We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water and over priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Almont Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Almont Beach Resort to your Saves list
Almont Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Barangay Lipata, Surigao City, Mindanao, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Surigao City
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“No hot water and over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Spent one night here after booking two nights - What was great was the view - Amazing! The ambience is worthy of a couples retreat and the staff is attentive and caring - however, this resort is in need of a little TLC and upkeep given the 6100php price. First, there was no hot water in my room, second, there was not enough water pressure to have a shower, third, they provided one towel for the two of us and four, when I called the front desk to have them look at this, the response although caring was basically this is how it is here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
2
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wexford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed every minute of it. Rooms are very spacious and clean with balcony. Beds are massive and very comfortable. Wifi in rooms. Rate was 6100 pesos per night, got it for 4500 with a little haggling. TV went on the blink the first night and they brought a new one to the room within 10 mins. Clean towels every day. Very friendly and helpful and obliging staff. Free kayak available on request. Breakfast for 2 included in room rate. They didn't charge for the child's breakfast which other places do. Two swimming pools with slide. They have their own private beach in front of the
Hotel. I would definitely Reccomend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surigao City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

what i love in this hotel is the privacy it offers for me and my family. the hotel is quite far from the city proper and the airport however, the hotel do provides service transport from the airport/city and to the hotel and vs. the parking area is spacious, the hotel vicinity is very good for an exercise. the staff are very accommodating, helpful and courteous. the hotel's design is very unique, my room is very spacious, clean, provided with toiletries and very homey! and the restaurant is very elegant and classic in setting and ambiance! and the food is very sumptuous! stayed here for 1 week and it very relaxing and indeed private. the hotel is with a swimming pool thus i can have an early and late swim. the beach is also a steps away! in order to have this comfort you have to pay more thus, the rate is quite expensive compare to other hotels in surigao.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surigao City, Philippines
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I booked for a Pool party (Dip & Dine) for my Grandnieces 9th & 5th birthday with a few of their friends. The facility is clean, the staff are welcoming and friendly and attentive to the guests. The food is plentiful and deliciously seasoned and foremost freshly made from local sources. Buffet setting is nice and clean and presentation is well done.

Room Tip: Party only
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Overall my stay was smooth and nice; staff were friendly and accommodating. Very nice view of the sea and the city. You can also experience the sunrise. The rooms were large well at least the suite were I stayed. Location is not very far from the city but it can be a drawback though. Going to the city, tricycles charge you the miniminum which is Php20 but when you go back they charge you as high as Php100. I think there are multicabs that ply the route but not sure where to board them from the city.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Positive: the room was very spacious, beds, linens, towels were clean. Bathroom was also clean, beachfront hotel rooms, courteous staff, enough parking space (but they turn off the lights by 12mn)

Negative: low water pressure in the bathroom, weak cable signal, weak to almost no wifi connection at 3rd floor rooms, paint inside the room were peeling off, slightly expensive room rates.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had my birthday celebrated in this hotel, only dinner gathering, no need for an overnight stay, since we need to travel back immediately. The cater package is good for 20 pax. We are expecting a non formal dinner but when we arrived at the resort, everything was well planned. They had everything prepared in their conference room, there was a sound system, food was prepared in buffet style and tables were organize in a formal set-up. Overall cost was too pricey but when I think of the service, the anti-stress view and food quality, its all worth it. Planning to have an overnight stay here soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Almont Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almont Beach Resort

Address: Barangay Lipata, Surigao City, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Surigao City
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Surigao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Almont Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Almont Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almont Beach Hotel Surigao City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almont Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.