We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanatstic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rathlin Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Manor House
Save
You added The Manor House to your Saves list
Rathlin Island, Rathlin Island BT54 6RT, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Moon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fanatstic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

I decided to take a trip to rathlin island even though I was dreading it because of past experiences with islands.

What can I say. The place is amazing.The Manor House is unique and full of character.
All the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. Its not that fake 'give you a smile and make small talk because I have to' welcome.Its genuine.
The food is beautiful.When you can see the fishermen catching fresh fish everyday you can be gaurenteed good food.
The atmosphere is so relaxed and laid back.
The one thing bad about rathlin island is watchin it get further away as you make your way back to Ballycastle.
By far the best place ive been in a long time.
Im planning my next visit already.
Thank you to all the staff at the Manor House for making my stay so enjoyable

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    27
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
27
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

With one notable exception, which was the waiter on our first evening, the service at this hotel was atrocious, unwelcoming and by far the worst we encountered on our 10 day trip in Ireland. The whole place looked tired and uncared for which was a real shame considering its perfect location.

I don't mind bed linen that is not the latest trendy fashion, but in a hotel I do expect it at least to be ironed, clean (i.e. not covered in other people's hairs/fluff) and not looking well past its use by date. This lack of care and cleanliness even extended to some of the staff who wore distinctly grubby looking clothes to serve our food (yes, even though they were black I could tell) , which is unforgiveable.

Again, I don't expect Masterchef style presentation but serving a white fish, in a white sauce, on a white plate with mashed potato with no other garnish to make it slightly more appealing was just plain lazy. (Oh, and it was completely overcooked and tasteless as well despite their claim that everything was fresh).

The icing on the cake was being told at 1645 that if we wanted dinner we would have to order by 1700 - fair enough, but couldn't they have told us earlier in the day? So, someone who got in from exploring the island at 1713 was refused dinner. (No matter, Emma's Chip Ahoy was excellent and far better value).

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

What a fabulous location and what terrible accommodation.

For £65, this is terrible value for money. The whole place is scruffy, untidy and uncared for. The bedroom was atrocious - cheapest furniture possible, bed not made up properly, bed linen dating back to the 80s in appaling condition - I'm sure it had been washed but felt dirty. I have stayed in all sorts of accommodation including B&Bs at half the price, but this is defininitely the worst ever.

Girl at Reception so unhelpful when we said we were unhappy with the room.

Cooked breakfast was average.

There were some redeeming factors - the pub is "quirky" is a scruffy kind of way, Rathlin Island is lovely, and people very friendly.

So much for the romantic weekend away....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

First time on the island and we were lloked after very well by everyone in the Manor House.

I was a little aprehensive at the thought of the only hotel on the island not having to work too hard at keeping up standards, but these fears were totally unfounded.

Yes there are a few quirks, you have to order breakfast the night before, there are a few creaks and groans from floor boards and the sound isulation isn't 5 star....but for the location and for the staff and the feeling of rest and relaxation, you would have to go far to beat it.

You have to look past the peeling paint and some of the missing tiles to really understand what the place is about, I am not trying to sell it as a 5 star spa break, but I reckon we got as much from our weekend here than we have from much posher and much more expensive options.

Fantastic island retreat, great fun and laughter.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

My partner took me to The Manor House in Rathlin for my birthday. We arrived on the boat at 11.45 and just wanted to drop our bags of, however the receptionist said our room would be ready shortly and if we would like to go to the bar. We sat outside and soaked up the sunshine and she came out some 15 mins later with our keys. We went to the room i noticed straight away that the floor wasn't hoovered, there was cobwebs above one of the windows and the room hadn't been dusted! I decided to take a nap later in the afternoon and when i pulled the top sheet back i noticed to was stained along with the bottom sheet. I would say the sheets had been washed and these stains are permanent. The shaving light in the bathroom didn't work. The dining staff were very welcoming, and food adequate. The island itself it definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We booked a one night dinner bed and breakfast for our wedding anniversary and happened to arrive just as Prince Edward and Sophie were leaving, so Church Bay was busier than I've ever seen it!

The room was lovely, with a beautiful view of the harbour. The Manor House has been done up quite a bit since the last time I was over, but I still thought the £70 for B&B was good value. Ksenia is an extremely warm and welcoming hostess and could not do enough for us. The highlight, though, is definitely the lobster dinner - I have simply never tasted better in terms of both freshness and preparation. I should also mention the salad which is fresh picked from the back garden and tasted fantastic. We also had a crab starter which was excellent, but rather overshadowed by the main course. There was a surprisingly good winelist too, all reasonably priced.

A new addition to the Manor House (since my last visit) is a tiny bar called the Auld Kitchen which is very cosy and friendly and which I'd recommend if you are put off by all the beauty board in McCuaig's (though you really shouldn't be, it's great fun!).

We got up the next morning to a good Irish Breakfast with excellent coffee which fortified us for our cycle trip to see the puffins at the far end of the island. You can hire the bikes from John McCurdy at Soernoeg View (which is also a brilliant place to stay!) and I'd recommend it, it's a great way to see the island and when you're done, McCuaig's guinness never tasted so good!

All in all we had a great time - good to meet up with old friends and while I know there was a bit of negative PR about Prince Andrew's trip, it seemed to be more of a genuine lack of communication all round rather than anything more sinister. The rules on Ratlin are different from elsewhere, out of necessity rather than anything else, and officials sometimes have a hard time understanding that, so I wouldn't judge what happened too harshly.

We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Was at the manor house for a meal with my wife a couple of weeks ago,
the island is lovely but the meal was a let down.
Seems to me that rathlin island needs more choice.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House

Address: Rathlin Island, Rathlin Island BT54 6RT, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Rathlin Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rathlin Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that the Manor House is now closed until further notice, awaiting some refurbishment. The Manor House is a lovely, late Georgian property overlooking the harbour in Rathlin Island's Church Bay. All guest rooms are south facing, with sea views. It's the perfect place for those wishing to enjoy peace, tranquility and an island to explore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Manor House Hotel Rathlin Island
The Manor House Rathlin Island, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.