smart bandb's (or relaxed small hotel depending on how you look at it) we have ever stayed in anywhere. It is stylish and spacious but also homely. Di's food is delicious and John's walks advice helped us not to put on too much weight. We also enjoyed the company of our hosts and other guests we chatted to. We would definitely return!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
148
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Rudland
My wife & I stayed 8 days at the end of April at this absolute gem of a small hotel(6 beds) in one of the tiny Puablo Blancas (100 inhabitants).
Just 10 miles from Ronda at about 2500 ft above sea-level.
Run by the owners Di & John who do everything to ensure that you are happy & attended to with great care & attention.
Extremely comfortable spacious rooms with 2 rocking armchairs & excellent lighting for reading. A small balcony with 2 chairs + table overlooking the mountain range for miles and miles with hardly a building in sight.
A brilliant place to unwind and relax while enjoying delicious & varied food & excellent choice of drinks at very reasonable prices.
The bird life & wild flowers are exceptional in Spring & early Summer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toorak, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

There is little to be added to all the superlatives of previous visitors to this picture perfect white village in peaceful Cartajima in spring, staying at Los Castanos. More like a B & B of the highest standing, this boutique hotel will leave you wanting for naught. The hosts Di and John could not be more helpful and charming, and knowledgeable of the area and all it has to offer. Their warm and friendly style made us feel so at ease we went barefoot by the second day, and my husband never would do this at home! All the facilities and amenities are excellent as others have said, so I will add a few of the small extra special things we enjoyed most. In our room were not only books, magazines and maps of the area, but also watercolour paints and paper and brushes! A bar fridge meant we could bring in extra snacks, but the price of mini bar items are very inexpensive. The meals were all varied and very well presented, and Di gives you a taste of the local cuisine at each 4 course meal which included a tapa to start. John has a fine range of wines to offer especially of the local region. The common areas and rooms are delightfully Moorish inspired, and the sun filled rooftop patio with fountain and the sound of bird song perfectly peaceful. With a candle in our room (3) for romance we left the doors to the quaint balcony and windows open all night to enjoy the wonderful rose and citrus perfumed breeze waft in and when we woke in the morning could view the sunrise over the mountains from the super big bed. (Great pillows!) The bathroom is more than adequate with big thick fluffy robes and masses of towels. The products for the bathroom are all full size and all produced from local olive oil, including the body moisturiser. Thanks for the make up remover towelettes as well! As we left, Di and John were also going a way for a few days, but we can't understand why anyone would want to leave this perfectly relaxing space and tranquil valley. Perfect for hikers, birdwatchers, wild flower enthusiasts or use as a base for discovering other small towns and those that want total peace to read a book or indeed write one!

Room Tip: No room here would be anything other than wonderful, as Di is a perfectionist!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartajima, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My husband and I spent seven nights at Los Castanos in early April. We chose it for several reasons: reports of the great food, the beautiful setting, and the numerous possibilities for activities close at hand. All of the reports were certainly justified. The food was fresh, delicious, and varied--Di was unfazed by my husband's vegetarianism and cooked especially for him without a thought. The village and the surrounding area were breathtakingly beautiful. And, Di and John were so happy to suggest activities, to provide maps and directions for hikes, to recommend restaurants for lunch, etc. Their personal interest in our impressions was genuine. A bonus was being so close to Ronda, which we found to be an beautiful and interesting town. Our room was lovely and spacious, and we were very comfortable and relaxed during our week at Los Castanos.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We did not come to Los Castanos because of all the glowing Tripadvisor reviews, as I don't always entirely trust them after all I have no idea who the reviewers are or what their standards or expectations of a hotel are. However in this case I am in complete accordance with the views of almost everyone else (has there been less than a 5 star review?) Hotel Los Castanos is probably as good a small intimate hotel as you will find anywhere, and I mean anywhere! Di & John who run the place are quite simply fantastic hoteliers and their desire to make your stay welcoming is out of the ordinary to the extent , on our visit, to preparing an excellent meal for 10 with Di's right hand in bandages following a nasty accident with a car door. Both they and the hotel deserve all the plaudits they get and you can believe them all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We can only reiterate what others have said : Di and John are perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is full of charm and character, the view from the roof top terrace is stunning and the food is delicious. We hope to return again and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone looking to stay in a tranquil Andalucian village.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a small balcony with mountain views, king size bed and a large walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sea Ranch, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Ten of us spent three days at Los Castanos after a two week trip to Morocco. It couldn't have been a better place to process our experience after being on sensory overload. We arrived at midnight after a series of travel delays, and Di had a wonderful meal on the table for us.
The keys to a guaranteed good time at Los Castanos are Di and John's attention to detail, genuine hospitality and extraordinary cuisine.. Each room is unique and comfortable, and it is very tempting to relax on one's own balcony, or on the rooftop deck, and take advantage of the well stocked library and bar. Cartajima is a beautiful village, and well situated for visiting the white cities of Andalucía. And Di and John are very helpful with recommendations for daily itineraries, destinations and restaurants. It was with great reluctance that we headed down the hill to the airport at Malaga for the long trip home to California. Thanks for a wonderful finale. We'd love an encore.

Room Tip: Each room is unique and comfortable. One is on the ground floor if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Castanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Castanos

Address: Calle Iglesia 40, 29452 Cartajima, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Cartajima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just six kilometres off the tourist trail to Ronda is a valley with stunning mountain scenery and eagles soaring overhead. You are heading for Cartajima, one of the most traditional of the famous Andalucian pueblos blancos, white mountain villages. Following our driving directions, you arrive outside the great chestnut doors of Los Castanos behind which there is quality accommodation, personal, informal atmosphere, local wines and great home-cooked food. Relax in your spacious bedroom with its enormous bed, soft sheets and fantastic mountain views. Stretch out on a lounger on the rooftop terrace, savor your wine and melt into the mountains. This must be the most perfect getaway, a totally indulgent mountain village hotel in a completely unexpected location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Los Castanos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Castanos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.