We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely way to spend a sunny afternoon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corbie Inn, Bo'Ness

Corbie Inn, Bo'Ness
84 Corbiehall, Bo'ness EH54 0AS, Scotland
+44 1506 825307
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Bo'ness
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: European, Vegetarian, Scottish, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Corbie Inn is a recently refurbished and re-opened pub/restaurant situated close to the Bo'ness & Kinneil Railway line. In the summer you will be able to waive to the passing trains on their way to and from Birkhill Clay Mine from the beer garden. The objective and vision has always been to offer the best of real ales and cask beers from local, regional and national breweries at value-for-money prices. Beers are available in pint, 1/2 pint and 1/3 pint measures so you can taste & try and enjoy a selection from the 6 ales on tap. The pub also offers a family-friendly atmosphere where children are welcome and can be served meals until 9pm when accompanied by an adult. A children's menu is available but children are welcome to choose and can be served half-portion meals of their choice from the main menu. Booking for meals is not a requirement but is sometimes advisable especially at weekends and if a set time is preferred.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a lovely way to spend a sunny afternoon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Corbie Inn in Bo'ness is well worth a visit! As a local I have seen the premises change over the last 30 yrs, it lay empty for many many years, but it has been totally refurbished to a high standard and is a very nice environment to go and enjoy a drink and good wholesome pub grub! The recently finished beer garden is a joy to sit in, lovely surroundings and the Bo'ness steam train chugging back and forth regularly, it hooted every time it passed the beer garden! The Inn has it's own micro brewery which is an added bonus for all the real ale buffs. Had a lovely lunch there, a large smoked ham and cheese salad which was delightful, very fresh and very tasty. The menu was varied, something for everyone...only small critique would be the waitress rhimed off the specials but I could only remember one or two..a specials board in the beer garden would be good...it is excellent value for money!! The staff were very efficient and very friendly! All in all a great afternoon was made fab due to our choice of venue!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorbieInn, Owner at Corbie Inn, Bo'Ness, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks trebleniner, 'something for everyone', be that simply a range of real ales, whiskies, gins and good old-fashioned pub grub, is what we try to provide. Good to know you had an enjoyable afternoon in the beer garden in the 'sun'. We are even happier that we got the beer garden open so it could be enjoyed as it doesn't happen as often as we all would like.

Your little criticism has been taken onboard and there are a number of other improvements in the pipeline to make eating out 'al fresco' even more a pleasure so hopefully we get a bit more sunshine to put them into practice and you get the chance to have another day 'out'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    46
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

First time I have visited the Corbie inn and I was far from disappointed, lovely food, very helpful and friendly staff and a very good children's menu, I would definitely recommend 5*

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorbieInn, Owner at Corbie Inn, Bo'Ness, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thanks for the kind words but hope that not too much of a 'Hidden Gem' :-) The ales are always changing so hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Being on the Cambridge diet I find it difficult going out for meals as you never know what's on your plate or how its cooked. After telling the waitress this she recommended a dish for me and the kitchen were more than happy to make adjustments for my dietary requirements. I had a lovely BIG plate of salad and prawns for an excellent price. Fantastic atmosphere both inside and at the beer garden.
Cannot thank you enough for going above and beyond the call of duty for your customers!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Me and the missus stopped here for dinner. We had heard a lot of people saying it was good and that coupled with the real ale on offer we decided to give it a try.

Well the food was very very good, a lot better than we were expecting.

We have since tried to go again but it seems to be quite busy at times and we couldn't get in. Might be worth booking a table in advance if your planning a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Friendly local pub with good selection of real ales and whiskies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is our local and we are always greeted like old friends when we go in. Excellent range of whiskies, and good selection of real ales, The food is not fancy, but it is good value for money, especially when I don't feel like cooking. A real asset to the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corbie Inn, Bo'Ness also viewed

Bo'ness, Falkirk District
Bo'ness, Falkirk District
 
Bo'ness, Falkirk District
Linlithgow, West Lothian
 

Been to Corbie Inn, Bo'Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corbie Inn, Bo'Ness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.